Posted

We'll be fine. 

And will be better in the long run.

I want to stay up the top for a while, not be a flash in the pan side.

More high end young talent and some ammo for aggressive targeting of players.

Trac and Oliver are only scratching the surface.

Posted
2 minutes ago, one_demon said:

it's probably not official until it's announced, but he's gonski

Funnily I'm not fussed - he's potential only IMO and I trust Jason Taylor to get a deal that works for Max.

AND we get to keep Brayshaw so arguably we have all the cultural keys in place for a reset for 2023.

But I would hate to lose Pickett more.

Posted

Not sure if already posted by another else but word is getting around that brayshaw is all but signed on. 

No idea of details but someone I trust is very confident and a few people have heard the same thing. 

• Thanks 7
Posted

He stays, he stays. He goes, he goes. I'm backing the club to get the best outcome. If it is more years of Luke, great. If it is draftees and other new players, just as good.

Posted
2 hours ago, stynewillalwaysbeonthevine said:

What point of the game did viney miss him? can't recall

Late in the 3rd I think? It was at a very pivotal time of the game I think...

Posted
2 hours ago, gregdemon said:

and may v langton verbal      May should shut up given his clangers lately       not to mention he has cost us top four with behavior and  mistakes  and missing games

May and Brayshaw too?

That was full on

My bloke called it 'feedback'

Posted

I believe Luke Jackson is massively overated and if we can negotiate well we will be very well compensated with some excellent types that will suit our needs!

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Redleg said:

If that’s true that players are not regarding him as a full team mate, we have a big problem. This could be derailing our season.

Yes agree, it has been pretty evident for a few weeks now.

The buy in to the team seems to be lacking this year, you can see it in defense in big moments and you can see it offensively.

This is a really big test for Goody, Max and Jack, to make sure there is 100% buy in for this season and moving forwards

Edited by COVID Dan

Posted

Hayden young is the player we need had 31 disposals at 80% efficiency on the weekend I remember the draft we were tossing up between him and Jackson 

Posted
3 hours ago, jumbo returns said:

Did anyone notice JV ignore him, as he was running into an open goal?

Viney had plenty of time to pop it over the top

Big loss, but just go already

This may be controversial as there is all the hate for LJ now, but i think that is poor leadership if true.

We should be about winning games of footy, not being petty and selfish.

I know a few time it has happened this year, and not just JV and LJ, but it shows that there is a cultural issue happening. As i mentioned before our leaders are really gong to be be tested here to get the season back on track

Posted
1 hour ago, Demons11 said:

Hopefully they go hard and try to get a player and a pick.   

Regardless of LJs contract status surely we are mature as a team and get the maximum out of him this year. Thats what i would expect from my leaders.

After the season ends go hard and maximize the value but until then he is still one of us.

The kid is a 20 yo unicorn, we should get a decent return in trade value.

Posted

Maybe we should find Mr Jackson some sexy Broadmeadows woman so that he will stay. Nothing else seems to be working.

Posted
58 minutes ago, Demon17 said:

What on earth does this mean?

"offically"???

You need to post better than this and context.
To Whom, is it signed?  Is he leaving Australia,.....?

If not then its absolutely not official.

Is it subject to a suitable trade etc.?

Please advise better than the above.

Settle down, this is not a legal office, it is a footy forum/fan site.

Posted (edited)
14 minutes ago, picket fence said:

I believe Luke Jackson is massively overated and if we can negotiate well we will be very well compensated with some excellent types that will suit our needs!

Watch last year’s Grand Final again. 

It’s a big loss, and though many here have come to his defence with level-headed and compassionate arguments for him leaving, I can’t shake the opinion that he’s let down the club. I also can’t see how this doesn’t negatively affect his mental approach (and those around him) going into the pointy end of the season.

In general, I wish there was a way to keep any trade-talk strictly off-limits to players mid-season. It’s just not good for the game.

Edited by Mel Bourne
Posted

Don’t reckon LJ would be in the top 10 in our BnF. Quality kid and plenty of potential but we’ll survive fine

Posted
9 minutes ago, COVID Dan said:

This may be controversial as there is all the hate for LJ now, but i think that is poor leadership if true.

We should be about winning games of footy, not being petty and selfish.

I know a few time it has happened this year, and not just JV and LJ, but it shows that there is a cultural issue happening. As i mentioned before our leaders are really gong to be be tested here to get the season back on track

There is NO way JV ignored an option to LJ because he’s leaving for Freo. Viney wants MFC to win more than anything.

May and Brayshaw in robust discussion was totally fine. Brayshaw was first to May to console him after his clanger intercepted by Bont.

There's no evidence of endemic cultural issues.  We've got a envied culture.

• Thanks 4
Posted
2 hours ago, gregdemon said:

and may v langton verbal      May should shut up given his clangers lately       not to mention he has cost us top four with behavior and  mistakes  and missing games

As far as I know we’re still top four. Second, in fact. 
And had we slipped out of the four, you simply can’t attribute that to an individual player. 

Posted (edited)

In all seriousness though why would any Victorian team ever recruit a WA talent? I get that *we* got a premiership of which he was a significant contributor but flags are rarer than unobtainium, and losing a top tier draft after only three seasons... well holistically from a broad perspective you just don't take that risk. 

Seriously, the whole "go home" factor for WA is a little pathetic. These are grown men and they act like they're teenagers coming back from war. If it were a once off or happening towards the end of someone's career then fair enough but after three [censored] seasons? Every single non-WA team is going to look at this and seriously question the risk. We got VERY lucky and it paid off hugely for us.

I don't care what anyone says, moves like this aren't good for the industry or talent pool.

Let's seriously think about this. He's in the home of football, playing at the MCG, in one of the best cities in the world, for one of the best teams in the league, for the reigning Premier, and you're telling me that the "allure" of "going home" is greater than staying on for another 3-4 years? After only three years? PLEASSSSSE!

If he does leave I just cannot avoid to question one of either Jackson's own personality and mentality, or the team culture. The entire situation just seems incredibly bizarre to me. I really don't get it.

Edited by praha

Posted
1 hour ago, Demons11 said:

Official probably the wrong word but yes unfortunately he is off.

Disappointing I have to say

Well I hope he's told the club then, so they can get on with planning for the draft, trade period salary cap and and any other recruiting they may be looking at instead of holding up their planning.

Posted

If we know his decision, then that is the best that coudl have happened. We've got months to work on the best deal and there aren't going to be any surprises like Luke's parents going to 'have a look' at the Freo facilities the day before trade period. 

It's going to hurt and I'm not going to attack people for feeling down about it, he will be a loss no doubt about that. But this football club will move forward without him and only have people who want to be here. 

Posted
27 minutes ago, dl4e said:

Maybe we should find Mr Jackson some sexy Broadmeadows woman so that he will stay. Nothing else seems to be working.

Does she have to be from Broady?

Posted
25 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

As far as I know we’re still top four. Second, in fact. 
And had we slipped out of the four, you simply can’t attribute that to an individual player. 

BUT THE SKY IS FALLING! PLAYERS HAVE MADE CLANGERS!

Anyway, moving on. A regular season of AFL continues. We win games. We lose games. Shocking, right?

Posted

worst thing is this trade is likely to go down to the wire and with multiple clubs involved

this could mean we miss out on trading in a good player from another club because of the timing/uncertainty

Posted
39 minutes ago, old55 said:

There is NO way JV ignored an option to LJ because he’s leaving for Freo. Viney wants MFC to win more than anything.

May and Brayshaw in robust discussion was totally fine. Brayshaw was first to May to console him after his clanger intercepted by Bont.

There's no evidence of endemic cultural issues.  We've got a envied culture.

Just to be clear, i am commenting from the cheap seats, i do not know what the culture inside the 4 walls is.

But you'd be remiss to think that there have not signs of some cultural issues appearing on field. Statistically we have completely dropped off in some offensive and defensive numbers.

I do not know if this is because of changes in the game or cultural or what, but it is there and is worthy of discussion.