Good coach and a decent bloke. Getting the sack 2 months after extending is just amateur hour

Did the best he could with the list available. Reckon their head recruiter should be getting the chop before him

This is Yze's opportunity but you never know with this Saints executive. Tough gig but someone has to do it. 

And if Yze does leave we could do worse that Ratten as senior assistant

I hope we have called Kings manager and told him we’d love to have King at FF next year, time to escape the ****show

What a poorly run club the Saints are, hope they have to pay out the full two years worth of his contract. I have know idea who their list manager is but surely you would sack them before Ratten. 

The big question is whether they release the review’s findings (probably not) but there are many aspects to the way in which a club operates and the coach is always the easiest target. Their recruiting and player development leaves a lot to be desired and their fitness people would surely be under the microscope. At least they must have plenty of dollars because the payout to Ratten is likely to be substantial and they will also no doubt let some of his coaching team go as well.

They were 8-3 at the midpoint of the season. Did it have to come to this?

I would think Lethlean would have a bit to answer for.  Has now been there for 5 years and as GM Football presided over the recruiting and re-contracting of Ratten.  He presided over the list management strategy and decisions which included getting his mate Hannebery on a very lucrative contract.  Hannebery played 16 games in those 4 years!

And the recruitment of HIll on another lucrative long term contract.  Tough for a coach to operate with those decisions which are like shackles.

Another rebuild awaits.  Another decade in the doldrums.

Now, Lethlean is being promoted to CEO.  Ratten gets the boot! 

Ratten was coach when Saints traded for Hannebery, Zak Jones, Hill, Ryder and Dougal Howard? 
He made his play and it didn’t work out, footy is cutthroat and unforgiving, the current list is in terrible shape. 

Edited by Bombay Airconditioning

8 hours ago, KLV said:

Yze will get it, but does he want it?

If he doesn't want it, I doubt he would even apply let alone get the gig.

10 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Ratten was coach when Saints traded for Hannebery, Zak Jones, Hill, Ryder and Dougal Howard? 
He made his play and it didn’t work out, footy is cutthroat and unforgiving, the current list is in terrible shape. 

Hannebery arrived a few years before Ratten.  Jones and Hlll arrived when he was caretaker coach or just taken over as senior coach so he probably didn't have much say in their recruitment.

He has only been in the job for a few years, hardly enough time to make his mark let alone have an impact.

Edited by Lucifers Hero

13 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

I would think Lethlean would have a bit to answer for.  Has now been there for 5 years and as GM Football presided over the recruiting and re-contracting of Ratten.  He presided over the list management strategy and decisions which included getting his mate Hannebery on a very lucrative contract.  Hannebery played 16 games in those 4 years!

And the recruitment of HIll on another lucrative long term contract.  Tough for a coach to operate with those decisions which are like shackles.

Jobs for the boys?

8 hours ago, rjay said:

Honestly...this is pathetic.

Their list isn't up to scratch & that's not Ratten's fault.

Scattergun recruiting, a lot of it under their new CEO...I think the blame lies elsewhere.

I feel for Ratten

Same. I also feel for Saints supporters. They’ve suffered long enough as it is (as Dees supporters we can certainly relate) and now this. 😢 

In particular, I really feel for their cheer squad members. They don’t get much support from their club. Their storage unit was broken into in January and a lot of their stuff was stolen, they didn’t have much to start with anyways. But they do an awesome job despite all this. 

Edited by WalkingCivilWar

7 hours ago, whatwhat say what said:

extraordinary that they did this the day after trade period closed

make sure that their players were locked in before they dropped this one on them...

Thought exactly the same thing last night. Some of their players will feel betrayed by this.

Edited by rjay

Wow this is a shock,imagine life as a Saints fan.

19 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

...brought in Walsh to do his dirty work and washes his hands.

His recruiting decisions are a huge part of where the club sits it's been obvious for a while that their rebuild was mismanaged.

21 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Ratten has little responsibility for the list rebuild.

See above..

They must’ve found something damning in the review to sack him like this

24 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Hannebery arrived a few years before Ratten.  Jones and Hlll arrived when he was caretaker coach or just taken over as senior coach so he probably didn't have much say in their recruitment.

He has only been in the job for a few years, hardly enough time to make his mark let alone have an impact.

Hannebery at the start of 2019. Dan Butler was the other one I was thinking off.

Sounds like the new guy is already to go.

While it could be Yze, or Hayes, it’s probably more likely to be an experienced Coach, to appease the fans and players.

8 hours ago, whatwhat say what said:

extraordinary that they did this the day after trade period closed

make sure that their players were locked in before they dropped this one on them...

They recruited only one player, Zaine Cordy who hadn't been offered a contract so not too much damage done.

Hunter Clarke might feel aggrieved.

Anyone who watched the post draft interview with the St Kilda recruiter would have been left speechless by the utter delusional and completely irrational and disordered view he has concerning their list.

Being apart of St. Kilda has some similarities to living in Norf Korea. Living in a state of suspended animation, they are disciples of the unshakable belief in something that’s untrue. The belief isn’t a part of the wider AFL or societal culture or subculture, and almost everyone else knows this belief to be false. They think the answer lies in doubling-down and trying harder.  

Not saints at all.

2 minutes ago, Dee Viney Intervention said:

Wouldn’t mind Ratten to come back as our midfield coach. Yze if he stays to look after our forwards and Stafford to focus on the rucks.

I thought that too.

But having 3 ex senior coaches working for the senior coach probably wouldn't be the best mix of support for Goodwin.

Edited by Lucifers Hero

Irrelevant, hasnt even made the ABC news.

I have a number of saints supporters which I would describe as tragic.

But the footy club, blah blah blah

8 hours ago, DubDee said:

Saints would have sacked Goody in 2020, Dimma in 2016 and Bomber in 2006

Demonland wanted Goody sacked in 2019