Posted
6 hours ago, Redleg said:

Well we don't leak like a sieve anymore. He was not traded just because he was happy to go home. You can back that in. 

How true.  If players were traded whenever they considered a move home then Gaff, Sloane, and Kelly would be playing at different clubs.

Posted

I can’t recall off the top of my head being more invested in a player recently, than I was with Jesse. Then seeing him play for Casey that first year, I got really excited at what he might bring to the Dees. I wrote on DL that he was the closest I had seen to a young Carey. 

Well that is now history for me and the Dees. It is a lesson to me even at my age, not to invest too heavily in individual players, but rather the team as a whole.

Good luck JH at the Dockers, though not against us. I have a pretty strong feeling that he won’t achieve the status in football that I thought he would back in his Casey days, but it is up to him and tbh, I don’t really care anymore.

Go Dees and merry Xmas DL’s.

• Like 17

Posted
23 hours ago, Neil Crompton said:

Of course not Redleg.  I just wouldn’t have expected such an emphatic statement to have come from Goodwin, given the straight shooter he is, if the opposite were true.  

If there were other issues, I would have expected rumours to that effect to have emerged long before the trade period. While there has always been rumours about him going back to WA, I’ve certainly never heard of any other issues.  Clubs are generally not good at keeping secrets on behaviour issues for long periods. 

There are absolutely rumours doing the rounds.

They’ve just not been posted here.

Hogan was probably a required player, but not on any terms - I expect when the opportunity presented itself for the club to secure Steven May for him, the club then immediately became super keen to make this happen.

And it did.

Posted
4 hours ago, Redleg said:

I can’t recall off the top of my head being more invested in a player recently, than I was with Jesse. Then seeing him play for Casey that first year, I got really excited at what he might bring to the Dees. I wrote on DL that he was the closest I had seen to a young Carey. 

Well that is now history for me and the Dees. It is a lesson to me even at my age, not to invest too heavily in individual players, but rather the team as a whole.

Good luck JH at the Dockers, though not against us. I have a pretty strong feeling that he won’t achieve the status in football that I thought he would back in his Casey days, but it is up to him and tbh, I don’t really care anymore.

Go Dees and merry Xmas DL’s.

I thinking that recruitment of too young a football player onto our main list,  to play footy, has hairs on it.

rookie spot at 17, OK... or 16Yr old cadet, yes...  but not onto the main list.  I think they can't handle the fame,  the required maturity,  and the pressure of expectation.

I think it spoils their thinking.

Posted
4 hours ago, Redleg said:

The concept of status is wrong, IMV.  I think it status that destroyed him in mind ?

Status is a false hood as we are all born and die equal.

Status is a pecking order made up by those who wish to feel high and mighty.

IMO the true goal should be to play  for the love and respect  of your teammates... club supporters...  and wider society.   That is not status...  because its about Real-Love and Appreciation.  see Robbie Flower...   he did not play for status, but played  to give  his all.

He served us,  in a way, similar as jesus, was said to serve his people.

Not for some pecking order.  Chickens want a pecking order... that is a sort of abuse and an aggression based concept... more like in a dictatorial model.  see trump.  see putin... status orientation.  those US people are getting what they asked for.

Posted
4 hours ago, Ron Burgundy said:

There are absolutely rumours doing the rounds.

They’ve just not been posted here.

Hogan was probably a required player, but not on any terms - I expect when the opportunity presented itself for the club to secure Steven May for him, the club then immediately became super keen to make this happen.

And it did.

I think, when you stop trying to improve your abilities, it's time to leave. 

Resting on laurels, or potential,  is a cop out...  leading to the door.   We have cleared some each year, under Goody.

Posted

I’ve always been curious as to what type of human one has to be when on sight of someone who’s had one too many, the first instinct is to snap a photo and circulate it on the internet.

Posted
13 minutes ago, Nasher said:

I’ve always been curious as to what type of human one has to be when on sight of someone who’s had one too many, the first instinct is to snap a photo and circulate it on the internet.

Welcome to the dobber generation.

Posted
43 minutes ago, Nasher said:

A [censored] one.

I'm just glad that phone cameras and social media were not a thing back in my youth and I recon alot of players back in the 70s, 80s, 90s era that are pretty glad of that too.

Posted
1 hour ago, Redleg said:

Welcome to the dobber generation.

I reckon that’s a bit unfair on the current generation. Previous generations would have been just as bad if the technology was available to them. 

Posted
6 hours ago, Mach5 said:

I reckon that’s a bit unfair on the current generation. Previous generations would have been just as bad if the technology was available to them. 

Probably true. But seems like this available technology has pushed “ fame” or getting likes on Facebook or twitter ahead of any kind of moral code. 

Posted
9 hours ago, Mach5 said:

Not so sure, as this generation seems to be a softer, more entitled one, than the ones before. This seems to be a "me" generation.

Anyway it is a difficult argument to win, but just an opinion.

Posted (edited)
48 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Not so sure, as this generation seems to be a softer, more entitled one, than the ones before. This seems to be a "me" generation.

Anyway it is a difficult argument to win, but just an opinion.

The 'me' generation that has to spend 12 times the annual median income to afford a Sydney house instead of x4 like in the 70's. Additionally you have to factor in lower mortgage interest rates, higher saving rates, lower educational debt etc. C'mon mate. The baby boomers had it easy compared to today. They are the entitled generation, if any.

Edited by John Demonic
Posted
10 hours ago, Mach5 said:

I think its the other way.

I think this generation behaves BETTER  as a result of knowing everything could be posted on the net for everyone to see. 

We just see more misbehaviour because we see all of it and not some of it

Posted (edited)
11 hours ago, Mach5 said:

True 'Mach', the technology of previous generations was the mouth & the rumour files always ran hot.

This is just an extension of it.

Edited by rjay
Posted
On 12/18/2018 at 8:53 PM, Pates said:

This is the first I’ve visited D-Land for a while and it’s fascinating to see that there’s still so much interest in Jesse. I had a couple of days feeling a bit unsure of whether it was a good thing or a bad thing, good trade vs bad trade, but now he’s just another opposition player now. 

Yes, I think that I will miss him badly at the MFC and I suppose, so will many others. But a break to a new club was perhaps in his own best interests, providing an environment, perhaps, where he could concentrate on his football as he liked. I hope he does well over in the West, and achieves the type of satisfaction that he pursues. A great footballer with much to offer. 

Posted
35 minutes ago, Deemania since 56 said:

Yes, I think that I will miss him badly at the MFC and I suppose, so will many others. But a break to a new club was perhaps in his own best interests, providing an environment, perhaps, where he could concentrate on his football as he liked. I hope he does well over in the West, and achieves the type of satisfaction that he pursues. A great footballer with much to offer. 

I hope that Hogan succeeds at Freo like Watts at Port! When on song they were two of my favourite players to watch! I suspect that I was watching through rose-coloured glasses and now excited by the team as a whole! We will dominate this year if injuries don’t intervene!

Posted
1 hour ago, biggestred said:

I think its the other way.

I think this generation behaves BETTER  as a result of knowing everything could be posted on the net for everyone to see. 

We just see more misbehaviour because we see all of it and not some of it

Dont know about that... younger generation in general are lazy and bad mannered.

Posted

The truth is that we are all the same at any age.  We act on our basic instincts.

The 'Me' generation can include anyone of any age.   The selfish gene can afflict anyone,  anytime.  Millennials = Baby Boomers and anyone else in between.

We forget what we were like when we were young - or perhaps we go into denial as we age.  Oldies pointing the finger at the young is hypocritical. 

Posted
16 minutes ago, Macca said:

The truth is that we are all the same at any age.  We act on our basic instincts.

The 'Me' generation can include anyone of any age.   The selfish gene can afflict anyone,  anytime.  Millennials = Baby Boomers and anyone else in between.

We forget what we were like when we were young - or perhaps we go into denial as we age.  Oldies pointing the finger at the young is hypocritical. 

9 minutes ago, Ugottobekidding said:

Not sure... some of the things that they do these days wouldn't happen when i was the same age. Not without a clip around the ear... i guess too many parents just let their kids run all over them.

Roles today are less defined, and more liberalism allowed...  this has pro's and cons.  Encouraging more self-confidence, but also more arrogance at the same time... especially in a group situation.  Which can be dangerous.

Posted

We'll probably never know the truth about Hogan's departure. No point conjecturing, no point going on about generational gaps, no point farting nails.

As someone said to me once, It is what it is. What it is we'll never know.