Posted
1 hour ago, John Crow Batty said:

The funny part of the whole debacle.

FE76CEF8-30F9-41C2-95C0-8AC1D0DFA3C8.jpeg

Almost as funny as this 

The Three Stooges Filmography - The Outlaws Is Coming (January 1965)

Posted
2 hours ago, John Crow Batty said:

The funny part of the whole debacle.

FE76CEF8-30F9-41C2-95C0-8AC1D0DFA3C8.jpeg

It’s not often an entire team embarrasses themselves like this. It will be a very handy weapon for all other teams when it comes to future on-field taunts. 

Posted

I'm coming to the end of a project that has involved reading 28 different major primary sources, basically a global collection of the greatest military-strategic thinkers ever to put pen to paper.

From Musashi to Clausewitz to de Saxe and even Rommel, do you think a single one of them went in for this sort of boo-yaa posing?

Posted

I'm sorry if this has already been mentioned, but do you remember that we also had a camp issue during this time? Our players went to the club and was like this isn't on, and the media attacked us because the club allowed the players to say they were uncomfortable with the camp and didn't want to participate? Then compare to what the Crows did to Betts who raised his concerns. If this is how they treated a champion of their club no wonder more players haven't come forward. 

I have no idea how a workplace can get away with treating their employees like this, and still refusing to acknowledge any wrong doing. 

Posted

Gill should step down over this

i am sure the AFL or AFLPA had to give some sort of approval for this “camp”

Walk away Gill your legacy isn’t that great even though the Media fawn all over you

Posted
3 hours ago, Colin B. Flaubert said:

Considering how these 'more alpha than alpha' types have embraced kookery like 'no fap', it's possible that statement is fallacious.

Fap. I had to look that up. 

Posted
29 minutes ago, old dee said:

How is Ricciuto  still there? 

That's why its still lingering because he is still there.

He's the last major domino to fall.

Posted
29 minutes ago, joeboy said:

And what if the Crows won the game, would other clubs have embraced the stance?

That we will never know. This wouldn't have seen the light of day had the crows won the flag in 2017.

Posted

Gosh and I thought one of John Northy's pre season camps was bad when he had a mate fire a shot gun to scare the boys at Ballarat.

But I guess after reading this I have a bit of respect for our players who stood up to our club and said we aren't doing this pre season camp. At the time I thought the players were a bit precious about it but looking now maybe they didn't think that was right for them. 

Posted
11 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

Gosh and I thought one of John Northy's pre season camps was bad when he had a mate fire a shot gun to scare the boys at Ballarat.

But I guess after reading this I have a bit of respect for our players who stood up to our club and said we aren't doing this pre season camp. At the time I thought the players were a bit precious about it but looking now maybe they didn't think that was right for them. 

Was the camp our players objected to run by the same jokers who ran the Adelaide one? I'm sure word got around to players at different clubs about what went down there.

Posted (edited)
5 minutes ago, Bates Mate said:

Was the camp our players objected to run by the same jokers who ran the Adelaide one? I'm sure word got around to players at different clubs about what went down there.

I'm scrambling back through news stories from the start of 2018 to get more info! Unbelievable if it was. 

Edited by layzie

Posted
1 minute ago, layzie said:

I'm scrambling back through news stories from the start of 2018 to get more info! Unbelievable if it was. 

Interesting I remember a lot of media comment condemning the players for their refusal to take part. 

Posted
1 minute ago, old dee said:

Interesting I remember a lot of media comment condemning the players for their refusal to take part. 

Yeah, from memory it was more in the mould of an SAS camp with bricks and logs and calling everyone princess after 3 hours of push ups or something like that. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, layzie said:

Yeah, from memory it was more in the mould of an SAS camp with bricks and logs and calling everyone princess after 3 hours of push ups or something like that. 

Yeah sleep deprivation etc - I doubt it was the same mob who ran the Crows one but I'm not certain.

Posted
1 hour ago, Little Goffy said:

I'm coming to the end of a project that has involved reading 28 different major primary sources, basically a global collection of the greatest military-strategic thinkers ever to put pen to paper.

From Musashi to Clausewitz to de Saxe and even Rommel, do you think a single one of them went in for this sort of boo-yaa posing?

Does your primary sources include 'Assault on Victoria Park' or 'The Long Retreat from Kardinia Park'  both apparently by Jontee?

In terms of boo-ya posing I would direct you to the Holy Grail where those chaps of a French persuasion said some unkind words on family members.

Posted
6 hours ago, Brownie said:

I guess the Dees go through the "psycho babble" too.

I reckon it's essential for a team at this level. Builds the right culture and mental resilience / positivity.

You could hear Petracca talk about it late last year. Something like "I made a mistake, forget about it, clear the head, reset and go again."

It's important to pick the right program.

This one seemed to be about tearing people down. Our culture seems to be about building each other up.

I loved Max's press conference after May got all lippy and punchy a while back.

He talked about getting rid of that culture of putting each other down. How adopting a better attitude of stamping that habit out reflected positively back into his relationships with family and friends too.

This boot camp stuff seems really whacky and toxic.

I've trained with ex Special forces people when I walked Kokoda years ago. They were super impressive people and I learnt a lot from them about preparation, leadership following through on your word etc.

However, tying to break someone down psychologically over a weekend and then having them dance nude in a drumming circle to build them back up sounds a bit Rugby League.

On the topic of leadership, I think Max is the right leader for the times. He displays the best traditional values associated with elite performance - competitiveness, toughness, high standards, continual self-improvement - and the best progressive values  - accepting uniqueness, embracing diversity, compassion for team mates and proves that the two styles need not be mutually exclusive.  

Posted

Absolutely horrific while also being mind-numbingly stupid. The Australia Army walked away from this sort of nonsense decades ago for regulars. If I was a Adelaide supporter hearing this stuff, I would walk away from them forever. 

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, layzie said:

More specifically can anyone name the clowns who ran the show. 

Someone should challenge them to front up to 360 or the footy show and argue their case in front of cameras.

Just one of them,on his own  and no Robbo.

Edited by IRW
Posted
19 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

I'm hit and miss with Sam at times.

Caro on the other hand is one of the best journo's going around, and I say that without hesitation. 

When she doesn’t hold a personal agenda 

Posted
1 hour ago, Jontee said:

Does your primary sources include 'Assault on Victoria Park' or 'The Long Retreat from Kardinia Park'  both apparently by Jontee?

In terms of boo-ya posing I would direct you to the Holy Grail where those chaps of a French persuasion said some unkind words on family members.

I can see it happening, looking over the side of the roof of the 'G one day.

Alas, our league has no filthy English k'ni'ghetts.

Posted

The head of Canberra's TAFE has just been stood down for paying $millions to a training organisation for awareness & transformative cultural change.

TAFE could not provide a coherent statement explaining what was actually delivered.

Maybe it was the same mob that ran the Crows camp.