View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

22 hours ago, SFebes said:

Re King, I think it's important for everyone as a whole not to expect a rebound or too much in 2026. May be wise to expect more in 2027. Patience while he settles in would be appreciated.

Expectations and possible outcomes, MFCSS and other life problems, are all our own, each one a bit different.

I will hope we do well , just cannot help but think that way in November, March might be different !

Until then Long live the King, Go Dees !

2 hours ago, dpositive said:

I fully support him and must wait to see what he brings and how he relates to Ghostwriter. The most significant contact.

On 12/09/2025 at 15:01, Lucifers Hero said:

A nice start from hiim:

“I can’t wait to meet the playing group, my fellow coaches, the staff, and the Demon faithful, and start building towards 2026.”

This is practically a written invitation, right?!

At least, that’s what I’ll tell the Magistrate when appealing the restraining order.

Edited by Ghostwriter

17 hours ago, Young Angus said:

This exactly!! King can’t even start doing anything for a couple of weeks potentially, so waiting a week wouldn’t have been the reason. I think they clearly thought King was the best and wanted him, but Buckley answering that question the way he did also indicated he wasn’t really able to commit so that also wasn’t great.

if he was right though they would have waited 100%.

Bucks wasn’t right, King was, and I trust the process and can’t wait for him to start!

Guerra said they wanted to respect Cats playing in the prelim this week, but if Buckley was the one they would have waited

On 13/09/2025 at 08:19, At the break of Gawn said:

Skipworth was never going to get it. He pulled out just to save face. This is a guy who lost to McQualter for the Eagles job. Bullet dodged imo.

King on the other hand, probably would have won the Eagles job had it not been for his health scare on the day of his interview.

I liked the idea of Bucks because I thought his profile would help the club, but, I and many others on here, had lingering doubts about his ability to actually coach. Just ask any Collingwood supporter and they get confused as to why everyone was keen on Bucks.

The club has run a proper process and King was the best candidate. Let's get behind him.

I'm looking forward to the first King's speech to the playing group which hopefully they share on social media.

Hopefully he's sorted his stutter.

56 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

This is practically a written invitation, right?!

At least, that’s what I’ll tell the Magistrate when appealing the restraining order.

Are you taking him with the girls to Bingo and mojitos on Tuesday night? 😂

8 minutes ago, Go Ds said:

Are you taking him with the girls to Bingo and mojitos on Tuesday night? 😂

Random but, ok… I guess

🤷‍♀️

16 minutes ago, GawnOfTheDead said:

Wonder when they’ll decide on the assistant coaches in full?

I don’t think we’ll be hearing much of this til the Cats season is finished. Doesn’t mean there’s not a lot of work going on behind the scenes though.

Edited by Wells 11

Just now, Wells 11 said:

I don’t think we’ll be hearing much of this til the cars season is finished. Doesn’t mean there’s not much work going on behind the scenes though.

True, I’m just super antsy now we have a coach. I’m so keen to know who the assistants will be and the trade period.

8 hours ago, rpfc said:

Oh boy, some real Annie Hall vibes coming through here

But that’s better than Annie Wilkes vibes, right? 😏

Google her

59 minutes ago, Dingo said:

I am curious to know where the interviews took place.

Does anyone know?

MFC Boardroom, MCG.

3 hours ago, binman said:

Hopefully he's sorted his stutter.

nice and steady, dont Rush it

19 hours ago, goodwindees said:

Have a great contact at Geelong who has worked in the football department for around 10 years. Spoke to him today and he couldn’t have spoken more highly about Steven King.

Says he’s a ripper of a bloke, but he’s also a hard man with very high standards. Said he sees the game as good as anyone he’s ever dealt with. He said Dees have made a great choice

By the way, he said James Kelly probably has the personality for a senior coach, but he doesn’t see the game anywhere near as well as Kingy

Stated that there is a big gap today between those two candidates.

Is that because King's about a foot taller?

Seriously, I'm pleased we've gone with an experienced assistant rather than a recycled senior coach. The last recycled coach who coached a team to a premiership at his second go having not succeeded first time round was Malcolm Blight at Adelaide. And that was in the last millennium.

We'll never know (at least, I hope we won't because it would be a breach of confidentiality) but it would be very interesting to know what value the various members of the coaching selection panel brought to the process.

38 minutes ago, Demons11 said:

I heard today that Bucks was not even in the top 2 preferred candidates

Is it any surprise? The bloke could talk eloquently for half an hour without saying that much at all. Once it became a proper process for finding the right candidate, the person/s that were most up-to-date on 2025 footy and coaching/management were the ones that stood out, and he was at the back of the pack. And of course the media can't deal with that reality.

Many on DL predicted that Bucks would only become coach, if it was a headhunt and we weren't going through the right coaching process. And it seemed thats what was happening when Goodwin was unceremoniously dumped with 3 weeks to go in the season.

I'm happy. Curious to hear from there Deebrief Podcast now. They were pushing for him for half the season!

Edited by John Demonic

33 minutes ago, John Demonic said:

Is it any surprise? The bloke could talk eloquently for half an hour without saying that much at all. Once it became a proper process for finding the right candidate, the person/s that were most up-to-date on 2025 footy and coaching/management were the ones that stood out, and he was at the back of the pack. And of course the media can't deal with that reality.

Many on DL predicted that Bucks would only become coach, if it was a headhunt and we weren't going through the right coaching process. And it seemed thats what was happening when Goodwin was unceremoniously dumped with 3 weeks to go in the season.

I'm happy. Curious to hear from there Deebrief Podcast now. They were pushing for him for half the season!

Yes there were a few on here decrying the process that was a waste of time that inevitably chose our current coach.

So glad we had that process yeah?

And I honestly couldn’t care less about what the DeeBrief Bros think about much of anything.

1 hour ago, Demons11 said:

I heard today that Bucks was not even in the top 2 preferred candidates

That’s probs because his answers maybe reflected his fence sitting attitude and looking at what Tas was going to offer. I will take the job if I don’t like what Tas say. Get stuffed

If this was the case it just shows he was undecided and we don’t want a half arced coach hence Kings appointment.

Does anyone know how Buckley's approach to coaching was couched and delivered? Did it rely heavily on statistics and planning or concentrated bombardment with speed and pressure. I never heard his coaching techniques, so I would be interested in how he tackled it on his first effort?

23 minutes ago, Willmoy1947 said:

Does anyone know how Buckley's approach to coaching was couched and delivered? Did it rely heavily on statistics and planning or concentrated bombardment with speed and pressure. I never heard his coaching techniques, so I would be interested in how he tackled it on his first effort?

I don’t think we will ever know Willmoy1947 the interview material from the other four candidates would remain confidential.

If we hired Buckley then we would have to hire his huge ego as well which might not sit well with a fragile club like ours which requires sober and selfless leadership. He still is a media man and his profile needs boosting on a regular basis. He certainly had got himself loads of free publicity and media attention in the past few weeks but his sincerity to pursue the MFC job has been questionable. He might have added more $$$ to his future Tassie contract though.

Edited by John Crow Batty