URGENT ATTENTION: Major Site Update Will Require Email Address for Login and NOT Username. Please Ensure Your Email Address is Current.

Posted

Suddenly, we’re all at a loss. We can pretend that it’s not all over. We can watch replays. We can hope that they somehow allow cricket or basketball to start. Bloody hell, it’s not a week since we smashed the 57 year premiership drought and we’re already facing nightmares about what to do. 

I have to admit that I was expecting to spend this weekend watching the Storm make it a double for the Melbourne brand. However, their unexpected defeat has opened up another avenue of support for a team notwithstanding that I don’t really understand rugby league all that much.

The South Sydney Rabbitohs were once upon a time a hard luck story much like the Melbourne Demons were at this time last week although they did win a premiership in 2014. The tough part came about because, although they were strong in the 50s and 60s and had a magnificent leagues club at South Sydney Juniors (which I attended on my first visit to Sydney in 1972), they suffered from financial strain for 30 years until they were kicked out of the NRL at the end of 1999. Supporters including the likes of Russell Crowe and Peter Holmes a Court had to wage an expensive court battle for reinstatement which occurred after two years in the wilderness.

At around the time of their reinstatement, one of their officials spoke at an MFC function and it was in my view, an inspirational account about how the supporters rallied to save their club. In many ways, it was similar to the Melbourne/Hawthorn merger struggle. 

So, at the weekend, I’ll be on the Rabbitohs and after that, it’s only a few months to fill in before the AFLW starts, then the practice matches and the magnificent day will come when we can watch the unfurling of the real 2021 premiership flag.

Posted

You can never watch the second half of the third quarter and the whole of the last quarter enough.

Get in some practice for a long summer.

Posted

Nags

Posted

Getting my COVID shot on Saturday, so that might blow my whole weekend depending on my reaction. If so, I'll be laying in bed watching the replay ad nauseam with every commentary under the sun, one by one.

Posted
1 hour ago, Whispering_Jack said:

Suddenly, we’re all at a loss. We can pretend that it’s not all over. We can watch replays. We can hope that they somehow allow cricket or basketball to start. Bloody hell, it’s not a week since we smashed the 57 year premiership drought and we’re already facing nightmares about what to do. 

I have to admit that I was expecting to spend this weekend watching the Storm make it a double for the Melbourne brand. However, their unexpected defeat has opened up another avenue of support for a team notwithstanding that I don’t really understand rugby league all that much.

The South Sydney Rabbitohs were once upon a time a hard luck story much like the Melbourne Demons were at this time last week although they did win a premiership in 2014. The tough part came about because, although they were strong in the 50s and 60s and had a magnificent leagues club at South Sydney Juniors (which I attended on my first visit to Sydney in 1972), they suffered from financial strain for 30 years until they were kicked out of the NRL at the end of 1999. Supporters including the likes of Russell Crowe and Peter Holmes a Court had to wage an expensive court battle for reinstatement which occurred after two years in the wilderness.

At around the time of their reinstatement, one of their officials spoke at an MFC function and it was in my view, an inspirational account about how the supporters rallied to save their club. In many ways, it was similar to the Melbourne/Hawthorn merger struggle. 

So, at the weekend, I’ll be on the Rabbitohs and after that, it’s only a few months to fill in before the AFLW starts, then the practice matches and the magnificent day will come when we can watch the unfurling of the real 2021 premiership flag.

Half way through the post match again.  Can't get enough of the post match stuff & the joy on everyone's faces, plus the interviews 😁

Posted

Watching everything I can … so much good content around. Don’t forget how good the first quarter is. And the Prelim.  And happily crying like a bloody big baby. 😂😂 Haven’t sooked so much in decades!! 😂😂😂

Lotsaluv [censored]

Posted

Don’t know about anyone else but I usually find the first weekend after the grannie a little depressing. It kinda takes a while to adjust to no footy. (The cricket season is always very welcome.)
But this year it feels different. 
A Premiership… the gift that keeps on giving. 😁

Posted
21 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Started the other night with Round 1 against Freo (one quarter per night). Should be up to the GF in time for Saty's first summer training report

Are you only watching the wins?

Posted
21 minutes ago, Chook said:

Getting my COVID shot on Saturday, so that might blow my whole weekend depending on my reaction. If so, I'll be laying in bed watching the replay ad nauseam with every commentary under the sun, one by one.

Had my second dose on Wednesday. Feels a lot like a premiership hangover… could just be a premiership hangover. 

• Haha 5
Posted

Game is about to start on Fox Footy. May as well watch.

Posted

I just watched the r23 match.  It all starts there.  The goal after the siren by max is awesome!  You can see what they are working on that led to the win in the big dance.  I’m going to next watch the finals in sequence as I have time, then the GF thrashing.  We are getting no time in the trade/draft world, so wont spend too long tuning into that.

Posted (edited)

Watching the Geelong game then the GF tomorrow. I could do this all summer.

Edited by Jibroni
Posted
1 hour ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Started the other night with Round 1 against Freo (one quarter per night). Should be up to the GF in time for Saty's first summer training report

Where are you getting the replays from DJ? I had a look on Kayo and the AFL website the other week, primarily looking for the Anzac Eve game but couldn't find anything before the North game in Hobart online.

Posted

"You're not watching the Grand Final again, are you?" says my 9 year old, bemused.
"Yep" I say, a tear in my eye, as my youngest wanders off.

Ah, the wistfulness of youth!  As excited as I would have been had we won when I was a 9 year old back in 1977, I would have convinced myself that premierships for the Demons were part of the natural order. The wisdom of the years has made me want to savour every single drop of this performance because I don't know when or if it will ever happen again.

But I'm hungry too.

My Richmond friend said that premierships were like cocaine. While the first hit is probably the best,  it leaves you with a burning desire for more. One premiership is not enough. 

But in the meantime I'll be watching the replay again.

Posted
1 hour ago, DubDee said:

Who or what is a Rabbitoh?

Well, since you asked: A rabbitoh is a now-disused term that was commonly used in the early 20th century to describe hawkers who captured and skinned rabbits and then sold the meat at markets, so named because they would shout "rabbit-oh" around the markets to attract buyers.

Posted
3 hours ago, The Lobster Effect said:

Well, since you asked: A rabbitoh is a now-disused term that was commonly used in the early 20th century to describe hawkers who captured and skinned rabbits and then sold the meat at markets, so named because they would shout "rabbit-oh" around the markets to attract buyers.

Thanks for that!

so they are named after rabbit killers and their nickname is the bunnies.  

makes sense

Posted
5 hours ago, DubDee said:

Thanks for that!

so they are named after rabbit killers and their nickname is the bunnies.  

makes sense

Souths- The Rabbitohs, had connotations of poverty in and around Redfern during the depression.

Naturally , that’s why Rusty and his wealthy mate saved the club- because they remember the old days of eating rabbits, sleeping rough etc.