Posted

I want Jane Bunn on match committee. When she predicts rain, Jeffy gets a week off.

Our structures all over the ground just fell done after 1/4 time.

I still think we area good side, but i also thought Scully would stay.

Posted (edited)
8 minutes ago, Ungarie boy said:

Playing a handball game on wet weather day is like bringing a sword to a gun fight.  

- with similar results, we got slaughtered!

That's not a handball game;  its a reactive pressured overuse style.

http://www.afl.com.au/match-centre/2014/27/syd-v-haw

We were 'the hunted',,, and the hawks made sure we felt 'hunted'.  and then so did our supporters, further adding to the pressure.

From there,,, an impossible task to regroup the team belief.

http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/news/2014-09-27/we-didnt-give-ourselves-a-chance-laments-longmire-syd

Edited by DV8

Posted
47 minutes ago, Nasher said:

I wasn't worried at half time either, but I was bloody worried half way through the third.

Really ???

A goal less qtr and half doesn't raise an eyebrow ? My... you're ice cold ( probably a tassie thing right now )

Posted

I have no idea about game plans etc . The big change for me has been Rawlings has been sent to Casey to manage and Troy Chaplin is the new and shiny defensive line coach .. taking over from Rawlings and this year defensively we stink !

Posted
6 minutes ago, Skuit said:

That's the thing - when you bring up age people will point to the average games team stats. But our top-end talent is concentrated in the younger players and we're forced to rely on them. It's part of a rebuild after being poor for so long. Petracca has a stinker and our centre-line suddenly looks impotent. What do you do? Bring old legs like Lewis and Vince back in for the breakdowns? Hawthorn are the opposite.

Hawthorn have 16 players over 100 games.

Or to put it another way, take off our 3 old-timers and we have 5. They have 13, most of whom were out there today.

Most of our players are in the 3-5 season range, but when Nathan Jones was in his 5th season, people here were still calling for him to be dropped. We (they) have a LONG way to go.

Posted
5 minutes ago, The Chazz said:

I want Jane Bunn on match committee. When she predicts rain, Jeffy gets a week off.

We are a good side. 

A good young side which is learning... just as we are as a club, Learning.

Posted

I cannot fathom why we can't at least try to adapt our game to the conditions, but trying to play precise, highly skilled football in the wet is a recipe for disasters like today.

Posted
3 minutes ago, demonique said:

I have no idea about game plans etc . The big change for me has been Rawlings has been sent to Casey to manage and Troy Chaplin is the new and shiny defensive line coach .. taking over from Rawlings and this year defensively we stink !

I tend to agree

Chappy is a lovely fella but his history in backlines - Port, Richmond and now us - leaves a lot to be desired

Our whole game plan is predicated on winning contested ball; we absolutely failed at that for an extended period today

We have failed at it in patches of games but today we really stunk it up at our core game plan

Posted
5 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Really ???

A goal less qtr and half doesn't raise an eyebrow ? My... you're ice cold ( probably a tassie thing right now )

Not saying I was thrilled with it bb, just wasn't worried yet. We were still getting enough of the ball at that stage and I've seen us have low scoring quarters before, correct it and come away with a win. 

Posted

Goodwin is a horrible match day coach.

Gawn gets so many hit outs bush bashes it away from our mids or flicks it to spots they arent in.

A combined 3 tackles from 4 of our defenders, Lever, Jetta, Oscar and Frost............

The gameplan is one for headless chooks.

Why keep Gawn off for nearly a whole quarter?

Why use one of our best mids who actually turned games in previous weeks as a tagger (Jones).

Why when Hogan gets 12 disposals in 1Q do they then isolate him at FF for the rest of the game?

Why are we still making the same mistakes as last year?

Posted

Maybe some decisions made in relation to the Manpower makeup in Defence made over the late 2017 has upset the structure somewhat, because some players seem lost. As mentioned (by me) in another topic Hibberd and Lever are similar defenders although i think Hibberd is more accountable in his game style than Lever.

OMac is the standout positive down there at the moment because he has been allowed to continue in the role he was being groomed for.

Frosty may be able to run, but eventually you have to get rid of the ball to be of value to team. In 2nd Q Hawthorn scored two goals account poor decision making by Frost's turnovers

Posted
1 minute ago, bing181 said:

Hawthorn have 16 players over 100 games.

Or to put it another way, take off our 3 old-timers and we have 5. They have 13, most of whom were out there today.

Most of our players are in the 3-5 season range, but when Nathan Jones was in his 5th season, people here were still calling for him to be dropped. We (they) have a LONG way to go.

And while people here are ready to lynch the coach, my memory of recent wet weather games turns specifically to Hawthorn and Sydney in 2016. There must have been plenty more but these were the ones where we were completely outclassed in the conditions. Maturity and experience are more important than simple instruction in such a regard.

Posted

I know we're a young side, and we're learning, and it's a long year of footy, and there's always next week etc etc etc

... But geez, if the fact that we got smashed by the Hawks (again) wasn't sad enough, then you just have to look at the fact that we smashed them in the first qtr and then did the classic Melbourne thing and left the building.

Today's game? I've seen that show before...

Posted
55 minutes ago, McQueen said:

Pathetic.

insipid

disgusting

[censored] right off.

Goodwin has nfi in the box when [censored] gets hectic.

A good array of descriptors for the performance. I shook at the fumbling and the widespread lack of match readiness. We needed more big personnel with courage, sticky hands and strong necks to see what is ahead. We are too 'readable' in our play and there is no modification of that play coming from the coaching box. There is no real sense of teamwork coming through the clinches - just an errant handball or close-in tap, on a hope and a prayer. There is no protection for our crumbers or systemised feeds. This is going to be a sad year if this performance is any gauge.

Posted
17 minutes ago, The Chazz said:

Please don't tell me Jane could add two good points

Posted (edited)
16 minutes ago, demonique said:

80265255-211F-4C0B-A9F6-2B83BB3224FF.gif

Edited by TeamPlayedFine39

Posted

We lost due to being mentally weak. As soon as we were challenged we folded. 

ALso starting to worry about our tactics that we can’t change something in 100 minutes of football!

Posted

Trying not to post until I calm down, but failed:

AFL is a largely winter game - don't effing turn up to a game in wet whether and (attempt to play) play summer footy.

When in doubt, composure's out

We spoiled each other more than Hawthorn

Dumb footy followed by dumb footy.

I think all defenders should go for the mark/spoil 20 meters in front of the Hawks goal - it's working really well.

Panic Panic Panic

Hawks read Gawn's taps better than us

Clarkson - Just do X, Y & Z and watch them crumble - Dimma says thanks!

NB - Fortunately I've deleted plenty of comments on players.

Posted

Missed a massive opportunity, beat hawks would be 90k against the tigers but now geez will be lucky if 60k show up, just another inept performance that hurts the whole club, I shouldn’t really expect anything else 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Viscount Cardwell said:

I would have thought there is a one word description on this game “outcoached”

That's what they said about Damian Hardwick after every game for about 8 years. Then he won a premiership.

Posted

It's important to realise that, it's not just this match; rather, we have 4 weeks worth of evidence that this side has not changed enough to be playing finals this year.

Whilst we can be pleased by simply getting 8 premiership points in the first 3 rounds, the bigger picture - how we are playing - shows that we are not on track to playing finals this year. Today was putrid, but really, an aberration. I don't expect this to happen again, and in fact I'm more willing to forgive the Dees for this performance than I did against Geelong or Brisbane, because that is our norm.

But at the moment, what we can reasonably expect to happen is putrid patches offsetting our quality football, resulting in either a loss, or a smaller winning margin - which last year showed, is not enough. 

We need to be better. We must demand better.