Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, John Demonic said:

Are you welcome at your old workplace to turn up and just assume you have a role?

Despite this rock solid analogy, a player returning to their original club in an official (or even unofficial) role happens regularly in AFL. 

Edited by Mel Bourne

Posted
8 hours ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Lewis on Retirement

“I’m going to leave the game at the end of the year feeling really fulfilled in what I’ve achieved".

He seems happy to finish in the the VFL.  He will keep teaching the young guys.  He seems genuine in this: 

“We’re going through a bit of a tough period at the moment, so I need to be there support these young kids and hopefully prolong their careers and make sure they understand the learnings you can get through the bad times can obviously help during the good times as well.”

I'm very happy he came to the Dees.  He has taught our players a lot.  He kept them hungry after the first final last year.  They have a better understaning of how to be a professional player.

He may get to play off against his best mate Roughy, in the VFL.  One to watch!

I think part of his legacy will be his hard nosed, uncompromising, win at all costs mentality. 

That mentality is no doubt a factor in some of his abrasive behaviors over the years. And his inability to perform at the level he would like to no doubt bangs up against that mentality. 

But I for one am glad the young players at the dees have had the chance to play and train with someone with that mentality who has the record to back it up.

Great if he does some mentoring for the rest of his time at the dees

Posted
1 hour ago, bing181 said:

Of course you don't.

Frost is top 5 B&F this year at Melbourne.

You had 70% of Demonland simpletons wanted him banished to Casey 2nds, and David King called him 'premiership dynamite' one to two months ago.

Where did Ryan Burton finish at Hawthorn B&F last year?  Clarko traded him.

Posted (edited)
5 hours ago, TGR said:

You play every game as a senior player, it aint hard to poll well with that system of voting.

If 2nd in the B&F in 2016 was such an achievement, why did Clarko show him the door right after he accepted his trophy?

Lewis might get top 10 for us this year.

Never rated B&Fs.  Never will.

TIL (Today I Learned) Clarko showed Lewis the door by offeringg him a 1 year deal and telling him if he wanted longer he should explore other options. He didn't see the writing on the wall when he performed badly in their Bulldogs semi final. he offered him 1 more year. It was the non-offer of the Hawthorn captaincy that had Lewis slamming the door on his way out. And the week before the semi in 2016, Jordan was BOG with 40 disposals and 153 AF points against Geelong. You don't show someone the door after a performance like that, you're trying to re-write history.

You don't rate B&F's? How about grand finals?

2015 GF: 26 disp, 9 marks. 7 clearance. 114 AF points. 2nd highest
2014 GF: 37 disp, 8 marks, 139 AF points. 3rd highest
2013 GF 26 disp, 11 marks, 111 AF points, 1st highest
2012 GF: 20 disp, 1 mark, 86 AF points, 5th highest

2008 GF: 30disp, 7 mark, 93 AF points, 6th highest (22 years old)

Lewis is the exact kind of player we needed to bring in for premiership experience, leadership, and to get that 1 year that Clarko thought he had left AND the extra 2 years to lure him to make the move. We all knew he'd slow down in his 2nd year. Making the prelim and expecting May & Lever to make a difference that would provide him the padding to sit back and provide us with disposal out of defence, was our big  error this year. If only May had not come back unfit.

Edited by John Demonic

Posted
54 minutes ago, John Demonic said:

TIL (Today I Learned) Clarko showed Lewis the door by offeringg him a 1 year deal and telling him if he wanted longer he should explore other options. He didn't see the writing on the wall when he performed badly in their Bulldogs semi final. he offered him 1 more year. It was the non-offer of the Hawthorn captaincy that had Lewis slamming the door on his way out. And the week before the semi in 2016, Jordan was BOG with 40 disposals and 153 AF points against Geelong. You don't show someone the door after a performance like that, you're trying to re-write history.

You don't rate B&F's? How about grand finals?

2015 GF: 26 disp, 9 marks. 7 clearance. 114 AF points. 2nd highest
2014 GF: 37 disp, 8 marks, 139 AF points. 3rd highest
2013 GF 26 disp, 11 marks, 111 AF points, 1st highest
2012 GF: 20 disp, 1 mark, 86 AF points, 5th highest

2008 GF: 30disp, 7 mark, 93 AF points, 6th highest (22 years old)

Lewis is the exact kind of player we needed to bring in for premiership experience, leadership, and to get that 1 year that Clarko thought he had left AND the extra 2 years to lure him to make the move. We all knew he'd slow down in his 2nd year. Making the prelim and expecting May & Lever to make a difference that would provide him the padding to sit back and provide us with disposal out of defence, was our big  error this year. If only May had not come back unfit.

The other side of this coin,  as we are still building this club and list,  is you cannot throw big money at our young players Prematrturely.   You pay them what they have deserved.

Over pay them for little,  and you end up with the situation like Trac or Wattshisface.

Now Lewis has earned his playing coach role and payments...  and holds a  %  of our salary cap in a good place for the club...  as it wants to recruit others along the journey.  This year will allow us more cap space with Lew finishing,  to use on hopefully a Big Free-Agency  name ???    my hopes anyway.

Posted
4 hours ago, TGR said:

Where did Ryan Burton finish at Hawthorn B&F last year?  Clarko traded him.

What did he get in return and how has that worked out? Doesn’t make it correct in making that call. 

Posted

Leader or not Lewis has good footy experience and a good brain for the game. His experience has contributed to the current group

As the saying goes "father time is undefeated". Lewis can't defeat father time, the game is now passed him by physically. Mentally he still has lots to offer.

I wish him well.

• 1 month later...

Posted
1 minute ago, Leoncelli_36 said:

If he goes, we need to get someone with experience in from a successful side.

We are interested in Isaac Smith

Posted
1 minute ago, Leoncelli_36 said:

Agree. We will severely lack 'directional leadership' both on and off field.

I have hopes May and Lever can provide that at the defensive end, but we will lack it anywhere forward of that.

Posted
1 minute ago, Lord Nev said:

Agree. We will severely lack 'directional leadership' both on and off field.

I have hopes May and Lever can provide that at the defensive end, but we will lack it anywhere forward of that.

Agreed. i would almost say Lewis as a forward offers us more value than Nathan Jones as a rotation, though i wouldn't support chopping Nathan Jones given what he's done for the club. 

Posted
3 hours ago, Lord Nev said:

Official announcement on this coming very soon.

3 hours ago, Leoncelli_36 said:

I just hope like hell he's interested in staying around in some kind of mentoring, development, coaching type role

Posted
8 hours ago, rolling fog said:

I just hope like hell he's interested in staying around in some kind of mentoring, development, coaching type role

I agree wholeheartedly. A role as mentor to teach habits and work ethics to win games,  finals even,  could not hurt and cost stuff all !!

Posted

Was such a huge part of our rise* from the mire. 

Leadership's a dirty word on 'land, but for a time we were building it. Felt like a destination club for a minute.

*Edit - short lived.

Posted

Ironically i think he is playing ok at the moment and is smart enough to have demanded the footy up fwd, sucked a couple in and generally going ok. Should play on Houli this weekend.

Posted

Great having Jordan at the Club. It will be interesting as for mine he knows more about footy, teaching and leadership than Goody. Will Goody want him around?

Posted
1 minute ago, whatwhatsaywhat said:

i can't fathom the valuation that the media seems to be putting on him as a second round pick

fourth rounder...at best

I'd rather give up more for Hill and/or Langdon.

Or is Smith a FA?

Still, at 31 we should not top up his super for 1 year + maybe a 2nd year at Casey. At least Lewis gave us about 2.5 years, albeit of arguable quality

Posted
3 hours ago, Demon3 said:

Ironically i think he is playing ok at the moment and is smart enough to have demanded the footy up fwd, sucked a couple in and generally going ok. Should play on Houli this weekend.

After the last couple of weeks I reckon he'll go to Grimes, he's been good at keeping McGovern and Carlise accountable and stopping them from getting too many intercept opportunities. Quiet remarkable that he's being doing these sort of roles at this point in his career. I also get the feeling it might be his last game Saturday night, one last dance under the bright lights at the G then settles into a coaching role.