Posted
4 minutes ago, Red and Blue realist said:

He's played 1 good game this year, followed up by a terrible game. Given he's 28 and out of contract means he has to make every post a winner and he was really terrible yesterday. I'd prefer Preuss because we need to see what he can do, and I'd be leaving Weid in because he got a longer career with us. 

Fair view mate.

Would you agree though that we couldn't have Weids, T-Mac and preuss in the same forward line though?

Posted
1 hour ago, Lord Nev said:

I get where you're coming from with JKH, but my reasoning is this:

- The season is done. He's out of contract and has form so it's worth giving him the same chance now that Hannan and ANB have had over the last month (seeing he's earned it with VFL performance).

- Still have to reward form and hunger. He had a ripper game for Casey, really wanted it, and when you compare that to a lot of our mids at senior level yesterday that at least would be an upgrade in attitude and effort.

Probably fair comment on Smith. I do like his effort generally, just think we need to adjust our balance of talls at either end somehow.

I'm actually exactly the same about Preuss. I've resisted calling for him to come in due to his lack of a tank, but at the very least Max will be sore (he could very well miss) so it seems a good time to bring him in for another taste. If we adjust that balance of smalls then we can hopefully minimize the impact of his lack of run in the second half.

My main problem with yesterday was hunger and intent. The second half was as bad as I've seen in a long time in that regard, and I just fell like a bit of a wake up call for some of the 'cruisers' could be helpful.

?

Posted
9 minutes ago, ErmieJones said:

Fair view mate.

Would you agree though that we couldn't have Weids, T-Mac and preuss in the same forward line though?

Yeah 100%. Even in a team with good delivery inside 50 that would be messy, so for us it could be horrible.

Posted
19 minutes ago, ErmieJones said:

Interesting take, I respectfully disagree. However I completely get what your saying. I'm happy for them to keep tinkering with the forward line until they find something that works. interested to see what they do. Preuss might even have to come in for Gawn depending on his ankle.

Yeah, look I'm not super attached to the changes I listed, pretty open about it this week. As long as we're trying something different then I'm happy.

Posted
40 minutes ago, ErmieJones said:

Fair view mate.

Disagree with this as we don't have any decent small medium size forwards.  You have a giant of a man that is strong and aggressive leave him inside the forward 25m, if you are kicking long like we are you need someone to kick to.  Weiderman and McDonald work from 25m out up to the back half and run up and back.

The main issue is our small forwards, we play an extra mid around the ball so we always play 1 forward short, that forward pushing up doesn't work to get front and square up forward so it is always an out number once it hits the ground, then you have 3 forwards jumping at the same ball against 1-2 defenders leaves us 2-3 short one ground.

Posted

Lever (if fit) for Petty. JKH for Hannan. Dunkley for ANB.

Pruess only if Gawn doesn't get up. 

JKH needs one last shot to prove he can make it. He's only getting this chance because we're [censored]. If we were in the 8 his career would be over. But give him a month and just see if we can get a Jetta-like 1 last chance miracle.

I'd like to see Dunkley get a run. I'm happy to keep ANB on the list for next year but I want to see them try something different for now. We can carry ANB as a depth player when we play well but we need a better option.

Bonus for a structure change:

J. Wagner for Smith. 

Wagner to play down back. Viney to play as a forward and Salem to go into the middle. Salem is a star, his step up this year has been one of the few silver linings. We need him around the ball as much as possible. 

Posted

Jeffy probably wouldn’t have made a difference yesterday but at least he knows how to shark a ball off a pack. Find the next best thing and play them. Chandler and Bedford not ready? Spargo is the other option, noticed he didn’t get much ball for Casey but had 10 tackles. The lack of crumbing yesterday was unbelievable. Ball hits deck, Lions players having a raffle to pick it up. 

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, ErmieJones said:

Fair view mate.

Depends on Gawn's fitness, if he pulls up Ok, I still can't see him being 100%, so they might try and play him more forward, TMac's running has returned to close to what he can do so send him out to do the kind of role Melksham normally does. However, if they try and play Preuss as a 80% forward then I agree we would be too big with all 3. 

Edited by Red and Blue realist

Posted

When Tim Smith marked the ball on 50m line and tried to pass that ball in the third quarter to a player no closer to goal rather than go back and have a shot, I reckon he earned himself a week off. I’d have Pruess in for Bull and play him out of the goal square with Weid and TMac playing further up the ground.

Posted

Max Gawn was on crutches this morning and was going in for a scan. In doubt for this weekend.

Brayden Pruess will play this week by the sounds of it.

Posted

Anyone like to see May a CHF for a game or two?

Posted (edited)

Has anyone considered that the coaching staff whilst saying we are still going hard are in fact working towards next year already. This mornings analysts were surprised we went head to head with Brisbane with the run and gun. It looked good and for a half and we moved the ball well, played a good short game and according to Zorko was NOT what they expected from us. It was bruise free footy with minimal tackles and lots of turnovers. They adjusted their game at half time and we didn't resulting in us getting belted in the second half. Consider that the coaches were trying something different and stuck to it all game in contrast to the long kicking game we have tried unsuccessfully.

Petty was left on Hipwood and Zorko, Lyons and Neale were left running riot. Our most experienced mid Jones who was playing well was never moved into the centre. Harmes, Brayshaw, Clarry, Viney and at times Trac got their pants pulled down. Even the coach admitted to this and pretty much said he left Viney on Neale all day and lowered his colours.

For Lewis to be promoted it would be for a farewell game, Preuss to cover Max and JKH only if he was getting a contract extension. Petty is interesting as he can take a mark but turns the ball over a lot and hasn't quite adjusted to the pace of senior footy. Play him to get games into him but be careful not to destroy his confidence as I note the opposition play through him and his current opponent . 

WE badly miss Melksham (our most polished mid) Jetta ( best small back) and Lever. I don't see anyone at Casey belting the door down for a game. As for playing kids we already have 3 first year players in the team, Petty in his 2nd year with 6 game and Bull Smith with only 11 games in his time. There was a big investment in youth with Jordan, Chandler, Sparrow, Lockhart and Dunkley coming in this season

Edited by Older demon
Posted
1 hour ago, In Harmes Way said:

When Tim Smith marked the ball on 50m line and tried to pass that ball in the third quarter to a player no closer to goal rather than go back and have a shot, I reckon he earned himself a week off. I’d have Pruess in for Bull and play him out of the goal square with Weid and TMac playing further up the ground.

That was near us and I was yelling 'have a shot' but no he goes sideways and misses target.We have to many players that are soft, weak and no brains. Need someone to be responsible when a key moment comes up and take control of the situation. Also why didn't one of our senior players go to him,settle him down and instruct to shoot for goal. Happens to often.

Posted

Weideman will not be dropped. He is learning his craft. Last week we were lauding him for competing as a tall fwd. Yesterday TMac was our ruckman for half the game, so he cannot be everywhere.

Lockart is developing as a smallish fwd. He has the hunger and a lot of times the skills. Oscar Baker is still learning the pace of the game. Only the real good blokes get away with the "shimmying".

Petty is learning 

Preuss is a backup ruckman. He is NOT a GAWN before we criticise him to death by putting hime up as the next JC.

Posted
2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Max Gawn was on crutches this morning and was going in for a scan. In doubt for this weekend.

Even just by how much it rolled he will need all the strapping in the world + injections to play which clearly won’t be at 100%

Posted

Preuss for Gawn - we got Preuss so we can afford to give Max a break when he’s not 100%. Time to do it.

JKH for Hannan

Lever for Petty 

Dunkley for ANB 

FB: Hibberd  May  Frost

HB: Hore  Lever  Salem

C; Fritsch  Oliver Baker

HF: Lockhart T Mc Petracca

FF: Smith  Weid  Hunt

Foll: Preuss  Harmes Viney

Int: Jones, JKH, Dunkley, Brayshaw

Use JKH, Dunkley and Brayshaw all heavily through the midfield and forward line so we have a heap of rotations. We need fresh legs and to look at multiple guys in different positions. Same thing goes for the rucks without Gawn.

Posted
2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Y did they send him back on? Smacks of potentially another  Joel Smith blunder.

Posted
1 hour ago, Older demon said:

Has anyone considered that the coaching staff whilst saying we are still going hard are in fact working towards next year already. This mornings analysts were surprised we went head to head with Brisbane with the run and gun. It looked good and for a half and we moved the ball well, played a good short game and according to Zorko was NOT what they expected from us. It was bruise free footy with minimal tackles and lots of turnovers. They adjusted their game at half time and we didn't resulting in us getting belted in the second half. Consider that the coaches were trying something different and stuck to it all game in contrast to the long kicking game we have tried unsuccessfully.

I really hope that is not the case, because Brisbane's woeful kicking for goal was the main reason we were still in the game at half time. We got smashed in the clearances all day, particularly from the centre bounce, and had far too many useless handpasses. If that is in any way what we have to look forward to next year, it is going to be another miserable season.

Posted

Petty looks lost at AFL level. i have tried to keep an open mind as some on here rate him, but he panics with the ball in hand.

Give Gawn a rest if he needs it.

PETTY GAWN - OUT

PRUESS JKH - IN

Posted
1 hour ago, FireInTheBelly said:

Is it possible for TMac to play the ANB role? Season's done, is it worth a try to see what happens? Could he be any worse?

I like the idea of TMac playing the Adelaide Lynch type linking key but while ANB is no Rioli type with his agility, Tom turns like an 18 wheeler. You need more agility to put ANB level of pressure. 

Posted

I know with our track record let’s play Max who imo isn’t 100% and let him get injured properly then we can get Preuss into the seniors. 

It would be the melb way. 

Posted

If Gawn is anything less than 100% he should be rested for Preuss.

If Gawn is 100% then Preuss can be considered as a replacement for one of TMac, T Smith and Weideman. One game of 3.3 from T Smith is not enough for a very limited 28-year old player.

Lever for Petty is an improvement. Replacing ANB and Hannan is a possibility too; personally I'd only do one, particularly if we're already bringing in Preuss and Lever.