Posted
19 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Can't believe I'm saying this because I'm going to have to wash my mouth out with metho..

But Geelong are genuinely the real deal this year unfortunately. 

Yeah they are just perfect in what they do. They don't miss tackles, they use the ball correctly, no stupid handballs, aren't selfish in there forward line and they rarely fumble. 

Posted
37 minutes ago, Demon Dynasty said:

When we speak of learnings i hope our club has learned not to stand the line when marking an OOTF.

The Doggies clever.  Started using the outside 5 rule to protect the inside play on or kick from this situation a fair while back.

Cats & the Blues have now learnt and are also doing this tonight.

As of last week we were still standing the line.

Go back to round 23 last year. We didn't stand the line, Trac took the five meters in and it's why they kicked out of bounds and won us the game.

Posted

Nice work off HB there by the Swanies.  As much as i hate the celebration Papley is one helluva small forward

Posted

Jeez this is such a tight year, I think the important thing for us is to purely worry about the week to week. We have the hardest run home of all, we can win them all and we can win them all. Swans and the Cats look the goods tonight, who will look the goods next week?

Posted (edited)
8 minutes ago, Mr Steve said:

Go back to round 23 last year. We didn't stand the line, Trac took the five meters in and it's why they kicked out of bounds and won us the game.

I would have to rewatch.  Maybe some players learning quicker than others as i havent seen any of our boys doing it this year.

I just rewatched.  CP was a fair way off the OOTF when it happened and directed away from coming up to the line by the ump (ie; telling him "outside five" as he was approaching).  Think that was more circumstance than design TBH.  Not fully convinced on "intent" here.

Edited by Demon Dynasty
Posted

Does Fyfe reckon he is performing in WWE?

the bloke is huge but he is playing footy where aerobic ability trumps muscles. He is offering nothing to the team right now 

Posted
Just now, Pates said:

Jeez this is such a tight year, I think the important thing for us is to purely worry about the week to week. We have the hardest run home of all, we can win them all and we can win them all. Swans and the Cats look the goods tonight, who will look the goods next week?

This might sound foolish after last week but I think we can take the Cats, Blues still a year away.

Posted
Just now, Demon Dynasty said:

I would have to rewatch.  Maybe some players learning quicker than others as i havent seen any of our boys doing it this year.

We do it for OOB but have not noticed us standing the mark five meters back like the Dogs with marks and frees.

Posted

I don't understand this season. 

The ten top teams have all looked like gods or clowns at various times of the year. Tipping is a nightmare, form is as variable as the stock exchange in a crisis, and to top it all off, the form sides now are the &%$##%@ Cats and Pies. 

If we get our form together we will route this rabble - but our form is just as unpredictable.

I need a nicely laid down Shiraz or a deeply matured Single Malt. 

Posted
1 hour ago, dees189227 said:

It's horrific collingwood are 5th on the ladder and on equal points with us. 

Gee that looks like a good win to sydney. 

Nothing horrific about it if we win tomorrow.
The AFL have absolutely gifted them a fixture that’s been kissed on the [censored] by angels. 

Posted

Ripper of a contest in Perth.  Sydney has good system going forward. Envious.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

This might sound foolish after last week but I think we can take the Cats, Blues still a year away.

Yep, I think Blues will finish 6th-7th and might win through to the second week. I also agree that we can take the cats. We can take all comers, for me our best beats everyone's best. It's just we've been inconsistent with our form this season while getting most of the jobs done.

Posted

Good luck predicting the next 5-6 weeks, best part is we are still right in it despite what the experts are saying.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Mr Steve said:

We do it for OOB but have not noticed us standing the mark five meters back like the Dogs with marks and frees.

See above Steve....added a 'post' post comment.  Not many teams (to this point) are using the Doggy's outside five method in general play.  I havent seen many occurances, if any, of other teams (beside the Doggies) using the outside five for OOTFs before this evening.  Maybe i haven't been watching carefully enough though and have just missed it.

Some players might be (individual preference) or have to as they cant get to the mark in time (ie: incidendal & unintended).  

Posted (edited)
3 minutes ago, brendan said:

Cats have peaked too early imo still a long way to go and it’s hard to stay at the top of your game as we know 

Agree. Good night for us. Cats not a threat come finals. Blues will struggle to finish above us from here. And the risk of playing Freo at their home first final reduced. 

Edited by 1964_2

Posted
2 minutes ago, brendan said:

Cats have peaked too early imo still a long way to go and it’s hard to stay at the top of your game as we know 

Correct. Full faith we will be following last year’s form line and will peak at the end. 

Posted

Tomorrow's games just became crucial all of a sudden.

Win Tomorrow and we can at least almost give ourselves breathing space and also to stay in touch with top 4.

Posted
2 minutes ago, brendan said:

Except when i see them post game they look like they’re cruising. Not too excited or pumped up. They seem to have a lot in their tank still. 

Posted

Our big problem is we probably have the worst key forward options in the AFL atm. I just don't see how we fix that, unless JVR comes in and plays well, or we change our game plan, to utilize a small forward line. That would mean kicking to space and along the ground entering the forward 50 and not just bombing it long to 1 on 3.