Whispering_Jack 31,368 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 On this day in 1973 Robert Flower made his debut for the Melbourne Football Club against Geelong 15 6 Quote
radar 1,867 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 Was it v Geel where we thumped them in the wet at MCG and Swan kicked 8? 2 Quote
radar 1,867 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 Was there. Wet day. Muddy. Rain. Thumped them. Met G Swan years later - staggered anyone in the world remembered his eight that day when I mentioned it to him. Time flies. 1 Quote
Demonland 74,431 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 9 minutes ago, radar said: Was it v Geel where we thumped them in the wet at MCG and Swan kicked 8? Yes it was. Round 9 1 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,458 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 My 10th birthday Dad took me into the MCC 3 Quote
Wells 11 5,502 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 wasnt there but listened on the radio... great to see the old footy record there too. Trip down memory lane. I remember the media response was that Tillbrook and Swann were going to dominate the fwd line for the next decade. sigh. Swann was a gun in the reserves at that time too...when following them in the game before the game was more rewarding than the seniors. 1 Quote
DV8 2,271 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 38 minutes ago, Demonland said: ... gave me chills down my shoulders, and left me with a lump in the throat and tears eking. memories, fond memories. 1 Quote
chook fowler 19,774 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 I remember seeing him play in a reserves game wearing glasses, against Footscray I think. 1 Quote
KingSlayer33 170 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 My father is in the team list that day. I just tried to call him to confirm if he played on the momentous occasion and to see if he remembers it but he’s still on the golf course so I’ll have to wait a little I guess. 9 2 Quote
daisycutter 30,021 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 17 minutes ago, KingSlayer33 said: My father is in the team list that day. I just tried to call him to confirm if he played on the momentous occasion and to see if he remembers it but he’s still on the golf course so I’ll have to wait a little I guess. ray biffin? Quote
Big Carl 333 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 I was there. i think Shane Fitzsimmons debuted that day too. Quote
KingSlayer33 170 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 2 hours ago, daisycutter said: ray biffin? Noel Leary. Only played about 20 senior games. Still more than me though. ? 2 1 Quote
Sir Why You Little 37,458 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 1 minute ago, KingSlayer33 said: Noel Leary. Only played about 20 senior games. Still more than me though. ? No 29 Quote
Kumamoto_Ken 1,531 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 Flower is the absolute Demon hero for our clan. My dad played for Murrumbeena in the late 60's and when he was 21/22 coached the Murrumbeena Districts U11s. One of his charges was a young Bob Flower. Dad is the 'adult' at the back left of the photo. Young Bob is in there too. No idea where that scorched earth wasteland is that they had the photo taken, but whatevs. As it happens after my years of meandering through Rosebud junior footy, then Monash Rugby (more of a drinking exercise) I played a season of footy at the 'Beena before heading overseas. I tried hard but was just an honest backman in the Magoos. Anyway, playing for that club where my dad was a premiership player was a great highlight. 7 Quote
Call Me What You Will 755 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 I remember the day well. Sitting in the members on the “Tavern Bar” level. Remembered vividly for the Tilbrook and Swann show - had no idea it was the debut for our superstar. 1 Quote
DeleteUser 638 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 5 hours ago, Demonland said: Always love seeing the ad hoardings. Icl computers! Speedo. Awesome Quote
Pennant St Dee 13,452 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 4 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said: My 10th birthday Dad took me into the MCC Well happy birthday Swyl, hope you have a good one Quote
Moonshadow 17,678 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 Watching Tulip play gave me cause to hold my head up high at school on Mondays, despite a heavy loss. A true gentleman as well. Quote
daisycutter 30,021 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 2 hours ago, KingSlayer33 said: Noel Leary. Only played about 20 senior games. Still more than me though. ? ah, i'd forgot noel leary was a taswegian (from ulverstone) 20 games nothing to sneeze at.....and tassie hall of famer Quote
DeleteUser 638 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 What a treat! At 39, I only saw him on TV and I think at some games a few times but too young to remember much, but dad took me to the 87 prelim has there been a modern match for his composure , ability to find space and time, more importantly just run around and evade opposition like they're statues? It's unbereeeevable. loved seeing the old brands - simsmetal Datsun sigma everyone's favourite east coast cooler. Just great Quote
dl4e 5,851 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 Probably would have been there on the old MCC Ladies ticket which the old man had as a member. Can't remember the game or flowers first. Pity. Oh and let alone Swann kicking 8 goals. Quote
deebug 1,754 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 Robbie was the best, i loved watching him play If you were too young to see Robbie tear up the wing of the G then you should watch him on line or DVD you will love it. Quote
leave it to deever 17,618 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 6 hours ago, KingSlayer33 said: My father is in the team list that day. I just tried to call him to confirm if he played on the momentous occasion and to see if he remembers it but he’s still on the golf course so I’ll have to wait a little I guess. R u Carl jnr? Quote
dimmy 1,308 Posted June 9, 2018 Posted June 9, 2018 A fotbaaling genius. Sheedy once said on WOS that he was the best athlete playing League Footy. Quote