Training 2025

hardtack

I probably ask this question every year, but does anyone know when the club will resume full training after the Xmas/New Years break, next year?

I want to catch at least one session at Gosch’s with my son, if I’m in any condition to make the trip down from Sydney; unfortunately there’s no way we can get to Casey, so sessions there are out of the question.

Thanks in advance!

Edited by hardtack

2 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Reckon you’d be looking at 11 November for the 1st to 4 year players and 25 November for the balance.

You’d imagine there will be a stack of senior players making early appearances for obvious reasons.

Thanks BBP!

However and apologies, I should have been clearer, as I’m thinking of next year after they return from the Xmas/new year break. I’ll amend my original post. 

2 hours ago, hardtack said:

Thanks BBP!

However and apologies, I should have been clearer, as I’m thinking of next year after they return from the Xmas/new year break. I’ll amend my original post. 

Check the MFC website.

https://www.melbournefc.com.au/teams/training-times

Sometimes they post only the next sessions and sometimes will post a few weeks in a row.

I find they get a routine going that you can predict where they will train.

I know some track watchers will ring the club and ask them. 

They have family days with training and entertainment, usually during school holidays. These are best for engaging the youngsters. 

Last season they began post chrissy, Monday, January 15th and posted the times soon after.

Gosch's Paddock 2024

Wednesday January 17

9:30am - 11:30am

Wednesday January 24

Wednesday January 31

Casey Fields 2024

Friday January 19

Monday January 22

Friday January 26

Monday January 29

My guess is they will do Gosch's again on the Wednesday.  

37 minutes ago, DemonWheels said:

Already looking forward to your training reports @kev martin

@Katrina Dee Fan has shown exceptional reporting form with the women, backed up by @kev martin. Will we see you stepping in for 'Guest' (we all know who I mean 😪), Kat, come the men's return to Tan, Paddock & Fields?

4 hours ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said:

@Katrina Dee Fan has shown exceptional reporting form with the women, backed up by @kev martin. Will we see you stepping in for 'Guest' (we all know who I mean 😪), Kat, come the men's return to Tan, Paddock & Fields?

Unfortunately not, I work full time and I just can’t get to training, sadly. I should be able to do January training, though, since I’ll be in school hols. 

Edited by Katrina Dee Fan

5 hours ago, Katrina Dee Fan said:

Unfortunately not, I work full time and I just can’t get to training, sadly. I should be able to do January training, though, since I’ll be in school hols. 

Our loss!

Thanks @kev martin, that’s very helpful.

I’d hate to get down there only to find they were at Casey… because we’ll be flying down on hard earned frequent flyer points I suspect we will therefore need to book a fair way in advance, something that only adds to the degree of difficulty.

I mighhhht get to Casey providing no bulltish gates locked stuff, coz. Whats the piont???, Also, I have invested in a new Tournequet, anti Snake venom, fly swat, and a yowie anti mating kit!🤩

• Haha 9

1 hour ago, picket fence said:

I mighhhht get to Casey providing no bulltish gates locked stuff, coz. Whats the piont???, Also, I have invested in a new Tournequet, anti Snake venom, fly swat, and a yowie anti mating kit!🤩

No self respecting Yowie would mate with you picket !!!!

• Haha 9

14 hours ago, picket fence said:

Do you rub the anti mating kit on ,drink it ,hit them with it or what.Sounds like a lot of trouble why dont you brace yourself and cop it like a man

On 25/10/2024 at 14:39, hardtack said:

I probably ask this question every year, but does anyone know when the club will resume full training after the Xmas/New Years break, next year?

I want to catch at least one session at Gosch’s with my son, if I’m in any condition to make the trip down from Sydney; unfortunately there’s no way we can get to Casey, so sessions there are out of the question.

Thanks in advance!

You would probably be locked out at Casey anyway Hardtack.

17 hours ago, old dee said:

You would probably be locked out at Casey anyway Hardtack.

Yeah, even if it was an open session 🤣

2 hours ago, hardtack said:

Yeah, even if it was an open session 🤣

I don't think they have such things at Casey. pf's reports seem to be always from the outside fence while watching for Joe blakes!

First and final word - sanctions placed on posters are not matters for general discussion on this site. They are private matters between our team and the poster in question.

The task of moderating is difficult enough, please assist us by refraining from commenting on how we enforce our code of conduct.

On 25/10/2024 at 14:46, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Reckon you’d be looking at 11 November for the 1st to 4 year players and 25 November for the balance.

You’d imagine there will be a stack of senior players making early appearances for obvious reasons.

He asked about New Year !!! BBP. 

WOW, OK OK IF im around will try to do a report or two from Casey, but the gates HAD BETTER be open!!

Cheers P.F

11 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

He edited his original post.

He originally asked when they commenced training.

But he went on  to elaborate he was coming down from Sydney in the NewYear and his heading 2025. Training says it all. 
I rest my case BBP. 

While we await the start of training, this has just popped up on the Club's website.

It's sort of relevant, inasmuch as it's an indicator of some of things that training creates, as they manifested in 2024.

Maybe some surprises herein; some discussion may result, too!

https://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/1686412/gps-numbers-revealed-fittest-and-fastest-demons

(p.s. The cynic in me raises its 'Why now?' eyebrow at the timing of this 'feel good' story!)

30 minutes ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said:

While we await the start of training, this has just popped up on the Club's website.

It's sort of relevant, inasmuch as it's an indicator of some of things that training creates, as they manifested in 2024.

Maybe some surprises herein; some discussion may result, too!

https://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/1686412/gps-numbers-revealed-fittest-and-fastest-demons

(p.s. The cynic in me raises its 'Why now?' eyebrow at the timing of this 'feel good' story!)

Very good results for Chandler  Sparrow and especially Tholstrup in his first year. Expected for Lingers and the Adelaide player.

On 28/10/2024 at 20:08, picket fence said:

WOW, OK OK IF im around will try to do a report or two from Casey, but the gates HAD BETTER be open!!

Cheers P.F

That is about as likely as me nominating for the draft pf.