McQueen 17,867 Posted March 12, 2023 Posted March 12, 2023 Next Saturday (arvo) night watching the Demons go into battle, I will be sitting out in my alfresco with some tight mates, drinking beer, eating red meat (probably very rare red meat to be honest) and watching a Demon victory. For those attending - I’m jealous. Round 1 of a new season is extra special. How are you going to put it in? 3 Quote
Timothy Reddan-A'Blew 5,690 Posted March 12, 2023 Posted March 12, 2023 (edited) Going, with one of my tragi-passionate offspring (jealous of the BBQ though, Macca...) Edited March 12, 2023 by Timothy Reddan-A'Blew 3 Quote
Guest Posted March 12, 2023 Posted March 12, 2023 I’ll be doing the usual: taking in maybe 10% of play (despite being there) then reading what happened on the GameDay thread on the train ride home, then watching the replay once I’m home. #SquadTrials&Tribulations Quote
McQueen 17,867 Posted March 12, 2023 Author Posted March 12, 2023 5 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said: I’ll be doing the usual: taking in maybe 10% of play (despite being there) then reading what happened on the GameDay thread on the train ride home, then watching the replay once I’m home. #SquadTrials&Tribulations You need to change that ratio dear lady. 1 Quote
Docs Demons 1,810 Posted March 12, 2023 Posted March 12, 2023 Will have sons and grand kids around to watch on Fox and as its early evening game by Qld time, tossing up whether to eat before or at half time however leaning towards half time as you should not EAT on a empty stomach. Might need a few VB's to ease the nerves prior to game, then maybe a red when we have it in the bag. 2 1 Quote
Guest Posted March 12, 2023 Posted March 12, 2023 5 minutes ago, McQueen said: You need to change that ratio dear lady. The only way to see more of the action would be to not sit up front in our bay aka the Bay of Carnage risking life and limb and possibly an eyeball, but where’s the fun in that?! Quote
Demon Disciple 12,537 Posted March 12, 2023 Posted March 12, 2023 2 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said: The only way to see more of the action would be to not sit up front in our bay aka the Bay of Carnage risking life and limb and possibly an eyeball, but where’s the fun in that?! Yep watch out for those flags 1 Quote
Stiff Arm 4,420 Posted March 12, 2023 Posted March 12, 2023 Maybe a beer or 2 at the Duke before, then screaming from lev 2 Northern stand. If you see a guy getting dragged out by security at half time it'll be me and we'll be 5 goals down. But of course, that won't happen 😉 2 1 Quote
McQueen 17,867 Posted March 12, 2023 Author Posted March 12, 2023 3 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said: The only way to see more of the action would be to not sit up front in our bay aka the Bay of Carnage risking life and limb and possibly an eyeball, but where’s the fun in that?! That’s awesome that you get that satisfaction with what you do for the team. 😊 I’m a little introverted and look for some relative peace and quiet at games. 5 Quote
Guest Posted March 12, 2023 Posted March 12, 2023 19 minutes ago, Demon Disciple said: Yep watch out for those flags The corners flick with such force. They’ll take an eye out one of these days! 😵 And a goal scored can result in a footy to the head or face. Fine if it’s a Dees goal, not fine if it’s not. 🤕 Don’t even get me started on the flagpoles. Quote
hardtack 11,107 Posted March 12, 2023 Posted March 12, 2023 I’m passing up a birthday party with three very good bands playing, so that I can sit with my son in front of the telly. Having given up the booze, I can’t even enjoy a cold one while the game is on… looks like hot dogs/pies and coke. 6 Quote
Tarax Club 4,189 Posted March 12, 2023 Posted March 12, 2023 Be on the road with a four hour time zone difference. If all goes well will arrive at destination in time for first bounce. Viewing game on an iPad will be decidedly different from last year at the ‘G. But the beer will be in pristine glass not plastic. 4 Quote
CHF 2,825 Posted March 12, 2023 Posted March 12, 2023 On a plane for the duration of the game and then some. Will watch a delayed viewing without knowing the result. 3 1 Quote
Deemania since 56 6,810 Posted March 12, 2023 Posted March 12, 2023 Going to the game, driving from Bendigo region. Booking a room in Lygon Street for Sat night at my favourite boutique hotel and close to the only restaurant where you can still get a fabulous carpetbagger steak done to perfection. After morning check-in, a city-stroll of the bookstores and the Vic market for cheese and a pleasant walk to the ground if the weather is good, perhaps a tram ride and a seat well away from Footiskry supporters under GA protocols. Picnic feed and snacks in the day-backpack with 'Bessie' (my old steel thermos) filled with brewed Brazil Santos coffee from Quists in Little Bourke Street obtained earlier. Ever the optimist, I feel confident that we can knock this one off by a considerable margin, so a good red after the game may well be in order. Returning to accommodation, it's replay time. It has been a long wait for the '23 season to begin. 11 Quote
DeelightfulPlay 2,723 Posted March 12, 2023 Posted March 12, 2023 After telling myself that I'm making the effort to go to the Brisbane game and that I needn't watch Round 1 in person... yesterday I caved and used my railway pass to arrange a 10 hr trip down to Melbourne from Syd on Thursday night. I'll crash with some family, work the Friday, and then on Saturday prepare for all things Dees at the G! 12 1 Quote
buck_nekkid 6,103 Posted March 12, 2023 Posted March 12, 2023 Afternoon performance to enjoy, then Into town for beers and a Parma (Preload phase), then toddle of to my reserved seat to enjoy the match…. 2 Quote
Salems Lot 2,692 Posted March 12, 2023 Posted March 12, 2023 I will be in Paris! Will be relying on game day thread for updates. Not home till round 3. Go Dees! 6 Quote
deva5610 970 Posted March 12, 2023 Posted March 12, 2023 (edited) 13 minutes ago, Salems Lot said: I will be in Paris! Will be relying on game day thread for updates. Not home till round 3. If you get bored of Paris you could grab a WatchAFL subscription at $44 a month or $22 a week for international viewing. Edited March 12, 2023 by deva5610 1 1 Quote
demosaw 1,155 Posted March 12, 2023 Posted March 12, 2023 I’ll be listening on the radio 12hrs into a 360km bike ride. Cheer hard at the G! 4 Quote
FlashInThePan 1,893 Posted March 12, 2023 Posted March 12, 2023 I’ll be taking 6 to the game including my English born father in law who will spend half the game asking me why we call this football. I’ll be so happy that footy is back that I won’t even care. I’ll locate a good mate and his clan of doggies supporters for a bit of smack talk and hopefully walk with them to Jolimont after the game while teaching them the words to ‘it’s a grand old flag’ 3 1 1 Quote
Fanatique Demon 2,764 Posted March 12, 2023 Posted March 12, 2023 I’ll be at a classic Citroen event in Murray Bridge with my two loves… my wife and my 1967 DS. I’ll skip the Motorkhana and meet up with an old school friend I haven’t seen since about 1969. He’s also a lifelong Demon supporter. A big win would top off the perfect day. 4 Quote
BDA 23,048 Posted March 12, 2023 Posted March 12, 2023 Beers and a parma in the Corner hotel before heading over to the G. Can't wait 5 Quote
Ollie fan 3,672 Posted March 12, 2023 Posted March 12, 2023 At the G with my daughter watching us win by 5+ goals. 2 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted March 12, 2023 Posted March 12, 2023 We'll head somewhere for a pre game parma like the Duke or similar. Then on to the G Teident area on level 2. Gonna be a hoot. 1 Quote
Timothy Reddan-A'Blew 5,690 Posted March 12, 2023 Posted March 12, 2023 This is like Grand Final week!😁 2 Quote