Posted
11 minutes ago, Neitz Blitz said:

Debate

Perhaps you should start the discussion with a little bit of evidence to back up your claims rather than outsource the heavy lifting. 

Posted
17 minutes ago, demonstone said:

I think I may stop following footy and instead watch my favourite track and field event.

Discus.

Counterpoint: you think you may *not* stop following footy, etc.

OR: you *don't* think you may stop following footy ...

Oh god, this thing just gets murkier the more we learn. All this on top of the fact (you won't read this in the MSM) that Spargo is Princess Di's lovechild and is only guaranteed a spot in the 22 to stop him revealing the truth about the royal family. Hillary (Q) must be furious.

Posted

Rubbish. He knows his limitations and works beautifully within them. For someone of his age he uses the ball exceptionally well. Besides, he did roost a couple of big goals last year.

Posted
3 hours ago, Neitz Blitz said:

Debate

Well Neita B if you watch the young nipper he has the smarts around the goals and he doesn't have to be 40 or 50 out to kick a goal'

As long as he gets the ball plays his role what more can you ask for.   Had goal assists and and kicked a few as well.

Spargo had a sound finals series. 

Posted

Is only 19 yrs has excellent skills is a consummate team player and uses the ball beautifully plays within his limitations and can/will only get better.

Yes kicking can lack depthsometimes  but I reckon Jesse's did also on a consistent basis and that never stopped us picking him.

Reckon Spargs position in the team is his to lose at this stage. Good luck to Jeffy JKH and other prospective small forwards! Hope you all put your claim in to ensure our team is as good as possible.

Posted

This thread needs more depth to its OP.

Anyway...

Always good to be able to kick effectively over longer distances. Would be a good thing for Spargo to improve upon and since his kicking overall seems to be ok, rather than in need of total reconstructive retraining,  you'd think that improvement would be possible over time.

Most importantly, we have  asmart coaching panel who will be able to use him effectively, and he is a smart player who will understand that limitation and fo the team thing. Who knows, maybe the little dose of humility that comes with having a weakness is a key ingredient in commiting to team ethos.

Posted
1 hour ago, 58er said:

Is only 19 yrs has excellent skills is a consummate team player and uses the ball beautifully plays within his limitations and can/will only get better.

Yes kicking can lack depthsometimes  but I reckon Jesse's did also on a consistent basis and that never stopped us picking him.

Reckon Spargs position in the team is his to lose at this stage. Good luck to Jeffy JKH and other prospective small forwards! Hope you all put your claim in to ensure our team is as good as possible.

I agree, and I reckon as his body matures, gets stronger, this area will improve with it.

More than his kicking length,  I wish for him to get aerobically fitter,  bigger tank,  so he can run thru the midfield more...   so he's less one-dimensional as a forward.

He is already pretty reasonable imv,  but to become an elite runner will only help the cause.

Posted

yes, he needs to be able to bomb them through from 60m out on a regular basis. he also needs to grow taller so he can take towering marks, and get bigger so he can manhandle key defenders. then he will be the perfect key forward ?

Posted (edited)

Quickness of mind and sublime ball use more than adequately compensate for any lack of kicking depth. If he can get up an extra 5 possessions a game he will be an awesome weapon and worth a couple of extra goals for the team every game.

Posted

Would be nice if he could kick them from outside 50, but the most important thing is he knows his range and plays to it. 

Can still be a very good player at 173cm with a 40m kick, especially if he brings smarts, evasive skills, tackling and other things that little guys are better at.

Hoping for a strong 2nd year.

Posted
6 hours ago, chook fowler said:

Rubbish. He knows his limitations and works beautifully within them. For someone of his age he uses the ball exceptionally well. Besides, he did roost a couple of big goals last year.

So you missed his 45m angle goal against the hawks to kick start that session of play?  Beautiful field kick also.

My 5 cents worth

Posted
59 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

Would be nice if he could kick them from outside 50, but the most important thing is he knows his range and plays to it. 

Can still be a very good player at 173cm with a 40m kick, especially if he brings smarts, evasive skills, tackling and other things that little guys are better at.

Hoping for a strong 2nd year.

Nailed it Deespencer

Posted
23 minutes ago, Demon17 said:

So you missed his 45m angle goal against the hawks to kick start that session of play?  Beautiful field kick also.

My 5 cents worth

I thought I said he roosted a couple of big goals - that Hawk goal is one if those I’m referring to.

Posted
13 hours ago, Neitz Blitz said:

Debate

I am in qualified agreement.  His kicking at the moment is really only reliable out to 30m or so.  Within that range he is excellent.  I don't consider this to be a concern though, so much as a work in progress.  Jack Viney was similarly limited early in his career, but as he got fitter and stronger, he worked on his kicking and his range increased.  Give Spargo a few more years and he will be nailing 50m goals. 

Posted

Limited footballer No pace, No penetration in kicking and if he gets a game this year ... well We will struggle!

Posted
On 3/2/2019 at 8:20 AM, Neitz Blitz said:

Debate

This topic seem to be your subject of the mas type. 

Posted

Despite his lack of size and speed, Spargo does most things reasonably well, but his inability to consistently kick more than 40 metres is a particular concern. 

I agree with PF - if he is playing regularly this year it is a sign that we haven't improved.