Posted

At the end of the year it seems. Actually reckon he's underrated in AFL circles.

Did a pretty good job with our rebuild and list management and probably one of the good guys who deserved to be part of the grand final success.

He'll get snapped up quickly you'd think.

https://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/1400687/josh-mahoney-to-step-away-from-essendon

Good call jumping ship Josh

…you need to be 100% committed to the direction…

it’s a sess pool, we get it

Edited by DubDee

14 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

I think there are rumours that he's going to join AFL HQ. 

"In total, I’ve been involved at AFL club level for more than 25 years as a player, coach, and GM of Football for a decade at both Essendon and Melbourne. It has been a privilege and I look forward to what is next.”

Sounds likely from that.

Needs to get away from Dodoro too.

44 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

I think there are rumours that he's going to join AFL HQ. 

AFL Footy Manager role hasn’t been filled and Gale has just knocked it back.

32 minutes ago, Redleg said:

AFL Footy Manager role hasn’t been filled and Gale has just knocked it back.

That would be good for him.  Maybe help us  out indirectly 

32 minutes ago, darkhorse72 said:

That would be good for him.  Maybe help us  out indirectly 

Maybe and don’t think he would be looking to help out Dodoro.

Will get another decent job quick sticks. 

The time at Essendon didn't work out but I don't think this is a total indictment on him. 

I've had dealings with Josh in the past; always positive experiences. Wherever he lands they'll be lucky to have him.

had a rough time at the peptides - it's funny how much control over that club is still held by folks who have lead them into obscurity 

Edited by whatwhat say what

I was talking to a footy dude who barracked for Essendon and I said they have once again been a dissapointment. He disagreed and said Scott has 10 wins which is good for their list which is poor.

Anyway long to short we both thought it would be interesting who rises first, Hawthorn or Essendon. Long time rivals and completely different list management strategies.

I secretly hoped we could see both clubs in a Carlton v Melbourne "Kreuzer Cup" style scenario. That'd be a good year.

Out of interest...

Do people think the head coach should have a say in who is appointed GM of Football or is this a CEO/Board only decision

4 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Out of interest...

Do people think the head coach should have a say in who is appointed GM of Football or is this a CEO/Board only decision

great question

i would say it would depend on where the club is at - for instance, how much oversight does the coach have over much of the football dept anyway, from strength-and-conditioning to recruitment and list management to reporting up into the board etc.

one advantage of having someone with somewhat of a remove from the coach is that it allows them to have some sense of independence while also letting the coach get on with the job of, well, coaching

5 hours ago, Apocalypse XXXI said:

there’s been a bit of politics going on at Bomberland

Surprise surprise.

Slow learners.

5 hours ago, Apocalypse XXXI said:

He did a good job with us but apparently there’s been a bit of politics going on at Bomberland making it hard for people to do their jobs.

You don't say!

In NFL as I understand it the Football GM  has the hire and fire say on everyone that is football related including the head coach. There are exceptions where the head coach is the boss of football and the GM is more of an advisory role.

Not sure how it works in other professional sports

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/General_manager_(American_football)

Bill Belichick of the New England Patriots is an example of a coach who is the de facto general manager; he has never been officially named or granted the title of general manager but he has the final say in football operations.

Mahoney has always been the ultimate professional and is a quality person. It's Essendon's loss. Until they can shed themselves of Sheedy and Dodoro, they won't get that last piece of the puzzle to find success IMO. But, because it's Essendon, that's fine.

I thought Josh came across as a pretty good operator in his time with us.

Conversely, the longer Dodo stays on at Bomberland the happier I am.

They’re going nowhere whilst he’s in charge of their playing list.

That club is so incestuous, they can wallow in the middle of the table for all eternity and still it wouldn’t be long enough.

4 hours ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Out of interest...

No way.

The head coach reports to the GM of football. 

Effectively the CEO hires the GM of football to manage the head coach as well as other aspects of the football department.

7 hours ago, deespicable me said:

I was talking to a footy dude who barracked for Essendon and I said they have once again been a dissapointment. He disagreed and said Scott has 10 wins which is good for their list which is poor.

Anyway long to short we both thought it would be interesting who rises first, Hawthorn or Essendon. Long time rivals and completely different list management strategies.

I secretly hoped we could see both clubs in a Carlton v Melbourne "Kreuzer Cup" style scenario. That'd be a good year.

My money is on the Hawks, they were ridiculously good against the pies. I don’t like Mitchell at all but reckon he’s a hell of a coach.

16 hours ago, deespicable me said:

Very interesting comment considering that they are letting Mahoney go and keeping Dodo.

Personally i hope Dodoro stays at the bombers for a long time, I reckon he's doing a great job. I hope it stays that way for a long time to come.

Edited by Cheap Seats

25 minutes ago, Cheap Seats said:

Personally i hope Dodoro stays at the bombers for a long time, I reckon he's doing a great job. I hope it stays that way for a long time to come.

peppies mate reckons he's an expert at picking small half back flankers that he thinks will become midfielders

...they never do