Posted

Isn’t it nice that these high draft picks aren’t expected to come in and carry the side!! 

They now now have the ability to focus on their game not being the star player for the MFC. 

Posted

BigFooty Aints supporter comment of the day: Well on todays exhibition the Paddy V Petracca has been settled once and for all - we should have picked Brayshaw!

Eat a bag, Aints!

• Haha 9

Posted
1 hour ago, Jaded said:

I am so so happy for him. He is seriously good and just needs some continuity. 

Well done Gussy!!

Well said Jaded. Seriously underrated footballer imo. 

Posted

Great to see him getting a good run and showing his worth. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Nasher said:

BigFooty Aints supporter comment of the day: Well on todays exhibition the Paddy V Petracca has been settled once and for all - we should have picked Brayshaw!

Brilliant.    Must have been very hard for the Saints to watch today, even though Trac was quiet.

Posted

Just sign on the dotted gus 

huge upside in this kid and allows jones to be more damaging

Posted

Wasn't clean with the ball in the first quarter, but was still cracking in get amongst it when some other Dees hadn't switched on yet. He got better as the game wore on and his kicking on both sides was on show. Oliver had more ball, but I reckon Brayshaw was BOG. He kicked well, made good decisions and got back to help out when needed. On top of winning a decent amount inside ball, he was a really good link player coming out of defensive 50 today. He just needs consistent games now to build consistency after a good few weeks. He was drafted as a well balanced gun midfielder, and he's starting to show why.

Potential gun at AFL level. Keep it up Gus!

Posted

Ist Gus ....ist gut ...zehr gut ;)

Posted

Huge upside for Gus and the team.

Playing in his rightful position in the middle, means Gawn Viney Oliver Brayshaw becomes an elite combination.

Petracca, Jones, Salem and Hogan to rotate through there as well and we become really hard to play against.

Posted
2 hours ago, Big Demon said:

The problem is that he’s a very ordinary tackler which is noticeable today through the third quarter so not really an alternative to quality tacklers on the inside like Viney, Jones and Oliver and a terrible kick so can’t replace quality kicks of the footy outside like Salem, Harmes etc.

Man, don't know what you were watching today. His tackling is fine. Gus is one of the few on our list who can kick either side comfortably. And if you think Harmes is a good kick, well, that is just plain silly. 

Posted

If Angus can stay injury free from here i will make this prediction....... He will be more important to us over his career than Petracca.

I dont say that because i think Trac is a dud (although he has been rated higher than his output deserves SO FAR in his career). I say it because Angus possesses something that not many AFL players have..... 2 sides. Now i know that a few followers of our team have criticised his disposal over the last year or so, and with some merit, but his early games displayed an ability to deliver off both feet that was so good, many were openly asking what his natural foot was.

Trac stands up in a tackle as good as anyone i remember, but Angus has the ability to deliver from his right or left foot which is a crucial skill for an extractor. Trac might provide the cameos, but my money is on Brayshaw to impact the game more effectively, more often. Once he has full confidence in his own form/fitness this kid will be great.

*the only caveat is that he stays fit.

Posted
1 hour ago, Nasher said:

Eat a bag, Aints!

If i was a saints supporter i would be thinking that is one of the most unkind comments that i have heard. Paddy is at this stage a trier who is carrying the weight of their forwardline on his shoulders and has been left to do that by someone who thought he had done enough and wanted a press job badly. Paddy i'm afraid did not seem to be 100% today after his knock.

Brayshaw was in MFC"s top three today in my book.

Posted
1 minute ago, ding said:

If Angus can stay injury free from here i will make this prediction....... He will be more important to us over his career than Petracca.

I dont say that because i think Trac is a dud (although he has been rated higher than his output deserves SO FAR in his career). I say it because Angus possesses something that not many AFL players have..... 2 sides. Now i know that a few followers of our team have criticised his disposal over the last year or so, and with some merit, but his early games displayed an ability to deliver off both feet that was so good, many were openly asking what his natural foot was.

Trac stands up in a tackle as good as anyone i remember, but Angus has the ability to deliver from his right or left foot which is a crucial skill for an extractor. Trac might provide the cameos, but my money is on Brayshaw to impact the game more effectively, more often. Once he has full confidence in his own form/fitness this kid will be great.

Unusual abject observation.

There's no bias.. just a view. 

I'm not sure you're right but possibly only hindsight might provide that. 

The idea that Gus is extraordinarily relevant and important is spot on I think.

Gus plays football

We need to play football

We need Gus

Posted
1 minute ago, beelzebub said:

Unusual abject observation.

There's no bias.. just a view. 

I'm not sure you're right but possibly only hindsight might provide that. 

The idea that Gus is extraordinarily relevant and important is spot on I think.

Gus plays football

We need to play football

We need Gus

Funnily enough Beelz, if Angus stays fit and plays to his potential, i actually HOPE im wrong. That would mean Trac has turned into a fuggin beast, because if Brayshaw develops the way i think he will, thats what it will take for Trac to be the more influential player.

Win/Win

Posted
5 minutes ago, willmoy said:

If i was a saints supporter i would be thinking that is one of the most unkind comments that i have heard. Paddy is at this stage a trier who is carrying the weight of their forwardline on his shoulders and has been left to do that by someone who thought he had done enough and wanted a press job badly. Paddy i'm afraid did not seem to be 100% today after his knock.

Brayshaw was in MFC"s top three today in my book.

I feel for McCartin. The way the footy public crush these early picks with expectations and them flog them mercilessly with them disgusts me. He needs to be given time and patience, there’s no doubt about it.

I don’t feel for the Saints fans though. Years of being kicked while down by other supporters has made me bitter and spiteful. I get a bit of a kick at seeing them seethe.

Posted

Love his ability to kick either foot. That was part of Sam Mitchell's armoury. Milkshake also handy on his left.

Posted

Ordinary tackler, wut?

He’s one of the few, like Viney and Jetta, that keep running whilst tackling, rather than instantly drop to their knees. 

Loved his game today, and last week. Sometimes you just need to bang a clearance forward to keep the pressure on, and that’s what he’s doing. 

Also gliding across the turf, I thought he was a bit of a plodder. 

Good vibes with he, Clarry, Trac and Jesse too. So much talent right there. 

Posted

Seeing Brayshaw so involved and playing smart football the way he does was a real pleasure in an overall very enjoyable afternoon.

I'd love to say I told you so but I have to be honest and say I am always taking the sides of players who I think are being written off unfairly and I doubt I've got a high % in my favour over the years... but hey, this year it seems to be working out for me!

Posted
20 minutes ago, ding said:

The thing that stood out to me today with Gus was his defensive work rate. He was the midfielder fastest back to help the backline. I think that's the role which will make him most valuable in the short term. It should allow Oliver and Jones to hunt the ball, and Viney to hunt the man, ball and whatever else he likes to do. 

In terms of long term, finals are rarely won by match winners kicking 4+ these days but often won by a classy important big goal that caps off 2 or 3 or 3.5 quarters of sustained quality. Cotchin was the guy for Richmond last year who set the tone and kept them in or ahead in games. Martin then finished them off. Gus is far more like Cotchin and Tracc is more like Dusty. Both have a way to go but that's what I'd like to dream of.