Posted

Think I would change the bath water for a start !!  get something stronger

Posted

And the team balance was a mess. I posted as much before the game.

We lack outside run and class, yet we go in with 3x key defenders in the wet. It actually boggles the mind.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Ungarie boy said:

Hunt is not accountable Hibberd is slow and out of form, Jetta is getting beaten. Then to go with 3 talls on a wet night - idiotic. Jeez we miss Lewis. 

Hibbo is off form, Jetta as well. 

And I also agree that OMc should not have played in the conditions,  but we needed Keilty in for him.   Keilty to play forward in tandem with Weide, and help Max on the ball... and TMc to play high, up around the arcs.

We need TMc's marking in the midzone.  and we are missing Lewis.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Forest Demon said:

I know it's tongue in cheek, but it's a cop out. We put up a very similar performance against Hawthorn last year.

To me, the scary thing is that we haven't shown any improvement in our weakest area. Our reliance on battering teams around the ball is unsustainable week in, week out, and we have don't have the class to win games when that doesn't happen.

This.

Seeing Collingwood totally dismember Richmond by playing a highly-skilful tempo style of footy (when they are capable of running and gunning) made me very jealous.

Posted
8 minutes ago, Forest Demon said:

I know it's tongue in cheek, but it's a cop out. We put up a very similar performance against Hawthorn last year.

To me, the scary thing is that we haven't shown any improvement in our weakest area. Our reliance on battering teams around the ball is unsustainable week in, week out, and we have don't have the class to win games when that doesn't happen.

Also early in the year and in the rain.

Posted (edited)
16 minutes ago, The Swimming Dee said:

Agree 100% DV8. I still have faith he can be a really good footballer for us. He looks as though he is so restrained, and trying to do everything perfectly. Needs to do the simple stuff more often

He has got an attack of children's mental conservative-ness.  Kids suffer like this and some adults.  I have some friends that are still afraid of the dark.

Or rather he hasn't grown up yet and decided he Will become a man, yet.

He is currently a slave to his inner fears...   he needs to let them loose, cast them away.  and just not care anymore of his fears !

... and just go out and play loose and hard. On-Filed tho.   Rediscover the fun, and work his Fffffin arze off,  for the side.    like he's never worked before.   He does tend to be a tad lazy, easily satisfied.

Edited by DV8
Posted
32 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

In -     Petty,  Keilty,  C. Wagner, Baker

Out -  Petracca, Hunt, Frost, Sparrow

ANB lucky.

Frost I thought was good tonight ANB DREADFUL!!

Posted
19 minutes ago, The Swimming Dee said:

Agree 100% DV8. I still have faith he can be a really good footballer for us. He looks as though he is so restrained, and trying to do everything perfectly. Needs to do the simple stuff more often

That's right...  last year they told him halfway thru,  to just go out and work hard on the defensive things,  and the rest will come.  I have a feeling he is very hard on himself. Which is not a good attitude.

Just work hard Tracca...   play him in the back half at Casey,  and run some hard work and fitness into him.   He should be a R/Rover,  not a flanker.   So IF he plays off half-back at Casey,  he can learn to be responsible,  and run, run, run,  and use his sights and skills to set up some plays for us.

Then slowly bring him forward from there,  running him thru the middle with Casey,  and get him fitter and lighter.   So he can run. really run.

Posted
2 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Frost I thought was good tonight ANB DREADFUL!!

He's another Russell Richards.

Posted

Match committee needs to make a early statement in my opinion. Whilst we won inside 50's by heaps the level of good disposals into the forwards was again poor BUT players like Weid need a lesson and dropped to two's to learn to work again. Some of his efforts were pathetic. He has only played one outstanding game in his career to date and rest ordinary. Needs to learn to work harder. Hibberd was again poor. For a bloke that once was a excellent defender who found a team mate nearly every time he now just's bombs the ball away. Our longest servant in Jones also needs a break and get some form in two's. Even when he gets the ball he just throws it on boot in hope. Trac also needs to go and find form at Casey. To much of a pretty boy for me. Won't even comment on Oscar as after numerous VB's and red wine I may just go over the top. He has no idea and can't play footy at all.

No doubt Goody will only make a couple of changes but I hope the players realise it will not just happen and they all need to work hard and follow the likes of Oliver, Brayshaw and tonight, Viney.

Posted
1 hour ago, chook fowler said:

Stretch is a certainty and Keilty to debut and Bull Smith. 

If Goodwin has any guts he’ll drop Petracca and Jones. Hunt and ANB also nowhere near good enough and Frost is a lost cause.Sparrow is not ready. 

God, we're so bad Stretch actually seems like a viable in. FMD.

I highly doubt Goodwin has the balls to drop both Petracca and Jones. IMO Jones more likely to go, but that could backfire.

Goodwin is now facing a challenge of Dean Bailey caliber. We are badly missing leadership, getting soundly beaten up by teams with leadership. We were a bouncy and energetic young team that got the best of grandpas in the finals but tonight was another wake up call. Dropping Jones may prompt a revolt.

We just have too many players out of form to make any changes reasonably constructive. Does Stretch for Jones make us better? Who replaces Petracca? Is anyone coming in for Fritsch or ANB going to reasonably improve our scoring capacity?

The only logical drop I can see is one of OMAC or Frost. Going in with both against Essendon's forward line is absolute suicide.

Posted

could be an ugly friday night btw two 0-2 teams! 

peptides are quick - can't hit a target to save themselves thus far in 2019, but quick on the outside

no idea what to do with team changes, but at the moment we have at least half a dozen ostensible top ten players severely out of form - jones, petracca, anb, hibberd, jetta - who are all, more or less, integral to our side as they bring a experience and mid depth, mid-sized forward target / rotation mid, small pressure forward, half back rebound, defensive stopper

can't drop all of em but you'd think trac and anb would be on a knife's edge

i still don't understand recruiting a bloke and then not playing him, but i would presume given the casey report that keilty is more likely to come in than preuss at this stage - his recruitment is a bit baffling at the moment 

peptides have a small, zippy, dynamic forward line so there's no point playing o mac and frost alongside may, presuming he's right to play (was very proppy), so one of them goes - i prefer o mac as a footballer, but we need frost's pace

you can't have both frost and hunt in the back half of the ground, as they're absolute liabilities, so either hunt plays forward, replacing anb's role, or he gets dropped

forward line was completely dysfunctional tonight so something needs to change

sparrow needs a run at a lower level to get his hands on the pill

IN: Stretch, C Wagner, Keilty
OUT: O Mac, ANB, Sparrow

B: Jetta - May - Hibberd
HB: Salem - Frost - Fritsch
? Jones - Viney - Brayshaw
HF: Petracca - T Mac - Melksham
F: Keilty - Weideman - Hunt
Foll: Gawn - Oliver - Harmes
I/c: Stretch - Kolodjashnij - C Wagner - Lockhart
Emerg: Spargo - Preuss - ANB - Sparrow

unavailable thru injury: lewis, lever, avb, garlett, j smith, whatever player comes down with a mystery injury of the week

Posted

Dropping Jones? FFS Are people stupid enough to think an AFL captain will be dropped!? [censored] wake up to yourselves, never has that been done in the history of AFL.

I have been asking this question since last year, but what on earth does ANB actually add to this side?? It is a complete joke Wagner was dropped ahead of this spud.

Our depth is being tested right about now and i feel we are a Brayshaw or Oliver injury away from being a bottom 6 side.

Posted

So dropping Jones wont happen because he's captain......that makes a lot of sense. If he was a respected leader & one who has the clubs best interests at heart, he would (like Watts did) asked to be dropped so he could gain some fitness & form....simples! He would gain far more respect for doing that! Bad form is bad form no matter who you are & will be interesting to see how big Goodwin's plums are this week.

Some have said to leave KK  in & let him find some form, fitness & confidence.....I actually agree but what about the the 2 first gamers that were dropped last week  & who's confidence has been shattered to pieces.

Yeah stuff them.....lets keep playing blokes that are unfit & out of form........now that makes sense!

out: blokes that cant find the footy 

in: blokes that can find the footy & blokes that can run

Posted

I heard that May is out for a week or 2 so T.McDonald to go down back and Keilty to go forward. Hunt out for J.Wagner as well. Had enough of Hunt he's finished at Melbourne.

Posted
5 minutes ago, WERRIDEE said:

I heard that May is out for a week or 2 so T.McDonald to go down back and Keilty to go forward. Hunt out for J.Wagner as well. Had enough of Hunt he's finished at Melbourne.

FLOP ! 

Posted

Predicted the Port and Geelong losses weeks ago, and said we would have a big win in Round 3 vs the Druggos to get things rolling.

The bad part of the season is done with.  Its all sunshine from here.

• Haha 5

Posted (edited)
23 minutes ago, WERRIDEE said:

Hunt isn't finished at Melbourne. We need his run. We need his run out of our backline, as he was good last week at times. Why did he look so ordinary tonight (among many?). Because we had no structure or game plan running the ball out of our backline. When Hunt looks good its when he has space. How do we get him space? Get the ball in the hands of Salem who can find him space. Tonight Salem locked down Ablett early and we had rushed players like Hibberd and rusty players like May kicking out. So you say Hunt is finished at Melbourne, but take him out and we still lack run, and its not Jayden Hunt's fault that he isn't getting that space.

So you want to move Keilty up forward? Based on what? Its speculative and desperate. Tom McDonald has actually shown something up forward. Keep him there. He isn't our problem. Our problem is our lack of effective disposal inside forward 50. If Tom McDonald had clean disposal coming into him he'd be kicking straight and there would be no problem. MFC have a big problem, but it isn't our players, its our coaching and their lack of structure and planning. We have have the best ruck in the game, the cleanest first touch mid in the game - Oliver - yet we are still hacking it inside forward 50. So something is either going wrong from Gawn to Oliver, or Oliver to forward 50, and if that is no Oliver substitute that for Brayshaw. These guys hack the football when they need to be working as a unit to dispose the ball effectively into our forward 50.

Edited by KingDingAling
Posted

B: JETTA, T.MCDONALD, J.WAGNER

HB: HIBBERD, PETTY, SALEM

C : HARMES, OLIVER, STRETCH

HF: C.WAGNER, KEILTY, FRITSCH

F: MELKSHAM, WEIDEMAN, LOCKHART

FOLL: GAWN, VINEY, BRAYSHAW

IC: SPARROW, KOLODJASHNIJ, PREUSS, JONES

Posted
6 hours ago, Wiseblood said:

Only minimal changes for me.  Big changes to the structure and gameplan will be welcome.

What would be most welcome would be that structure and gameplay are (more) effectively executed.

Posted (edited)
7 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Dropping Jones? FFS Are people stupid enough to think an AFL captain will be dropped!? [censored] wake up to yourselves, never has that been done in the history of AFL.

I have been asking this question since last year, but what on earth does ANB actually add to this side?? It is a complete joke Wagner was dropped ahead of this spud.

Our depth is being tested right about now and i feel we are a Brayshaw or Oliver injury away from being a bottom 6 side.

Seems unthinkable to say it but I think We’re already there dd. If we lost one of those two we’d be bottom three. Fully agree re Jones btw. He’s not the issue. By and large, Weideman and trac excluded, our intensity at the ball  doesn’t seem to be the big issue either. Oliver, Brayshaw and viney were immense. 

The style of footy we’re playing just isn’t standing up. Similar to last week but even more stark.  seemed like almost  everytime geelong had a clear possession they scored on the back of a series of easy link ups in their possession chain. Everytime we got clear possession we headed fr another contest .

i see GWS also had a lot more i50.s than WC and also got thumped. So at least we’re not alone. Feel like the game has changed a bit this year... and we’re def not up to date w it. 

Edited by Wells 11
Posted

We need pruess in purely from the structural stand point. 6 6 6 means he or Gawn will get one out inside 50 should we win the centre clearance and move forward quickly. T mac will play his best as a mobile forward and Weid will get the 3rd best tall defender. 75 i50s should be 20 goals as a minimum. I think Lockhart showed a bit early, so leave him up forward with Hunt at the feet of the talls. Bring back Jeffy (he is worth another chance) once he is ready for ANB (he is killing us at the moment).

Both McDonald and Weid are getting to many kicks dumped on top of their heads when that is not playing to their strengths at all. Weid is best launching at the ball and McDonald is a excellent hit up target. 

It's a shame May is injured hopefully he wont be out for too long. 

The next three games are all very winnable 3-2 after 5 wouldn't be the end of the world considering how poor the preseason has been, we will be getting lever and hannan back shortly too. 

Posted

We need some contested marking (and crumb, but . . . ). It's a release-valve when you're otherwise playing crap. And dictates how an opposition has to go about their defensive structures. Max has had poor hands at the start of previous seasons. He'll pick up. But in the interim, we need at least one of Keilty or Preuss.

In: Keilty

Out: Sparrow

When are Garlett and Lewis available?