9 minutes ago, Wadda We Sing said:

Trac is 8/1 2nd fav and Max is 29/1 (Ladbrokes) Martin fav at 4/1

I took Max at $51 before the season. Started ?

Without elevating this above all the other great plays and players that have been mentioned, how good were Hunty’s multiple highlights of running and gunning and delivering cleanly today.

What a great win and what a statement made today to the rest of the competition.

Hawthorn had nothing to lose and will always be a competitive beast while under Clarkson. But unlike previous years in similiar situations, the boys held their nerve and backed their belief in themselves and the style of football they want to play.

Today they showed what they can do when under pressure and under the duress of expectation! How they can grind out a really solid win!  

Im really proud of the boys! 

Edited by Commissioner Dreyfus

1 hour ago, SPC said:

Hawks fans are flogs.. close the thread 

Biggest sooks I've had the pleasure of sitting amongst for some time. Would've had 120 free kicks if their supporters were umpiring today

CARNA DEMONS!!! Great to put the foot down in the last and make it a resounding win when the Hawks players tired. They couldn't sustain the flood all game and the dam finally broke.

Landed at the Airport at 3/4 time. Asked my good man (taxi driver) to tune the radio to the football. Up by a goal, ..... had to tell him to slow down when we,hit one goal per mile!

Great win

Just back from the G.

Outstanding last 1/4 and a half.

Gawn, Hibberd, Lever and Salem were a class above.

Jordon needs a rest, looked at sea today and tired. Jones well off the pace, Spargo strangely quiet

We were smashed in the clearances until the last qtr and then the floodgates opened.

Such a great feeling.

Edited by jnrmac

1 hour ago, chook fowler said:

Even though Jackson isn’t tearing games apart he is holding his own in the ruck and getting plenty of ball. He is allowing Max to drift forward and back and is a big factor in Max having a stellar season.

LJ VERY good today indeed

1 hour ago, Clint Bizkit said:

I’d happily play B. Brown, Weideman, McDonald and Fritsch together.

Could almost work but with only two smalls creating pressure, they'd want to clunk absolutely everything that comes their way.

Also, where do you sit Jackson when not rucking? Jackson was excellent today.

1 minute ago, Cheesy D. Pun said:

Could almost work but with only two smalls creating pressure, they'd want to clunk absolutely everything that comes their way.

Also, where do you sit Jackson when not rucking? Jackson was excellent today.

To be honest, we don’t get all that much crumbing at the moment without lots of talls so would prefer to at least try it.

Jackson can go forward too (needs to clunk his marks) again what a huge headache for opposition defenders.

Things are going too well for us.   5-0 with a handful of guns to return in the next week or two.

Expect a Covid outbreak from hotel quarantine that completely derails the AFL season in a  year we are flag contenders.

Great fighting win. 5 nil playing Richmond MASSIVE game. Gawn and Lever superb especially when things weren't going our way.

GO DDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS.

5. Trent Rivers is not getting enough attention

There's plenty of love out there for Kysaiah Pickett, and fair enough given the Melbourne goalsneak's freakish abilities. And everyone knows how highly rated Luke Jackson is, with the key forward/ruck earmarked for great things for many years at the Demons. But the Dees have another young gun who is flying under the radar in their 5-0 start to the season: Trent Rivers. The West Australian talent had another excellent outing on Sunday in Melbourne's 50-point win over Hawthorn, with 21 disposals and an assured display. The Dees already can count on him to deliver under pressure and, in his just his second season at AFL level, Rivers has largely done it without much fanfare. That should be about to change. - Callum Twomey

https://www.afl.com.au/news/594553/nine-things-we-learned-the-saints-season-looks-shot

Hey a message to the media and journos. 

I know Nic Nat is exciting and has this freakish talent and grundy can get a lot of hitouts but our guy just wanted to remind you all he can play to. 

Today Maxy did it all. He was up forward kicking a beautiful goal, he had 10 marks, 26 disposals and 24 hitouts. 

He went down back to help out and just played all over the ground. It was the complete performance. 

ps. Yes his goal kicking does sometimes frustrate us but that 50m kick he out through was beautiful to watch. 

2 hours ago, norwood_demon said:

It depends on next week. But the last time Melbourne was 6-0 was 1965. That was the year Norm Smith was sacked after winning the Premiership in 1964, Ron Barassi had gone to Carlton, and the rest is all sad history ...

Same year that Richmond became co-tenants of the MCG. Time to take back our turf and assert the Demon era 

1 hour ago, Maldonboy38 said:

Not sure what the trigger was, or where the change came from, but very glad it did.

My guess, it was a William's stare down and challenge at half-time, to do it better.

1 hour ago, Nasher said:

Wasn’t that a typical Frost game? I mean that in a light-hearted banter way, not a bagging way. It had everything, his desperate best and... the rest. I actually felt a bit bad when he kicked the clanger straight to TMac, but I also 100% expected it. Completely to script.

Contrast that with Lever’s game. Just wow. Hard to fathom how far we’ve come in defence.

But one can’t help loving Frosty’s enthusiasm and endeavor - dashing off like a spooked gazelle who smelled a stalking lion. 

1 hour ago, Deesprate said:

Some of the comment about Melksham on this site are ridiculous. He a class player. Also dropping Jones one game out from 300 would be a disgrace. Heart and soul of club. 

Could he (Jones) possibly develop an annoy8ng 2 week muscle strain and need to be “managed”?

1 hour ago, chook fowler said:

Even though Jackson isn’t tearing games apart he is holding his own in the ruck and getting plenty of ball. He is allowing Max to drift forward and back and is a big factor in Max having a stellar season.

Jackson alone had (as back up ruck) more hit outs than all Hawks 

1 hour ago, Hardley Benial said:

We've finally produced the killer instinct that the top teams have. Grind the opposition into the ground in the last quarter.

This has been missing from our psyche for ages. It's a sign of great team confidence in the system.

Gawn, bludy-hell what a champion & leader

... and ever forget the fitness to run out games and run over opponents in Q4

My only change is Weideman comes in for Nathan Jones. Jones don't need to be given his 300th  fTFoi but weed deserves his game against the Tigers due  to his last game. Nates 30oth full game will come

1 hour ago, Nasher said:

Hibberd played at a level I thought was behind him today too. I’d almost forgotten how good his best footy was.

Credit to him. I wasn’t happy we dropped Jetta but Hibbo was superb. Has not lost any of his speed. 

25 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Goody sounded more confident on May than Fritsch.

To be fair May more important next week against Lynch and Reiwoldt, especially when Weid is ready to return and maybe even Ben Brown. 
Gonna be hard to beat Richmond without May. 

22 minutes ago, Clint Bizkit said:

To be honest, we don’t get all that much crumbing at the moment without lots of talls so would prefer to at least try it.

Jackson can go forward too (needs to clunk his marks) again what a huge headache for opposition defenders.

Crumbing is just a bonus.

It's a lack of pressure that worries me. Our whole game is based around forward pressure. Having Kozzy, Spargo and ANB in there is super important.

As an aside, I thought Toby Bedford was sensational in the VFL today and is ready to step up should we feel the need to rest one of the guys mentioned above.

23 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

Hey a message to the media and journos. 

I know Nic Nat is exciting and has this freakish talent and grundy can get a lot of hitouts but our guy just wanted to remind you all he can play to. 

Today Maxy did it all. He was up forward kicking a beautiful goal, he had 10 marks, 26 disposals and 24 hitouts. 

He went down back to help out and just played all over the ground. It was the complete performance. 

ps. Yes his goal kicking does sometimes frustrate us but that 50m kick he out through was beautiful to watch. 

You forgot to add his clearances today, more than some of our designated running midfielders. 

23 minutes ago, Kick_It_To_Pickett said:

Same year that Richmond became co-tenants of the MCG. Time to take back our turf and assert the Demon era 

I think you'll find we were about 8-0 in 1971 under Tiddles Ridley. In a fact I'm going to look it up now.