Posted
10 minutes ago, big_red_fire_engine said:

The player that has played him best was Hurley who bodied him at the contest then pushed off him at every opportunity. There was no double team or drop off.

Unfortunately we don’t have Hurley.

Posted
4 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

I always thought we wouldn’t get far with Harmes and ANB in the side. I was very wrong - both have become important cogs in the wheel.

And a major part of that wheel is Max Gawn. If he does not get up for this game then we are in serious trouble. Timing sucks doesn’t it.

Posted
10 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

I always thought we wouldn’t get far with Harmes and ANB in the side. I was very wrong - both have become important cogs in the wheel.

We haven’t made finals yet Chook let alone done anything in them.

In saying that agree they are good cogs to have. Harmes in particular provides a vital role being able shut down a good opposing player and still get plenty of it himself. Both have improvement in them yet.

Posted

Dickson and Dal Santo on Fox claiming Oscar has to be the match up for Franklin due to a “lack of other options”. Then went on to speak about the need to cut down Buddy’s leading space and nullify his athleticism.

Not a single, solitary mention of Frost. 

Can the bar for footy analysis actually get any lower?

Posted
1 hour ago, No10 said:

Perhaps ANB out?  He's clocked up a power of kms- given SCG is smaller he could freshen for WC.

And JKH, it doesn't seem right to run him up to finals.

3 changes, probably too many.

Hope you haven't bought a ticket to Sydney.

• Haha 6
Posted
On 8/8/2018 at 6:02 PM, Wiseblood said:

Keep Franklin relatively quiet and we win.  To me it is that simple.  We easily match them all over the ground, but Franklin is the X-factor.  Let him get off the leash and we have a serious game on our hands.  Keep him out of the action most of the time and I fail to see how they can kick a winning score against the best offense in the league.

Dees by 5 goals.

Frost v Franklin is the key

Posted
12 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

This is the week the footy world discovers that Frost…actually not that bad at footy.

Posted

Sorry if it’s been mentioned already. Did Frost play on Buddy last year or was it OMac? I can’t remember.

Posted

Have we really only played the Swans once a season since 2010?

Integrity of the draw?

Posted

I’d like to Kent and Hunt come in for smith and Vince, swans aren’t a quick team and I think we could stretch them with some pace of our own. No need to bring in another tall for Smith as he isn’t a genuine tall always and Swans only have 1 tall worth worrying about in Buddy.

Posted
1 hour ago, Garbo said:

I’d like to Kent and Hunt come in for smith and Vince, swans aren’t a quick team and I think we could stretch them with some pace of our own. No need to bring in another tall for Smith as he isn’t a genuine tall always and Swans only have 1 tall worth worrying about in Buddy.

Looks like the rain is coming Saturday now, so might not be a bad call if they are fit.

Posted (edited)
4 hours ago, binman said:

The last waltz is arguably the greatest ever rock film. Well, second. Spinal tap being number 1.

Happy to argue with you about that but then again the list would be pretty short to non existent.

Rock is a live experience, films & documentaries about it are for the most part self serving and/or fan boy rubbish.

The best thing about the Last Waltz is it gave Rob Reiner good material for Spinal Tap.

In many ways Spinal Tap got closer to reality than many of it's more "serious" counterparts.

Edited by rjay

Posted
1 hour ago, Wadda We Sing said:

Looks like the rain is coming Saturday now, so might not be a bad call if they are fit.

Yeah, looks like it's likely to be pretty wet - potentially stormy. I'm not sure that helps us.

Posted
57 minutes ago, rjay said:

Happy to argue with you about that but then again the list would be pretty short to non existent.

Rock is a live experience, films & documentaries about it are for the most part self serving and/or fan boy rubbish.

The best thing about the Last Waltz is it gave Rob Reiner good material for Spinal Tap.

In many ways Spinal Tap got closer to reality than many of it's more "serious" counterparts.

Been some great live Rock Movies

”Ladies and Gentlemen” from 1972 was recorded and presented in theatres as full Quadraphonic. 

Nothing self serving about that one. Just a Rock Band at the peak of their powers. 

Posted
5 hours ago, Wadda We Sing said:

Game is on Sunday. Current forecast isn't too bad

Posted
1 hour ago, JTR said:

Game is on Sunday. Current forecast isn't too bad

Sunday 12 August

Summary
light-showers.png
Min 5
Max 14
Possible shower.
Possible rainfall: 0 to 1 mm
Chance of any rain: 40% rain_40.gif

Melbourne area

Cloudy. Medium (40%) chance of showers in the afternoon and evening. Winds west to northwesterly 25 to 35 km/h.

Posted

After hearing Goody on SEN, i would like confidently say that Hunt will be playing against the swans.

Posted
27 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

According to Goody, who is currently on SEN, Hunt is a good chance of playing this weekend. 

I think out of the 5 who have been brought in, Hunt makes the most sense out of all of them.

Posted
10 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

I don't think so. The key will be how well we stop and/or pressure the ball coming him to him.

If their mids and medium forwards are kicking it in to him under minimal pressure he will kill whoever is on him and get a bag.

Tge other key will be drying up other scoring options. As i noted previously they will need to score close to 100 points to beat us and will happily give buddy 5-6 goals if he is the only scoring option.

One thing i really like about frost on buddy is that im sure goody will instruct him to run off buddy, which will exspose his current lack of fitness and pace.

If buddy is not scoring goals he is almost a liability, particularly on the wide spaces of the g, given how restricted he is (and how damaging his running is when fit).

Smart move to look to exspose/exploit this lack of pace and abilty to apply forward chasing pressure. The suggestion they might look to bring hunt in fots with this as his pace would further exploit buddys imabilty to chase or get up rhe ground.

Posted
5 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

What did he say about Gawn?

We need Gawn. Simple. Play him , win and rest for 3 weeks prior to finals. 

I here steroids are good at fixing aches and strains. Peptides harder to pick up. Sorry though we were playing Essendon. 

Get Gawn In!