View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Lucky to get a Mc Happy meal for him I think!

2 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

North supporters are livid with the selection if Bigfooty is an indication.

If he has a decent run at it health wise, then he might be good pick up for the Roos.

Why would they be livid? He’s FA so it’s a free kick. At his best he makes them better. If he doesn’t get back to his best, they miss out on pick 100 or whatever. There is literally no downside. Footy fans are so dumb sometimes.

Best of luck Spargs. Sad to see another premiership player go. Thanks for ‘21.

1 hour ago, mo64 said:

The most overrated player by Demonlanders. A small forward who didn't kick goals and averaged 11 possessions. Also isn't an elite pressure player. His supposed elite disposal was a Demonland myth.

Spargo's best season was actually his 1st in 2018.

Couldn't care less that he played in the premiership team. Glad to see him gone.

You had me at the first bit but probably didnt completely land at the end.

Agree he was overrated and unimpactful and got a generous run at selection - not discrediting he played some gooder games around some mostly uninspiring ones. the same DLers who moan about selection integrity "goodys boys" and vfl form not being rewarded throughout the season suddenly become ultra sensative to list changes and the club trying to find solutions and different combos to take us forward.

10 years, peaked as a player and rightfully shakes hands and takes up a more secure deal and more secure gametime, thankyou and best wishes

look at what watson or lohmann/weightman are doing, or what mannagh and max hall from the vfl are doing, the right players are out there and its time we go and find some new ones for our HF flanks. Sam butler? pedlar? harvey harrison even maybe or can we get a mcreery out, do we focus some draft selections there? dovaston?

3 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

North supporters are livid with the selection if Bigfooty is an indication.

If he has a decent run at it health wise, then he might be good pick up for the Roos.

if my side was bottom of the ladder for 5 years and tried to sell me hope with sentimental 3 year deals for non goal kicking small forwards after busting on fisher, tucker, stephenson and others who just repeat the cycle i would be fairly livid too, hes a good fluff player but is hardly going to carry them up the ladder

2 hours ago, mo64 said:

The most overrated player by Demonlanders. A small forward who didn't kick goals and averaged 11 possessions. Also isn't an elite pressure player. His supposed elite disposal was a Demonland myth.

Spargo's best season was actually his 1st in 2018.

Couldn't care less that he played in the premiership team. Glad to see him gone.

I know he was a whipping boy for the fans but I really respected the way he went about his footy. If the rest of our players had his dedication and calmness we would be premiers.

I feel like he was always up against it - a bit small, not overly quick for a small, couldn't kick over 40m and recently a lot of injury issues. But always gave 110%.

I remember an important match (maybe the Hawks semi final in 2018) where we needed a goal and he had a shot from on the boundary line at his range (about 40-45 out). He just willed it through. A big role in our premiership side - wish him all the best!

I loved his story when we drafted him - first ever 4th generation VFL/AFL player.

Injuries have really ruined his last couple of years, but prior to that he was an important piece of our team through Premiership phase.

100+ MFC games and a Premiership. May he partner with a 7ft tall high jumper and have many father-son / father-daughter candidate children.

Probably a good fit for North, with the caveat of his perpetual injury recovery.

They have a wave of all-purpose high productivity midfielders and need to fill out their list with AFL-grade role players. A fit Spargo is a useful contributor to calm and smart entries inside 50 and good positioning to reduce counter-attack options.

North certainly have plenty of accumulators, and whatever Spargo might be, he is not an accumulator!

1 hour ago, Rivers of Belief my friend said:

…and I have to rename myself!

…ok, done. (nee Spargonicus)

Great, now you’re gonna mozz Riv 😁

Can understand the decision but sad to see him go. He was an important contributor to our premiership year and no one tried harder. He should be proud of his time in the red and blue.

Edited by chook fowler

6 hours ago, Petracca said:

Wonder if Langford now takes the number 9 now

4 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

I think they’ll offer #9 to Jai.

No. No. Please. No.

Let Culley make 46 his own. Let Langdon be Melbourne’s best ever 19.

Any free numbers can go to new players coming in.

4 hours ago, monoccular said:

Why?

What is wrong with 19?

“Promoting” player numbers is so overrated. I will never forget when Liam Jurrah was “promoted” from 48 to 24 and he wasn’t even half the player he was before.

100%.

The worst thing about every off season is when a player gets given a “better” number.

Let Langdon be 19. Let Culley be 46. Foster a culture of playing your career in the number you get when you walk in the door.

always had a soft spot for charlie

he was excellent in 2021

has not worked out for him since

i wish him the best at North (except when he plays us)

Edited by BDA

Premiership player and a 100 plus games. Played some good ones and a deserving member of 2021 flag.

Injuries have sent him backwards since then. Best of luck for future, but creates an opportunity for someone new!

55 minutes ago, John Demonic said:

That will pair nicely with your champagne laugh

Since I have been in Italy and awaiting my flight back to Oz I can reveal a liking for local drop Apperol Spritz!

14 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Since I have been in Italy and awaiting my flight back to Oz I can reveal a liking for local drop Apperol Spritz!

Hey PF

so last decade... it's a Limoncello Spritz these days mate.

Hope you had a great time

2 hours ago, titan_uranus said:

Let Langdon be 19. Let Culley be 46. Foster a culture of playing your career in the number you get when you walk in the door.

Damn!! Now they’ve moved Langdon from 15 to 19… so, does Langford get 15 or 9?