Leaderboard

Popular Content

Showing content with the highest reputation since 10/04/25 in all areas

1. Shout out to my mum who passed away last month and loved the Demons so much. Always the first text I got after a win. She always got so nervous she could barely watch the game out! Noreen Duffy Burke - they did this one for you
  2. It’s a privilege to witness the greatest ruckman of all time Just remarkable
  3. Our little one was lucky enough to get a ball after the game and with the sweetest message. All class by Chandler.
  4. A cool and overcast day and I’m one of four spectators. The boys came out early today so maybe more people will turn up. But more importantly, Melky is right for this weekend’s match. Yay! I asked him how on earth he copped such a deep gash… he said he landed awkwardly and it was his own boot stud that did the damage. Spoke with Clarrie aka he who couldn’t tell a lie if his life depended on it. Private convo but please believe me when I say (again) if he leaves us, it won’t be his choice, ie. he’s a Demon and wants to remain a Demon, forever. Richo said he knows Melk is my fave player but wanted to know who my favourite youngster is. I said it’s like picking my favourite child but if I hadda name one it’d be “Harves, The Bison.” Richo said he’s heard “The Bison” being mentioned and wanted to know where it came from. I told him it comes from DL, he likes it and promised to spread it. So, @Supreme_Demon… it looks like it’s a thing 🥳 Goody said he really appreciates supporters having faith in him all along. I thought duuuuude, you clearly DON’T read Demonland 🤣
  5. I hope Demonland lets this thread through. It's an opportunity for all of us to talk about the often ignored subject of mental health. And let's all be honest how not many people breeze though life without ever struggling at some point in their lives with anxiety or depression. Id day it's a very small percentage. So let's all chip in and say your not alone mate and try not to be afraid to talk about it. It will give others corage and quite possibly help a lot of people. Life is hard. There is a lot going on in the world today. It's also tough to be under performance standards at work all the time. So let's give a shout out to everyone suffering from the myriad of problems about. There is plenty of help available and new therapies and treatments are being developed every day. Let's assert there is no shame with any mental health issues and especially standing tall and getting treatment for it or discussing it. I mean a person with diabetes isn't different taking insulin. I'm not suggesting this is the case with anyone but if it were, I would admire their courage for going that route. We all have to look after ourselves and one another. So my warm wishes and support to anyone on this site and anywhere doing it tough. Take care And go Dees.
  6. This is something I just don't get. People want us to play aggressive transition footy with quick ball movement like the best teams currently do. But the problem, and key weakness, of that game plan is it impossible not to risk giving up goals on the counter. Can't have our cake and eat it too. And besides, our bacline was missing two All Australian defenders, the twin pillars of of our backline. It was a brilliant defensive effort today I thought, particularly in the last quarter when Freo were coming and mutiple defenders made potentially game saving spoils and tackles.
  7. No player is closer to Goodwin than Koz. He played for his coach today. Tmac is a modern great of the MFC. Nobody talks about it, but he gives 100% at every contest, he has been loyal, and I hope he gets to 250 games.
  8. Brad Green says “you’re welcome.” Hope y’all don’t mind but I thanked him on everyone’s behalf for his tweet.
  9. We worked bloody hard to win the game Who cares if we took the foot off the pedal and rested our 33yo workhorse star We still won the game It’s OK to be happy guys
  10. I asked Tmac if he’s seen the article about his amazing stats in defence. He said Ruby (his wife) showed it to him. I told him how proud of him we all are. He said, “Not bad for an ancient old bugger, hey.” 😅
  11. FEW DEFENDERS have been more reliable in defence this season than Tom McDonald. Anchoring the backline with his trademark grit and discipline, McDonald has stood out in key defensive stats this season—leading the competition in one percenters (55), a measure of the most selfless, team-first efforts on the ground. Digging deeper, McDonald ranks No.1 in the AFL for spoils (47), consistently getting a fist in to break up contests and shut down aerial threats. He’s also equal-first for contested defensive one-on-ones (24), winning the moments that matter most deep in defence. He’s climbed to 6th in the league for intercept possessions (53), highlighting his ability to read the play and turn defence into attack. It’s the type of form that doesn’t always make the highlight reel, but wins games. This season, McDonald moved into the top 10 on Melbourne’s all-time games list, surpassing Jeff White and further cementing his place in club history. His consistent output also has him closing in on a spot among the VFL/AFL’s all-time leaders for one percenters. It’s been a big year—and the numbers continue to prove it. Onya Tom
  12. This site is insufferable Goody bagged for not making a statement, not dropping Fritsch, not promoting Fullarton etc he does all this and still the whinging it’s too late, not the right time all I hear is WWWAAAAAAAAAA
  13. Meh. We kicked 1.6 and at least 3 of those misses (Gawn, Chandler and Melksham) should have been goals. I think a few rushes of blood under the circumstances are understandable - the fact that we didn’t lie down for the first time this year is very pleasing.
  14. 28 points
    So just so we're clear. Player takes time off for mental health Media write 132 stories about said player President says leave him alone Media criticize President for criticizing media Media then promote Spud's Game, a game aimed at bringing awareness/funds towards mental health. Got it.
  15. Easily the best game of Daniel Turner's career to date. 19 touches (career high) at 84% 7 marks (3 inside 50) 6 intercepts 3 goals in the 2nd half
  16. Very well deserved! Silky is an apt description! afl.com.auSilky Demon earns Rising Star nod after outstanding start...Xavier Lindsay is the Telstra AFL Rising Star nominee for round seven
  17. Tholstrup is 19 years old and is 2 games in from a 10 week injury layoff. Might wanna cool your jets on that one
  18. Should also mention Daniel Turner. I’m not sure if he even counts as a young guy anymore and he’s never going to be paid millions of dollars or get AA blazers, but a guy who play to a high level at either end of the ground AND KICK STRAIGHT is worth his weight in gold to this team, and any team going forward. Must be in the 23 for rest of the year.
  19. Trent rivers goal saving tackle in the square. How good !!??
  20. Please keep your hands off the players!
  21. A undermanned Dees showed some heart and desperation to put the Fremantle Dockers to the sword as they claimed their first victory for the season winning by 10 points at the MCG.
  22. For once Tommy’s not trolling. I just spoke with a guy who was in the rooms and he told me that Tracc’s (impromptu) speech was heartfelt and incredibly moving. Tracc said he’s 100% committed to the club. He said he loves the MFC and he doesn’t wanna be anywhere else. He told the boys he f@%#*#g loves them and his speech was very well received. There were even tears shed.
  23. I’m not sure how much traction it’ll get, but this is the kind of post I pay my yearly subscription for.
  24. Really hope that all the keyboard heroes on this site who enjoy calling Clarry fat, lazy, unmotivated and so forth when they know absolutely stuff all, sit the [censored] down and shut the [censored] up.
  25. 25 points
    Hopefully he puts tariffs on Collingwood. In all seriousness in my limited dealings with him he wont rub sponsors and stakeholders the wrong way like our previous CEO. He has good business acumen and is a thoughtful businessman with strong connections and a brilliant networking ability. I didn't see this appointment coming but can see the upside. As for potentially not stating until September because of current commitments I see that as a positive. Loyalty is rare these days and it seems he doesn't want to just jump ship and leave the chamber in the lurch until he has followed through with his commitments. His position on the Victorian Racing board is intriguing with Caulfield on our agenda. Time will tell but I think this could be a brilliant left field decision
  26. Wouldn’t be dropping Tholstrup on tonight’s game.
  27. I heard there was a problem with the delivery of the eggs and none were found inside 50
  28. Nothing he said would quell the violent mob we’ve become but, for me, I’m still glad he came out and said something.
  29. Melksham had eyes for the ball and protected the drop and took the mark. However, Reuben Ginbey pushed Petty directly into the oncoming contest of McGovern and Melksham despite not being in the contest himself. Ginbey had no possible way of marking that ball. He had lost the positioning battle to Petty who could have dropped in front of McGovern to attempt to mark. And when he lost that battle, he chose to simply push Petty to a) stop Petty taking the mark, and b) to make sure that his opponent (Petty) was off his feet/unbalanced while Ginbey remained ready to crumb off the pack. It's against the rules to push a player attempting to mark a ball if you aren't trying to mark yourself. Ginbey pushed Petty into oncoming traffic while not trying to win the ball, resulting in concussion of both McGovern and Petty. And Ginbey has priors for pushing players into oncoming traffic once he loses the contest - it resulted in Lalor breaking his jaw preseason.
  30. Tholstrup had an almost game, 0.3 could have been 3 snags with some more experience under the belt I'd keep playing him
  31. Those who didn’t attend the match but watched on 7 saw Fritta and his partner nursing a baby. Two weeks old! First child I believe . History is full of examples of sportspeople going off the boil when a baby is due/ recently born. Give him another week or two, see what happens
  32. Am I in the game day thread? Miserable bunch you lot. After five horrible losses I’m taking wins in any way shape or form at the moment. And that… was a pretty easy one. A lot will be rightly said about Gawn’s performance but Jake Bowey being an elite AA defender wasn’t on my 2025 bingo card. Last quarters are a worry. Fullerton is not a worry because we’ll most likely never see him again at AFL level. Potentially 3 in a row next week and then Hawks are very gettable at the G. I’m choosing to believe! Lessgo
  33. All listed players in attendance today, except Lever (and the LTI's). Marty Hore was doing some running and kicking training with the physio - seems to be progressing well. Turner was going through the "concussion protocols" with some moderate running. May moved well. Likely changes May and McVee in for Turner and Howes. See the other comments re Fritsch perhaps coming back for Melksham, depending on Melksham's condition. Whilst I would prefer Campbell also in for Fullarton, I suspect that that change will not be made. Some consideration probably given as to whether Howes stays as sub, and Sharp has a run at Casey? Trac almost last off the field, doing lots of goal-kicking from 30-40 metres - all drop punts! Fritta and Oliver last to leave....
  34. Spargo, not the when quickest but was solid today. 19 disposals, 3 tackles in f50, 7 score involvements, 14 pressure acts etc, only knock on his game was his miss
  35. I'm surprised the headline isn't GAWN IN HEATED EXCHANGE WITH OLIVER
  36. 23 points
    I mean he's the CEO of the Chamber of COMMERCE. Of course he's going to campaign to get people back into the Melbourne Central BUSINESS District. And given recent revelations, his "yapping" about lockdowns are somewhat vindicated. They were completely overblown and unnecessary.
  37. Can we PLEASE just enjoy the win??!! Even if just for one night??! Hell, ‘til midnight, even? Ffs, so many sadsack posts after a win. We were 0 and 5, REMEMBER?!
  38. Howesy came out with Casey. Judd and Fullo came out with the seniors. Judd gave me a thumbs up, I very quietly said “tomorrow?” He said “yep!”
  39. 23 points
    Did we go backwards after we sacked Balme? Made a prelim the next year? Did we go backwards after sacking Neeld? Got Roos in and started the rebuild towards the flag. More is lost by indecision than wrong decision.
  40. I saw on X that"Clap for Clarry" is a thing that is happening on Saturday. 13 minute mark first quarter. Clap one of our all time greats to show our support.
  41. Kade Chandler is fast becoming my 2025 favourite. The smother-follow up-hard ball get-dish off combo that lead to the Petracca goal was just outstanding team play and hopefully gets highlighted during the week. He very nearly got on the end of the chain and could have received the pass from Trac, but Trac went for the goal. Really enjoying the next evolution of Chin. He’s having a great season.
  42. Whilst I agree he did not set the world on fire I am surprised by how many prefer Fullerton ommitted. Our forward line functioned and we did not lose impact when second rucks were in. He leads at the ball carrier and he moves. Rarely did our forwards get in each others way in the air. There is also something about building confidence for him and the team by minimizing changes of a quality team performance. Unless players are not fit (Melksham potential) or are making way for best 18 returns like May and McVee then we should be minimising change as much as possible.
  43. You just dont get it. What did Fritsch do today to force his way back into the side? I watched the first half of Casey and his work rate was non existent. JVR needs to bang the door down. Fullerton was serviceable today in the ruck and was in our best functioning forwardline of the year so far. The changes need to be minimal. May and McVee who are clearly best 22 for Turner and Sharp.
  44. Impressed with koltyn today. He used the ball well & led up for it. Also lovedhis enthusiasm. When he was on the bench & we'd score a goal he'd pump the fist, he was clapping his teamates, getting into the freo players & having a ball
  45. The Crowd. 25k is perhaps 10k more than many would have realistically expected. What a club. That is some proper resilience and everyone who went deserves the win. Virtue rewarded.
  46. Great performance. Great win. Goodwin’s words felt empty leading in but credit where it’s due. They lifted and got it done.
  47. 29th July, 2013, Peter Jackson appeared on "On the Couch". Interview is here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bu0NIDU-aC0 Jackson was one of, if not the best appointment the club has had this century. He stated on the program, that at times "the club's gone back to too many people who have got red and blue...I think sometimes we don't have a propensity in this club to bring in the best from outside". He then spruiked the culture and winning environments at clubs like Sydney and Geelong. After that interview he went on to appoint a number of people within the football department from those cultures. Paul Roos, George Stone, Ben Mathews, Brett Allison, Brendan McCartney, Matthew Egan and Shannon Byrnes. Industry best appointments. My worry is that we are now moving away from appointing the best, and reverting to this propensity of former MFC people. Brad Green - President Nathan Jones - Midfield coach Mark Jamar - Ruck coach Alastair Nicholson - rumoured as next CEO Steven Smith - rumoured as next President Luke Beveridge - rumoured as possible next coach These people may very well be the best options, and that it's just a coincidence that they have had a MFC involvement before,I don't know from afar. But I just hope we are not reverting back to what we were before Jackson. To be a high quality and successful club, you need the best people in the industry, and I hope we are going after them regardless of whether they have red and blue in them or not.
  48. He's already told Tom Morris where to go.... that's enough for me
  49. 22 points
    Right, then tap Goody on the shoulder and advise him that for the benefit of the club moving forward having already lost the players it seems, it would be best if he stood down. Mutual decision, happy days. Buckly stands down mid 2021. They appoint Craig McRea at the end of 2021 and they not only make a preliminary final in 2022 in his first year as coach, but they then proceed in wining the flag in just his second year at the helm in 2023. Leon Cameron stands down mid 2022 and new coach Adam Kingsley comes at the end of that year and immediately takes them to a preliminary final in 2023. Top 4 finish in 2024 and look destined for another top 4 finish this year. Early days already but Damien Hardwick already has them sitting 2nd on the AFL ladder in just his second year at the helm after they sack Dew in 2023. Finally look destined for a finals birth. Chris Fagan in his 2nd year at the helm got them into top 4 and since then, have not missed out on playing finals. Sustained success. Luke Beveridge in his first year in 2015 got them straight into the finals after taking over a club that was in a diabolical state after they sacked their coach and traded their captain in Ryan Griffen at the end of 2014. Beveridge then wins a flag in 2016. Yes, it's not guaranteed that it would work for us, but there is enough evidence to suggest clubs that still have a decent list as we do, only need a fresh new voice and a completely new system in place and you can certainly bounce back. Our list on paper still has enough talent on there to bounce back up immediately if the club is willing to make changes. Goodwin is cooked and you'd be delusional to think if the players haven't lost faith in him because as it stands, player and coaches look polar opposite to each in terms of being aligned on the same page.
This leaderboard is set to Melbourne/GMT+10:00