picket fence 18,184 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 Whether Braydon Pruess and Max can work in tandem? He suggested that Pruessy would always be behind Max and threw it out there that if so queried whether the club should / could entertain a trade if IF a Ruck Poor club came knocking and the deal was too good to refuse! He also was aware that he had a two year deal. Personally, I cannot see it happening but stranger things have happened! I for one have always believed that bot Max and Pruessy can play in same team. Interesting comments. 1 Quote
KLV 1,768 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 I heard this too, and while I don’t think we’ll trade him, it was nice to think, that for once, we brought in a player cheaply that could have a high trade value Quote
Rod Grinter Riot Squad 5,681 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 Believe Pruess has a 4 year deal, but am sure SEN would be correct..... Quote
Hampton 22 519 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 I’d like to have a few weeks with them both playing. Can’t be any worse than what we’ve seen from the team this year. 1 Quote
roy11 4,076 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 Trade him in a deal to North for Ben Brown lol. I like like Preuss, perfect situation to try them both in the same team now given TMAC is out. let Preuss EAT 1 Quote
ArtificialWisdom 4,045 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 Given Spargo is just about our best backup ruck option after Pruess I think it would take a top 5 pick to get me interested in a trade. 7 1 5 Quote
TGR 1,367 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 Cannot possibly play in the same team. Preuss is slow as a key forward. Max isn't super mobile as a KPP either. Only way it can happen is a Brodie Grundy and Darcy Moore (type). Unless we inflate his value, don't know why we did this. Must be traded this year. 1 Quote
Straight Sets Simon 23,113 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 They can play in the same team. 14 Quote
rjay 25,424 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 19 minutes ago, picket fence said: queried whether the club should / could entertain a trade if IF a Ruck Poor club came knocking If we traded Pruess we would then be the ruck poor club... As we may have noticed yesterday, a back up for Max is pretty important I would have thought. 9 Quote
sisso 2,627 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 its a quandary for sure...Preuss looks like he could be a decent no 1 ruckman but obviously he isn't going to play that role for us unless Max is injured. But if we trade him we have no one else in the event that Max is injured...can they both play in the same side? Seeing as finals are long gone now is surely the time to find out. 2 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,457 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 I think Preuss and Max will play really well together and suprise a lot of people. Jimmy and Strawbs worked very well... Both need to practice Goal Kicking. 2-3 a game can be the difference between a W and a L 5 Quote
beelzebub 23,392 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 And this is why i dont listen to SEN 3 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 Trade a player out a year after we traded him in? No chance. I don’t know if they can play together as we haven’t seen enough of it to know. The end of this horrible season is a good time to test it out. But unless Preuss can prove a good forward fixture, then my answer is sadly no. Robs us of too much run, and heaven forbid we are down on rotations like yesterday we are stuffed. Quote
DeeSpencer 26,675 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 1. There are no ruck poor clubs. Every club has a starting ruck as good as Preuss with the exceptions probably being Dogs and Freo who have young rucks who are good enough to play and have a far higher ceiling. Preuss might push for game time at some clubs but not to the extent that they are trading a top 40 pick for him. Adel - O'Brien (or Jacobs) Bris - Martin Carl - Kreuzer Coll - Grundy* Ess - Bellchambers Freo - Lobb/Darcy GWS - Mumford Geel - Stanley GC - Witts Haw - big boy North - Goldy Port - Lycett Richmond - Nankervis Sydney - Sinclair* St Kilda - Marshall WBulldogs - English WC - Nic Nat * the only homes I can think about: If Grundy were to leave the Pies which I think is very unlikely or if the Swans had desires on Sinclair as a forward which I also think would be silly. 2. We got Preuss for a reason. To fill a very important role as back up to Max so we have someone to bring in so Max doesn't have to play 22 games a year at 85% game time. Preuss is also a back up for the tall forwards which we're hopefully about to see. 3. Whether he can or can't play alongside Max doesn't really matter, the back up ruck is just as important if you're planning to be in finals contention. 3 1 Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 16 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said: I think Preuss and Max will play really well together and suprise a lot of people. Jimmy and Strawbs worked very well... Both need to practice Goal Kicking. 2-3 a game can be the difference between a W and a L Jimmy and Strawbs that was 1988. 3 Quote
La Dee-vina Comedia 17,137 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 15 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said: 1. There are no ruck poor clubs. Every club has a starting ruck as good as Preuss with the exceptions probably being Dogs and Freo who have young rucks who are good enough to play and have a far higher ceiling. Preuss might push for game time at some clubs but not to the extent that they are trading a top 40 pick for him. Adel - O'Brien (or Jacobs) Bris - Martin Carl - Kreuzer Coll - Grundy* Ess - Bellchambers Freo - Lobb/Darcy GWS - Mumford Geel - Stanley GC - Witts Haw - big boy North - Goldy Port - Lycett Richmond - Nankervis Sydney - Sinclair* St Kilda - Marshall WBulldogs - English WC - Nic Nat * the only homes I can think about: If Grundy were to leave the Pies which I think is very unlikely or if the Swans had desires on Sinclair as a forward which I also think would be silly. 2. We got Preuss for a reason. To fill a very important role as back up to Max so we have someone to bring in so Max doesn't have to play 22 games a year at 85% game time. Preuss is also a back up for the tall forwards which we're hopefully about to see. 3. Whether he can or can't play alongside Max doesn't really matter, the back up ruck is just as important if you're planning to be in finals contention. 4. To replace Gawn when he retires. 5 Quote
Redleg 42,156 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 40 minutes ago, TGR said: Cannot possibly play in the same team. Preuss is slow as a key forward. Max isn't super mobile as a KPP either. Only way it can happen is a Brodie Grundy and Darcy Moore (type). Unless we inflate his value, don't know why we did this. Must be traded this year. OMG. We have no one else and he was probably our second best player on sunday and you say he must go. Wow. 9 1 1 1 Quote
Wilbur 447 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 Very good Game from the big spruce Pruess yesterday. He made Kruezer look like a rookie on quite a few occasions and won their contest easily. He's not going anywhere. 2 1 Quote
TGR 1,367 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 5 minutes ago, Redleg said: OMG. We have no one else and he was probably our second best player on sunday and you say he must go. Wow. If we didn't have Gawn, I'd say the opposite. You obviously don't understand the fact that one really has to play FF 40% game time if both play in the same game. Preuss is too slow in defensive mode as KPP. If you can't work that out...Wow-wee. Quote
Ethan Tremblay 31,388 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 I may have interpreted the OP incorrectly but I thought it was referring to trading Gawn. Gawn’s contract is up at the end of 2021, so he has two years left which is the amount of time @picket fence refers to. @picket fence can you please clarify? 1 Quote
Lord Nev 13,512 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 You need more than 1 ruck on your list. That's why we got Preuss, and that's why neither he or Gawn (WTF!) will be traded. We're not going to start threads for every yobbo that dials up SEN are we? 3 Quote
Redleg 42,156 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 13 minutes ago, TGR said: If we didn't have Gawn, I'd say the opposite. You obviously don't understand the fact that one really has to play FF 40% game time if both play in the same game. Preuss is too slow in defensive mode as KPP. If you can't work that out...Wow-wee. But you want to get rid of the only viable fill in for Max if he goes down. I don't care if they both play in the same team or not, I care about not having any decent ruck replacement for Max. Double wow if you can't work that out. BTW, the guy who rucked to give Preuss a break on sunday is out for the year. Makes his position on the list even more important. 1 Quote
Return to Glory 8,518 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 I preferred it when SEN had Finey and Stephen J Peake. It was babble, sure, but at least it was occasionally funny babble. I'm pretty sure North Korea played half an hour of Kane Cornes to Alex Sigley. All it took. 1 4 Quote
picket fence 18,184 Posted July 8, 2019 Author Posted July 8, 2019 3 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said: I may have interpreted the OP incorrectly but I thought it was referring to trading Gawn. Gawn’s contract is up at the end of 2021, so he has two years left which is the amount of time @picket fence refers to. @picket fence can you please clarify? Gday Ethan the way I heard it SEN believe he is signed till end 2020? Others might know more. FWIW I reckon we can and should play both for the rest of this year and beyond! Pruess played a Crackin Game yesterday! Quote
Diamond_Jim 12,772 Posted July 8, 2019 Posted July 8, 2019 2 minutes ago, picket fence said: Gday Ethan the way I heard it SEN believe he is signed till end 2020? Others might know more. FWIW I reckon we can and should play both for the rest of this year and beyond! Pruess played a Crackin Game yesterday! According to our "never wrong" contracts thread.. signed until end of 2021 Quote