58 minutes ago, DubDee said:

I ain’t no doctor but I believe the Carotid arteries deliver oxygen to the brain. Located in the side of the 

Hnm interesting observation

I don't like the look. I'm not a doctor so can't comment on the physical implications but unprovoked pressure to the neck of a guy lying down after what was actually a ripper tackle is neither tough nor smart. Especially so late in the game when there was absolutely nothing on the line.

I'm a bit surprised about the array of perspectives on here... I reckon if it was our bloke copping an elbow to the neck we'd be calling for weeks. But I can relate to not wanting guys like Viney on the sidelines heading into the finals. He (like Harmes) is one who desperately need to find form and that won't happen sitting in the stands.

28 minutes ago, Older demon said:

I suggest serious  was used here because there is an elbow lying across someones neck.

2-3 weeks I'm afraid ...... no questions your honour

How many did Rance get for his altercation with Watts... 2 weeks

17 minutes ago, Demons11 said:

Viney plays on the edge and that’s why most love him.   We need blokes like this and the tackle he makes on Collins is the perfect example of why he is so valuable to this side and will be one of our most important players come finals 

Who do you exactly speaking for? Most of the commentary the last two years has been about Viney playing the rugby league style of trying to run through opponents, and instantly get pinged for holding the ball. If he's not doing that he's running through his teammates and having no awareness of his surroundings.

Playing on edge is him giving away stupid free kicks by being dumb about it. This is becoming a constant theme for him the past 2 years.

There's playing on edge, and there's being silly by not channelling that properly on the field.

7 minutes ago, TeamPlayedFine39 said:

Just dumb; inconceivably stupid.

Nothing tough about laying into a guy who’s already lying on his back.  Nothing to gain, plenty to lose.

Shouldn’t even both getting on the plane.

Just cool your jets and have a closer look. Viney wanted no part of it until Collins engaged in the wrestle. 

21 minutes ago, Demons11 said:

Some perspective for the delusional. Bad look but not a hanging offence 

I think most people in this thread including me who said it’s a bloody bad look, think he will get a week. Not 7. 
A week for stupidity and for not being a big name player from a big club. But also for utter stupidity and potential of serious injury is fair. 
If he gets a fine he is lucky just as a few before him have been. 

viney provoked by being pulled down and held. wasn't a strike, just a push. can't measure pressure from a video, impact was low, collins gets up and shows no sign of injury or distress

not a good look and a bit prolonged but only deserves a fine.....move on 

Hopefully the player who was copping it says there wasn’t much force to it. If that was Selwood doing what Viney did he’d be called courageous. 

3 minutes ago, Megatron said:

Just cool your jets and have a closer look. Viney wanted no part of it until Collins engaged in the wrestle. 

Sure, that happened. Then he was a part of it and stuck the point of his elbow into someone's neck for 5 seconds. Come off the 'he started it' argument.

Edited by Seraph

51 minutes ago, The heart beats true said:

Or like when you have to explain to the ER surgeon you were hanging curtains in the nude and you fell backwards and that’s how the light bulb…

…actually, never mind.

Can’t begin to imagine why you, I mean, why “someone” would risk life and limb (and various other body parts) hanging curtains while starkers. Each to their own, I guess. ?

Whately just said that offence is from a fine to a week and AFL will ask for a week. He will get a week. 

1 hour ago, monoccular said:

Stupid act but is it worse that an elbow to the head?

Historically MFC have been the groundbreakers in tribunal suspensions.  Trengove v Dangerfield sling tackle, Grinter v Wallace, even Jakovic the only player ever suspended for wrestling, so I suspect he will get 3 weeks. 

A stupid act and deserves one week, therefore I agree he'll get three because Melbourne

3 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Can’t begin to imagine why you, I mean, why “someone” would risk life and limb (and various other body parts) hanging curtains while starkers. Each to their own, I guess. ?

My ‘friend’ said it was very painful.

I don’t know why we get to round 20 ands the AFL decide not to grade this under their rules 

Intentional conduct, high contact, low impact = 1 week

1 minute ago, In Harmes Way said:

Wanted to delete but how can I do this?

Did Collins play out the game?

is he concussed?

Any stitches?

Will he play next game?

Did Collins contribute to the position Viney was in?

Appeal written all over this!

4 minutes ago, In Harmes Way said:

I don’t know why we get to round 20 ands the AFL decide not to grade this under their rules 

Intentional conduct, high contact, low impact = 1 week

You've forgot the most important part - the offence.

It's not striking. It could be deemed rough conduct but that's there catch all they usually use for bumps.

Incidents like this are usually deemed misconduct and given fines, but they've deemed this too serious for misconduct. Hence sent to the tribunal.

1 hour ago, 1964_2 said:

1 week for every second he un-necessarily has his forearm on the throat.

5 week holiday. 

I think it will be a minimum 3, possibly 4.

Also, there was an horrific incident at the SCG a few years ago, different sport but similar area of the body.

3 minutes ago, waynewussell said:

Did Collins play out the game?

is he concussed?

Any stitches?

Will he play next game?

Did Collins contribute to the position Viney was in?

Appeal written all over this!

Ed Zachary 

I'm at two minds with this. As a father with young kids who like to watch the footy and see this sort of behaviour and wish the players would stop doing it.

On the other hand it doesn't look like there's much in it, Viney looks to be telling the player something and holding him down down to make sure the guy hears what he has to say. This sort of thing happens all of the time and is no more silly or dangerous than things that result in a fine week in/week out. This is classic Joel Selwood sort of stuff 

So much ridiculous hysteria here.

It 'looks' poor but how do you know from the angle that Collins didn't pull Vineys jumper down? That happens a lot on these type of scraps

Just wait to see what the story is....

48 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Who do you exactly speaking for? Most of the commentary the last two years has been about Viney playing the rugby league style of trying to run through opponents, and instantly get pinged for holding the ball. If he's not doing that he's running through his teammates and having no awareness of his surroundings.

Playing on edge is him giving away stupid free kicks by being dumb about it. This is becoming a constant theme for him the past 2 years.

There's playing on edge, and there's being silly by not channelling that properly on the field.

Yep and we signed him up on big money  for an average player

For those suggesting 4 - 5 weeks there is no way Viney will receive more than 2 weeks. I reckon it's at least a 50/50 that it will be a fine, otherwise 1 - 2 weeks.

6 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Yep and we signed him up on ridiculous money for a very very average player

give it a rest fencey, he's not juice newton bad