Posted
13 hours ago, Cheesy D. Pun said:

Yep. It annoys me that some are applauding that he has stepped up.

I've been a fan from year 1, but statistically, his improvement has been massive this year. He's laying 3 times as many tackles per game compared to last year (4.5 vs 1.5), which is probably his main KPI. The effort and competitiveness have always been there - no doubt he's benefitting from a couple of pre-seasons.

It's still such a novel concept seeing promising young footballers actually develop into consistent senior players at this club.

Posted

Has turned himself from Whipping Boy into the Human Cannonball. Becoming a favourite.

Posted

I love what Charlie is doing. Best pressure forward in the comp. Had an off day last week v the Hawks but was back to his brilliant best yesterday.

Posted

He isn’t flashy but he plays his role - I think one of the new draftees was being touted as replacing him just after the National draft. I found it laughable.

Guess who is laughing now? Well, I guess all of us, or none of us if that’s an odd thing to laugh about...

Posted

Spargo was matched up with Macintosh a lot last night - totally outsized and against a known running machine. Macintosh couldn’t take advantage. 

I think that speaks to the respect the coaching staff have for him, but also that after 3 full pre-seasons, he has the strength and endurance to start showing his full capabilities. He was both courageous and relentless, attributes that don’t show up on the stats sheet, but lift teammates and build a winning culture.

Posted

That tackles and Lever's first intercept mark which turned into a 50 metre settled us down when the tigers were well on top.

Don't care if Charlie isn't scoring if he's bringing that fight. Lock him in for next week.

Posted

I actually thought Charlie's most impressive defensive effort was in the first minute of the game in the backline. Richmond had kicked it to mackintosh and Spargo. Brayshaw had come in to help out but taken the whole pack out. Richmond had two other players closing in on the ball. Spargo was first to get up from the contest, pressured rioli who had to handball to broad and then straight away applied enough pressure to force Broad to go over the boundary. He effectively recovered first from a contest to half a 2 vs 1 and pretty much a certain goal. 

• Like 14
Posted

Short bloke with strong shoulders = low centre of gravity. Tackle master. Still the apprentice... but one more preseason will see him become one of those little c$#%s that frustrate the soul out of the oppo, like Libba......

Posted
2 minutes ago, Beetle said:

Best 6 possession game I reckon I’ve seen.

Agree. His best play was when he didn’t have the footy. Deserves his place in the team. 

Though Charlie has to bring this every week as the standard. 

Posted

Love how he goes about it. His tackling is so good, he's smart with the ball and also keeps his feet. Watch the contest I think in the fourth where we stream down the wing and he streams into our 50, makes a contest, keeps his feet and then is awarded a free and goal for high contact from. The second player. In that contest if he went to ground then the two players would have ran it out. It is this sort of example that is why he, Neal Bullen and Pickett are so important to us.

Posted

i wonder if he will eventually transition into the midfield, ala sam mitchell, or is a small forward now? maybe too small to be a mid? loved him last night. love how he stuck up for his teammates at times too. legend.

Posted
1 minute ago, Rocky said:

i wonder if he will eventually transition into the midfield, ala sam mitchell, or is a small forward now? maybe too small to be a mid? loved him last night. love how he stuck up for his teammates at times too. legend.

I feel like with Oliver, Petracca and Viney plus Jordan, Brayshaw and Pickett, add Sparrow to the mix too, there probably aren't too many opportunities for Spargo to step into the midfield. Buy I would expect him to rotate through there as one of the high half forward adjacent midfielders, like ANB does.

Posted

I love Charlie’s attack on the ball and any opponent that gets between him and the ball, it’s a tough gig being a small pressure forward. Luv your work young man. Go get em.!!!

Posted
5 hours ago, deanox said:

I feel like with Oliver, Petracca and Viney plus Jordan, Brayshaw and Pickett, add Sparrow to the mix too, there probably aren't too many opportunities for Spargo to step into the midfield. Buy I would expect him to rotate through there as one of the high half forward adjacent midfielders, like ANB does.

Spargo is the type that will rotate across half forward and the bench or be deployed as needed. 

Posted
5 hours ago, demonstone said:

?

Sorry mate, autocorrected to another great, but slightly better known, sportsman's name.

Posted

I’ve always rated Spargo and have tried to defend him over the last couple of years.  It became quite challenging at the back end of 2019 and start of 2020.

He’s always been a very ‘smart’ player, but he’s added a hardness to his game this year that has seen him really start to show what he is capable of at senior level.

He’s only going to get better too.