Ross Lyon was asked about his relationship with Cerra on FC last night. Played a straight bat, not a lot of confirmation, which gave me a glimmer of hope that the Blues led by Lyon might be a disincentive to Cerra.

Would be hard for us to land Cerra, but if he were to nominate MFC we'd surely find a way

Seriously good footballer, would only be behind Clarry and Trac in our midfield order, and still so young

3 hours ago, titan_uranus said:

It's not that long ago that we were a shambles, with continued off-field disasters compounding our on-field woes.

I agree that Carlton's mucked this up royally, but maybe let's just reflect on how hard it can be to get things right after years of underperformance.

carlton are not copping it for under performing or not making finals. 

When you show no respect to your staff like this you put yourself out there for criticism. 

As a Carlton mate said yesterday, they are still stuck in the 1980s, where throwing $$$$$$$$$ solved everything. I have no sympathy for them.

47 minutes ago, Jaded said:

Why would Yze go there? Seriously why would any unproven coach go there? They treat their coaches like trash. They need a big name with big clout to shut their board up and put some support around them. 

They haven't got the guts to appoint another untried coach.

Yze won't be going there.

I hope Lyon goes there and they screw it up again.

His haircut always bothered me, glad I wont be seeing much of it anymore 

RIP Carlton 

1 hour ago, TRIGON said:

Re the Swans, other football industry insiders rate them as amongst the best, if not the best, run club. I've had interactions with them personally...very impressive outfit.

Harley speaks so well

The rationale is that the game plan was confusing and that too much credence was given to offence over defense.

In 2007, Geelong basically sent in Neil Balme to change the game plan from the conservative chip-draw style Bomber liked to the possession game he tried to implement with us. Needless to say that worked out well.

I guess saying that is easier to give that rationalization than telling the truth that they are a hubris driven dinosaur still living off the fumes of past glories, and all too willing to think that you can solve problems the same way they did in the good old days.

They are so stuck in a time warp, I wonder if Lyon will actually get paid from a Gladstone bag full of rolled notes?

50 minutes ago, Smokey said:

His haircut always bothered me, glad I wont be seeing much of it anymore 

He could have hidden it, but Carlton people have never been keen on the cap.

56 minutes ago, rjay said:

They haven't got the guts to appoint another untried coach.

Yze won't be going there.

I think you’re right and it will be an interesting proposition seeing Ross Lyon return to coaching. His methods were dull at times but put his teams into a position to win. 

My biggest criticism of him (from the outside) was that he seemed divisive and left places in a mess. 

Happened to hear the new Carlton President's press conference today. If I were a Carlton supporter I would have been very happy. Contrary to my expectations (and probably prejudices), he provided a clear picture of intentions. Not only has the coach gone, but 4 Directors (including Judd and Jeanne Pratt) are leaving and the four replacing them all appear to have skills which can help the Board. One is Diesel Williams who will become the Football Director but the others have different skills.

He also claimed that no decision on a new coach has been made and that they will set up a sub-committee (or maybe he said a process) to work through that. He also said that no decision had been made on whether the next coach needed to have previously been a senior coach at AFL level.

I was impressed. (And then remembered that everyone in football lies.)  

I'm struggling to understand why Carlton's sh!tshow is so much more appealing to Ross Lyon than Collingwood's? 

25 minutes ago, Demonland said:

He'll be getting paid a lot more than he is worth and good luck to him.

he's certainly not worth $750k at this stage in his career

1 minute ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

I'm struggling to understand why Carlton's sh!tshow is so much more appealing to Ross Lyon than Collingwood's? 

exactly, especially how carlton have so many interfering  power brokers behind the scenes prepared to light their blow torches

Didn't Diesel Williams talk about the memory loss he's suffered due to the repeated concussions he had as a footballer on an old episode of Open Mike? Not to make light of the subject but perhaps someone that can't remember the last twenty years is why he's been chosen as the best candidate for the job. 

7 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Didn't Diesel Williams talk about the memory loss he's suffered due to the repeated concussions he had as a footballer on an old episode of Open Mike? Not to make light of the subject but perhaps someone that can't remember the last twenty years is why he's been chosen as the best candidate for the job. 

diesel quite literally has dementia; very sad

it's quite clear that the blues ain't bringing in an inexperienced coach - they were very clear that they were going for the "the best, most experienced coach"

but they already tried to get him and clarko said no, so...

it's obviously ross lyon's job to lose

28 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

diesel quite literally has dementia; very sad

it's quite clear that the blues ain't bringing in an inexperienced coach - they were very clear that they were going for the "the best, most experienced coach"

but they already tried to get him and clarko said no, so...

it's obviously ross lyon's job to lose

So the first job of the new board is to assign the position of Football Director to someone with dementia. What could possibly go wrong. 🤦🏻‍♂️

2 hours ago, rjay said:

So do I. They have the same level of arrogance and high opinions of themselves, it’s nauseating. Here’s hoping Ross ‘the list destroyer’ leaves Carlton in an even worse shape than they are now, with his “reputation” forever tarnished.

4 hours ago, BW511 said:

Takes a pretty special kind of character to walk into the place now and think they will make a difference.

Whoever takes on this job will have a monumental task trying to create stability and do their job when they know the guillotine could drop at a moments notice.

I think the instability this year and the handling of Teague will create irreparable damage to the club ala Adelaide Crows and their infamous camp 

I think Rd 1 next year, Carltons treatment of Teague this week, will make no difference at all to how they play. They just want to play winning footy and no one gives a rats if the wins start racking up.

It's amusing how the AFL has spent years (unsuccessfully) trying to force teams to attack more, then this bloke is given the boot specifically for not defending enough. They might hire him to replace Hocking.

This would make a great Mel Brooks musical. 

1 hour ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Rab, it is your lucky day.  The Sun is over the yard arm early in FNQ. the MRS has had enough of the Dry Season and has hitched up the trailer and gone to the Shop of Bottles.

Can you imagine coaching Collingwood; everyone with a modicum of talent gets promoted to superstar, hence big $$$$.  3? father sons who cannot be touched, and the fathers will have the daggers out, and will be leaning over the fence at training counter-coaching.  Pendles, rustybum, cox, grundy are probably no longer at their prime.  And there is the Board.

In short Carltank list is closer to success.  Gotta go, the Mrs is struggling to get the truck up the drive way. Big nite.

5 hours ago, Demon_spurs said:

Carlton should take the AFL up on an offer to move to Tassie, I've suggested this to my Carlton mates, hasn't gone down well

I prefer that when they reached Hobart they just kept going south.

7 hours ago, Bates Mate said:

100% agree, why would anyone want to go to that club in any capacity if they had a choice?

Clearly they were hoping for Clarko because they moved immediately his manager said he was having a year off.

Why did they think he would go to them anyway,?.he's just finished having to put up with Kennett....any other club would be more enticing than Carlton.

Delusional beyond conventional imagination