Posted (edited)
11 hours ago, Dr.D said:

I'm so sick of Angus Brayshaw and training reports. He hasn't put on much muscle tone in about 3 years and I don't know why he hasn't pushed harder to play as an inside mid. He seems very content with just being a so-so player on the outside. I sort of hope he secretly requests a trade to a club that gives him the opportunity.  Otherwise, what are we seriously doing here. 

Just an opinion but I strongly reckon this will happen, and have thought so for a while.

He's a strictly permanent inside midfield that should be taking at least 80% of the centre bounces, clearly plays his best footy there (per 2018) and the club is doing his career an injustice by  often playing him in a useless half forward/half back flank role or on the wing where he's too slow. 

Edited by Bring-Back-Powell

Posted
38 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Just an opinion but I strongly reckon this will happen, and have thought so for a while.

He's a strictly permanent inside midfield that should be taking at least 80% of the centre bounces, clearly plays his best footy there (per 2018) and the club is doing his career an injustice by  often playing him in a useless half forward flank role or on the wing where he's too slow. 

Plus he has currency. Plenty of teams are short inside mids, Carlton for example. He’s worth a late first early second rounder. I trust our recruitment team to convert a pick into a good player, perhaps a young key defender with an eye to May’s replacement?

Posted
16 minutes ago, Better days ahead said:

Plus he has currency. Plenty of teams are short inside mids, Carlton for example. He’s worth a late first early second rounder. I trust our recruitment team to convert a pick into a good player, perhaps a young key defender with an eye to May’s replacement?

Here's an idea.... How about we just play him as an inside mid where he finished 3rd in a brownlow. 

One of the more peculiar coaching decisions along with Harmes at half back. 

We definitely have an abundance of inside mids so I agree someone is likely to be traded. 

Posted
16 hours ago, Little Goffy said:

Screenshot_2021-02-17 Melbourne Demons Pictures and Photos - Getty Images(6).png

Screenshot_2021-02-17 Melbourne Demons Pictures and Photos - Getty Images(7).png

Can anyone explain why Angus Brayshaw is now permanently 23cm above the surface of the Earth?

Is this a product of new high altitude training or has he spent too much time on the low-G treadmill?

It's gonna mess with his GPS data for sure.

I have a mate who is good friends with his family. Apparently he has sourced unobtanium footy boot studs from Pandora ...(think floating mountains in Avatar)

Posted
2 hours ago, CYB said:

I have a mate who is good friends with his family. Apparently he has sourced unobtanium footy boot studs from Pandora ...(think floating mountains in Avatar)

So the soles aren't made out of flubber?

Posted
3 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

He's a strictly permanent inside midfield that should be taking at least 80% of the centre bounces, clearly plays his best footy there (per 2018) and the club is doing his career an injustice by  often playing him in a useless half forward/half back flank role or on the wing where he's too slow. 

I quite like having Brayshaw. I see him as a back up, if one of Petracca or Oliver requests a trade in the near future. As mentioned last year, Carlton and Essendon have shown strong interest in Oliver and will have another crack at him this year. Brayshaw may not be a star like the other two, but when playing as an inside mid he is very good. 

Posted
4 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Hear, hear! One of our most dangerous players from inside centre. 

Posted
5 hours ago, Tarax Club said:

Given the available evidence that may be a valid scientific insight. According Newton’s Third Law of Motion ‘For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction’  As he bestrode Earth he has created space for others hence Angus Air. Which may explain the praise of almost mythic proportion some posters ascribe to Comet Noir’s appearance at Casey Fields.

Majak it appears is a force of nature to be reckoned with. 

Ok sooo how did he train

Posted
2 hours ago, hardtack said:

So the soles aren't made out of flubber?

Showing age there hardtack

Posted
4 minutes ago, loges said:

Showing age there hardtack

Yes... but let's not forget there was a remake a few years ago (1996) with Eddie Murphy... god, it was [censored] terrible!

Posted
3 hours ago, forever demons said:

Ok sooo how did he train

67EE2775-082D-46D6-B6FC-73E719B48BEC.thumb.jpeg.a734a877a5c12fefd680303cf6ad4780.jpeg

Posted
12 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

Hopefully someone can get to training tomorrow.

Must time for an intra-club game in preparation for Richmond next week.

Hopefully I can get down again for another report! Cheers PF

• Thanks 4

Posted
4 hours ago, hardtack said:

Yes... but let's not forget there was a remake a few years ago (1996) with Eddie Murphy... god, it was [censored] terrible!

I thought that was in reference to the 1996 version and that was showing your age... 

Posted (edited)
On 2/17/2021 at 8:01 AM, dazzledavey36 said:

My god he is a specimen and a half...

We have to be careful using such words to describe the man, "specimen".

His race and colour, has and continues to be vilified.

I ask myself would a particular person want to be labelled with a particular word?

I suggest he would not like to be called a specimen, even though it was meant with the right intentions. 

The word has probably been used by the slavers and phrenologist, to described psuedo social/mental hierarchy, as well as others using it to be derogatorive or to dehumanise the person.

I hope you understand were I am coming from, given the Collingwood racial report and the on-going saga about social equity and racism.

We all need to talk and walk kindly with our "brothers and sisters" who have been more oppressed in this world.

I hope that I have not offended you, I just felt I needed to call it out!

Edited by kev martin

Posted
11 hours ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

It's very simple take the rugby player out put Sparrow in problem solved.

Posted

With this discussion about Gus I hope the coaches are looking at creative ways to shuffle the abundance of inside miss around the park. He was having a very poor year in 2020 until (I can’t remember who it was against) he was given the responsibility as one of our main clearance players. Suddenly he looked like the Gus of old. 

I didn’t want Viney to go and I’m glad he’s committed to being basically a demon for life, but we do have an imbalance when he and Oliver are there with Gus. With Harmes as well returning to the midfield group I would like to see Gus, Viney, and Harmes rotate on the HFF to be pressure mid/forwards and hopefully snag a couple of goals.

But I think a big key to Angus being in form is that he does long stints as an inside midfielder. 

Posted
8 minutes ago, Pates said:

With this discussion about Gus I hope the coaches are looking at creative ways to shuffle the abundance of inside miss around the park. He was having a very poor year in 2020 until (I can’t remember who it was against) he was given the responsibility as one of our main clearance players. Suddenly he looked like the Gus of old. 

I didn’t want Viney to go and I’m glad he’s committed to being basically a demon for life, but we do have an imbalance when he and Oliver are there with Gus. With Harmes as well returning to the midfield group I would like to see Gus, Viney, and Harmes rotate on the HFF to be pressure mid/forwards and hopefully snag a couple of goals.

But I think a big key to Angus being in form is that he does long stints as an inside midfielder. 

I personally think it's Viney who upsets our balance. Our midfield I thought looked its best since 2018 when Brayshaw went in and played full time during Viney's injury. 

Posted
1 hour ago, kev martin said:

I ask myself would a particular person want to be labelled with a particular word?

I suggest he would not like to be called a specimen, even though it was meant with the right intentions. 

The word has probably been used by the slavers and phrenologist, to described psuedo social/mental hierarchy, as well as others using it to be derogatorive or to dehumanise the person.

I hope you understand were I am coming from, given the Collingwood racial report and the on-going saga about social equity and racism.

We all need to talk and walk kindly with our "brothers and sisters" who have been more oppressed in this world.

Absolutely correct

Posted
1 hour ago, kev martin said:

None taken.

Didn't think of it like that. Coming from a pacific background that was born and bred overseas personally the word 'specimen' was always taken as a compliment or badge of honour due to our natural pacific build.

Different cultures to Majak obviously,  but can see your point.

Posted
2 hours ago, Cards13 said:

I thought that was in reference to the 1996 version and that was showing your age... 

Oriinal was 1961.

Posted
On 2/17/2021 at 4:15 PM, ManDee said:

We don't have him yet. He could train with us and be picked by someone else. I would think he would tell us if he received another offer though.

Well sign him up now!!!! He’s a better prospect than anyone else, both as a key forward or back but especially if anything  happens to Max