15 hours ago, DEE fence said:
  • I rewatched the 2024 game (we kicked 5 goals to nil in the first term), a couple of things stood out. We were playing nearly the same style as this year, we were playing with a lot of confidence, our skills looked slick and we just pantsed them. Watson also missed his first 4 shots on goal. Also Lever was proppy from the start and May got clobbered - which means I don't give up hope that our defence can hold together for this week.

Anyway what stood out - we are obviously a confidence team, in many ways I have been guilty of thinking we were past the need for 'confidence'. But if there was a single thread to pull on, it is not game style or our list but confidence. This is super frustrating, because I think our list is better than 2024, Lindsay and Langford are such upgrades on Billings and Hunter etc. But I really back our ability to bring pressure, we are a top 4 side at pressure when we are on.

TRIGGER WARNING #FREEKICKHAWTHORN

The media darling Hawks have won the free kick count in every single game this year. +56 after round 8! World record pace

• H 23 Swans 21

• H 23 Ess 17

• H 29 Carl 24

• H 17 Giants 16

• H 21 Port 12

• H 24 Geel 15

• H 24 WCE 11

• H 23 Rich 10

Watch Melbourne get absolutely pantsed by the Maggots this weekend. The club should get on the front foot and highlight the massive discrepancy in frees to Hawthorn - make sure the eyes of the football world are watching.

Not sure Hawthorn's record is as good as people say. Like us they have played Richmond and West Coast in the past 2 weeks. Only beaten 1 top 8 team (giants)

Viney to Newcombe seems a lock.

Changes since the last time we played the Hawks in 2024

Out

ANB, Billings, JVR, Petty, Howes, Hore, Lever, BBB

Likely ins

Langford, Lindsay, Tholstrup, Turner, Bowey, Melksham, Spargo, Sharp

23 hours ago, old dee said:

Oh please not JVR on the back of one good game against a terrible Richmond outfit. I know we need height but the guy messes up our forward line play. He seldom takes a mark against a good opponent. If he is in I hope they play him as a decoy drawing a good defender away from the action.

Were you saying that about him the last two years?

He just lost form and confidence and our style of play didn't help.

He will regain form and become a permanent player in the 22 soon.

Have you also dismissed Kolt as a player, because of his nightmare game against the Eagles?

Patience grasshopper.

Some one has to make Sicily snap if he goes completely troppo the will lose their way.

The man that come to mind is Jake "the snake" Melksham.

I could see Kozzie getting under his skin also.Come On Wrestling GIF by WWE

Edited by YesitwasaWin4theAges

1 hour ago, Redleg said:

Patience grasshopper.

jiminy cricket GIF

Edited by Tarax Club

15 hours ago, William said:

Apropos of this comment, which I agree with, I noted @binman disputed my assessment in the preview for last week's game that JVR was a liability based on the official data. I haven't had much time but I quickly compiled a comparison between 3 key forwards at about the same stage in their career.

Here are some relevant aggregates. They are averages after 46 games for Player A, 44 for Player B (a few years ago), and 30 games for Player C (contemporary of Player A). They are all of the same age (when the averages were calculated) and all were recruited low in the draft as key position forwards. Two of the three play(ed) for MFC.

They tell the story I think. Only one with be a superstar of the game.

image.png

I am sure you will be able to put names to the three players.

Where are you getting your stats? AFL tables has JVR at 5.07 kicks vs your 4.58, disposals 9.30 vs 8.91, mi50 1.46 vs 1.19, goals 1.35 vs 1.21.

Also just give us the names, secret squirrel business isn’t all that interesting

Drew Jones reported that Clarrie trained today at Casey...

I hear he was wearing a Geelong jumper tho...

JOKING! P

10 minutes ago, Gorgoroth said:

Drew Jones reported that Clarrie trained today at Casey...

I hear he was wearing a Geelong jumper tho...

JOKING! P

Gawny shared on Instagram last night having a sauna with Clarry... felt like a bit of a F You to some in the media.

I watched the Hawks V Tigers game. The Hawks were allowed to come through the centre meaning easy and deep entries into their fwd line. We have to slow them down and clog up the corridor.

Someone else mentioned playing Melksham and Sicily. I loved Melksham’s game on McGovern. Sicily would be a good match for him. If Jake could limit his effectiveness it could go a long way towards winning this game.

3 hours ago, Redleg said:

Have you also dismissed Kolt as a player, because of his nightmare game against the Eagles?

Patience grasshopper.

wouldnt call Kolt's 14 disposals , 4 tackles and 3 shots on goals from 76% time on ground a 'nightmare game'.

4 hours ago, jnrmac said:

The media darling Hawks have won the free kick count in every single game this year. +56 after round 8! World record pace

• H 23 Swans 21

• H 23 Ess 17

• H 29 Carl 24

• H 17 Giants 16

• H 21 Port 12

• H 24 Geel 15

• H 24 WCE 11

• H 23 Rich 10

Watch Melbourne get absolutely pantsed by the Maggots this weekend. The club should get on the front foot and highlight the massive discrepancy in frees to Hawthorn - make sure the eyes of the football world are watching.

Not sure Hawthorn's record is as good as people say. Like us they have played Richmond and West Coast in the past 2 weeks. Only beaten 1 top 8 team (giants)

Viney to Newcombe seems a lock.

this makes me sick. its the Clarko years all again. remember #Freekickhawthorn.

Basically build an outside game and beat other talented star midfielders in contested footy by playing for free kicks. same pattern rinse and repeat.

56 minutes ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

Gawny shared on Instagram last night having a sauna with Clarry... felt like a bit of a F You to some in the media.

I'm surprised the headline isn't GAWN IN HEATED EXCHANGE WITH OLIVER

2 hours ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

Some one has to make Sicily snap if he goes completely troppo the will lose their way.

The man that come to mind is Jake "the snake" Melksham.

I could see Kozzie getting under his skin also.Come On Wrestling GIF by WWE

I watched a little of On the Couch last night (I think it was ONC) and they highlighted that Sicily was out of form.

So if he's playing poorly and loses the plot - double bonus!

54 minutes ago, D Rev said:

Selection has been bizarre this year, goes to show how little we on the outside understand.

Hawthorn looked bloody good on the weekend, will be a good test for where we are at right now.

Other than the last ten minutes we did similar to the tigers.

4 hours ago, Redleg said:

Patience grasshopper.

Mr Leg I have never been a fan of JVR. He had played a few games where he has been ok. The rest average at best. I don't think I have commented about Kolt.

1 hour ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

And shared by Clarry. Mutual sentiments haha

On 03/05/2025 at 23:28, Pates said:

This is a little side note to this thread but the clubs really need to come together to create a proper second tier competition where they match each week to the calendar. These weeks where Casey has a bye while we play is awful for player development and management. The league has enough money in the coffers, they should be making it a high priority.

I think JVR will get the call up for Petty, if Fox Footy succeed in getting Melk suspended (and I just have this nagging feeling it'll happen) I say we bring in Howes to cover Disco who stays forward. If Oliver is available Sharp can play a full Casey game and give the sub vest to either Kolt or Spargo.

One of my pet hates is the whole concept go the VFL, in its present form, as a "support / development competition" for the AFL.

As you point out, the multiple byes stifle player development.

If they cannot somehow synchronise the AFL fixture with the VFL, which at present with an odd number of teams, then the whole structure of VFL needs to be changed. If that requires ending alignments of some but not all VFL clubs with AFL, then maybe the 10 Victorian based AFL clubs need to set up their own "seconds" competition.

I am not sure but I suspect that the WAFL and SANFL where Crows, Power, WCE and Freo players develop don't have all these ridiculous byes, but play every week.

Why should the VFL have to carry NSW and QLD teams? WA and SA don't get carried.

NSW and QLD should set up their own "seconds" competition - sure they will complain that there isn't the number of clubs of sufficient quality to develop their players - well, tough.

8 hours ago, Bay Riffin said:

wouldnt call Kolt's 14 disposals , 4 tackles and 3 shots on goals from 76% time on ground a 'nightmare game'.

Missed all 3 shots and it was a poor game, as I feel Kolt would admit.

Everyone has a bad day at the office though.

7 hours ago, old dee said:

Other than the last ten minutes we did similar to the tigers.

Mr Leg I have never been a fan of JVR. He had played a few games where he has been ok. The rest average at best. I don't think I have commented about Kolt.

I will back JVR in and imo he has shown enough over the last 2 years.

You don’t mention Kolt, I did, as an example.

I’m sorry because so many seem invested in Jefferson but the idea of playing him on Saturday is farcical. What has he done to warrant promotion.?.

I don’t accept the idea that the season is dead, so let’s play him.. The season is by no means dead. Play the best team available

22 hours ago, jnrmac said:

• H 23 Swans 21

• H 23 Ess 17

• H 29 Carl 24

• H 17 Giants 16

• H 21 Port 12

• H 24 Geel 15

• H 24 WCE 11

• H 23 Rich 10

Not sure Hawthorn's record is as good as people

Given that posters on demonland do not tell fibs deliberately therefore these are correct,

I think we are in with a great chance, need to start well of course,

The Hawks beat WCE. Over here by 50 points but had 23 extra free kicks.

We beat WC by 32 but on their. Dung heap.

They beat the tigers by heaps 65 again 13 extra kicks We beat them by 20 points.

That form is definitely much the same as the Hawks. I actually thought WC played well up until half way through the third. They still came back and kicked goals in the last but so did we. We will win this one.

Go Dee’s

12 hours ago, monoccular said:

Why should the VFL have to carry NSW and QLD teams? WA and SA don't get carried.

One of the big reasons for the revamp was the NSW and Qld AFL teams complained that their local competition was not strong enough to develop their AFL players.

The mistake was to allow the Sharks and perhaps the Vic non aligned clubs to participate without any detailed plan as to how the competition would develop. Byes and relegation would have been on the table if it was a genuine competition. Ironically it's now failing as both a competition and reliable training/development environment.

On 04/05/2025 at 21:51, adonski said:

I think we'll play JVR and Disco fwd

And only play two talls in defence given Hawks small line up

Yep, two into fwd line, as suggested. Runners (indicating not 'talls') into the backline creating a mobile wave east, central and west, into the fwd line or deeper, forcing the midfielders to press the fwd line as 'carriers' and 'disposers'. Chin and 'the liveliest player in the League (Kozzie) could have a field day - if only Fritta and JVR played as lead-up fwds (as does Disco). A fwd hang-backer could be the Melk, whose passing is proving to be sublime.

5 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

One of the big reasons for the revamp was the NSW and Qld AFL teams complained that their local competition was not strong enough to develop their AFL players.

The mistake was to allow the Sharks and perhaps the Vic non aligned clubs to participate without any detailed plan as to how the competition would develop. Byes and relegation would have been on the table if it was a genuine competition. Ironically it's now failing as both a competition and reliable training/development environment.

100%. The AFL need to prioritise setting up a genuine 2nd tier competition and if the SA and WA teams want to also join then work with them as well. Unfortunately sides like Southport, Frankston, Port Melbourne etc. will need to find a different competition.

It should be seen as the second best competition in Australia and the best non-AFL talent should be in these sides. This would mean having a higher level of funding and also higher salary caps to pay non-AFL listed players to ensure the talent is elite for the 2nd tier competition.

On 05/05/2025 at 10:29, DistrACTION Jackson said:

Judging by Goody's press conference I reckon Johnson may get a call up.

Johnson is very average!

Where and when is training tomorrow??