TeamPlayedFine39 8,525 Posted May 22, 2019 Posted May 22, 2019 Beautiful and deeply moving speech and video. Very keen to see Baker do well. 1 Quote
What 18,810 Posted May 22, 2019 Posted May 22, 2019 (edited) Sign up Mr Baker to the coaching staff. What a legend. Oskar is made of he right stuff, cant wait to see him dominating at AFL level. Edited May 22, 2019 by Petraccattack 1 Quote
spirit of norm smith 16,681 Posted May 22, 2019 Posted May 22, 2019 It must be a special moment to make your AFL debut. But Oskar’s story to fulfill his promise to his mum is something very very special. His fathers speech was so emotional. Good luck OB. You are a great young man. 2 Quote
Pates 9,697 Posted May 22, 2019 Posted May 22, 2019 Heartbreaking to hear but also inspirational, I really hope he nails his first AFL goal at the G this week. I reckon the boys will get right around him. Quote
KingDingAling 3,758 Posted May 22, 2019 Posted May 22, 2019 The kid looks good, sharp. Could be a player. He is exactly what we need right about now, so long as he can use the ball well, he will automatically be invaluable for us. Quote
chook fowler 19,783 Posted May 22, 2019 Posted May 22, 2019 Anyone else think that Oskars’ dad looks like our beloved PJ? 1 Quote
DubDee 26,716 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 The response to this video by all but especially non-MFC fans has been amazing. I might sound crazy, but he has the look of a young Acker about him. Not saying he has that immense talent but he has some. and a bit of swagger. critical to give him a couple of games now he should feel comfortable to show what he can do. debut in perth against WC as premiers is the toughest debut you can get 1 Quote
Ethan Tremblay 31,392 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 [censored] I have something in my eye. 1 1 Quote
Redleg 42,184 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 Robbo showed it on 360 and said he was really moved when he first saw it and then again when it was shown last night. We all tend to forget in our passion for the club and winning, that these guys have lives away from footy and that events outside of the game can clearly impact on their performance. Good luck to Oskar and hope he has a long career with us. 1 Quote
DV8 2,271 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 2 hours ago, DubDee said: The response to this video by all but especially non-MFC fans has been amazing. I might sound crazy, but he has the look of a young Acker about him. Not saying he has that immense talent but he has some. and a bit of swagger. critical to give him a couple of games now he should feel comfortable to show what he can do. debut in perth against WC as premiers is the toughest debut you can get em', thats what I was thinking to, 'DD'. ... by the way, his son looks like Acker as well. ? Quote
jane02 3,797 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 Have to love a kid who loves his mum so much. I’m sure she would be very proud. Quote
Engorged Onion 10,226 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 how's the serendipity of the timing of his debut 1 Quote
DEE fence 5,058 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 On the mark will be calling... but seriously was moved to tears like many. I liked that his second touch in the game was a costly booboo but he didn't stop trying. Quote
Demonsone 2,056 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 Perspective in life...well done by the club but even more so by the Baker family in sharing this! Quote
DeezNuts 624 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 If he bases his future game on Isaac Smith, then we’re set for a keeper! what an amazing insight we were provided. He was great last weekend for a rookie, and showed a whole lot of promise! however, the question I have is: how great is it to see some super-mature young lads in our team that are deeply focussed on issues that are not on themselve?! oskar has life perspective, and in many ways, he’s leaps and bounds ahead of many of the lads on our 22 list... good luck bro!!! (Oh and your dad is a champ!!!) 3 Quote
ProperDee 1,698 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 4 hours ago, DeezNuts said: however, the question I have is: how great is it to see some super-mature young lads in our team that are deeply focussed on issues that are not on themselve?! Looking at you Number 5. 1 Quote
Nasher 33,686 Posted May 23, 2019 Posted May 23, 2019 1 hour ago, ProperDee said: Looking at you Number 5. I applaud your creativity in finding a way to use an overwhelmingly positive thread about another player to pot Petracca for no reason. Well done ? ? 5 1 Quote
DeezNuts 624 Posted May 24, 2019 Posted May 24, 2019 9 hours ago, Nasher said: I applaud your creativity in finding a way to use an overwhelmingly positive thread about another player to pot Petracca for no reason. Well done ? ? It’s my fault, I set him up for that one, apologies.. Quote
ProperDee 1,698 Posted May 25, 2019 Posted May 25, 2019 On 5/24/2019 at 7:00 AM, Nasher said: I applaud your creativity in finding a way to use an overwhelmingly positive thread about another player to pot Petracca for no reason. Well done ? ? Thanks mate. You are indeed most welcome. Appreciate your support. ?? 1 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,378 Posted May 26, 2019 Posted May 26, 2019 Loved his game. And used the ball really well. With finals put of the occasion, i would just play him for the rest of the year. Development time. 2 Quote