View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Dees Drink Own Bathwater According To Malthouse

That is a good article. He is right about all those factors. 

A club that won games in Adelaide and Perth last year should have made the finals, there is no getting away from that. 

The whole club must toughen up

Yep can’t fault the article or his top 8 don’t agree with bombers so high don’t get all the hype with them but otherwise it’s pretty good 

That broken down hack! What would he know? 

Just thought I'd get in first before the outrage machine gets cranked up.

My actual opinion is that he has a point but I don't believe that eating a huge slice of humble pie is the answer. The amount of pie we eat is the question.

Remember that prior to 2014, player morale was a real issue. The fact that Roosy was able to convince the players that, yes, they actually play that results started to flow somewhat.

However, things started to get out of whack last year in that we went into some games thinking that it would just 'happen'. We know of 5 obvious ones but we could also include the Lions game in that mix.

I think we need to start respecting all of our opposition rather than just the top eight but we also need to pay on edge. We are at our best when we play unsociable yet tough football. 

Edited by Colin B. Flaubert

Cannot argue with Mick's assessment that we drink our own bathwater. He is 100% accurate.

How many times did we lose to teams we should've beaten last year? I count at least 5 games. Roos x 2, Hawks, Freo & Filth in round 23.

The only thing that will stop us from making finals is ourselves. I hope Goody has learned a thing or 2 from last year trying to stop players' getting ahead of themselves, otherwise it will be our downfall again this year.

What makes me almost as angry as the round 23 loss is that during the win against the Aints in r21, there were several players' asking their opposition what they were doing in September. This coming from a team that has achieved nothing and had barely any relevance since 1964.

As long as the bathwater is Bollinger champagne I don' mind.

Mick is such a bitter, past-the-use-by-date irrelevance that I'm surprised anyone took notice

14 minutes ago, Colin B. Flaubert said:

I think we need to start respecting all of our opposition rather than just the top eight... 

Spot on mate!

Pretty fair assessment 

Yep, we’ve been getting ahead of ourselves after a couple of good wins since the Daniher era....needs to stop 

Meh, I reckon we lost as many games from fear of failure and not taking the game on as we did from overconfidence. 

Not to mention the fatigue factor with a lot of young players getting tired, some older guys slowing down and a lot of players returning from injuries.

I hope we've built physical and mental resilience. That would be my focus, not some outdated concept of drinking your own bathwater.

This is disappointing. For the past 5 years or so everything Malthouse has said appears to be out of date, condescending and generally wrong. If he's now saying things that people agree with, my whole life is going to spin off its axis.   

170 plus games played. Over 700 games coached. Premiership player. Premiership coach 3 times. All Australian coach. Knows nix compared to Demonland’s finest.

1 minute ago, america de cali said:

170 plus games played. Over 700 games coached. Premiership player. Premiership coach 3 times. All Australian coach. Knows nix compared to Demonland’s finest.

Fair comment...unfortunately.

Absolutely. And it's why I still haven't quite got over Round 23 yet, because the last 10 years should be excuse enough to not get complacent, yet they did anyway (both in Round 23 and other games throughout the year). 

I'm wholeheartedly looking forward to a new, tough mental resolve demons this year :) and it'll be stunning.

Edited by Purple77

We lost a lot of games we should have won in 2017 because we were (and still are) a very young and inexperienced team with only a couple of average/reasonable leaders and a rookie coach. Of course, that should improve with more games played

Some say we are only a couple of good outside players away from completing our list. I'd say our biggest hole is the lack of leaders able to grab a 50/50 game by the scruff of the neck for a win. 

Expecting to make finals is what every team in the comp should do. It's not getting ahead of ourselves

6 minutes ago, Moonshadow said:

We lost a lot of games we should have won in 2017 because we were (and still are) a very young and inexperienced team with only a couple of average/reasonable leaders and a rookie coach. Of course, that should improve with more games played

Some say we are only a couple of good outside players away from completing our list. I'd say our biggest hole is the lack of leaders able to grab a 50/50 game by the scruff of the neck for a win. 

Expecting to make finals is what every team in the comp should do. It's not getting ahead of ourselves

When our backs were against the wall in that third quarter of JLT2, I expected Oliver, Petracca and/or Hogan to step up. Oliver certainly did. 

I reckon we have these players on our list, but it's as you say, a little lack of experience that is holding them back from doing it most weeks.

We'll win 15+ games this year and it should propel us close to the top 4.

18 minutes ago, Nasher said:

Jeez I'm looking forward to when the opinions dry up and the football starts.

This bloke reckons there will be no opinions once the footy starts...........

Hard to disagree with MM and explains a lot about their pathetic displays/attitude  during games last season. 

Far from the first time we’ve heard this.

2 minutes ago, TeamPlayedFine39 said:

Far from the first time we’ve heard this.

This is MM's opinion. You present his opinion as if it's fact.

I'm not saying I disagree with what he's saying, but there is room for the possibiliy that other factors are responsible for our missing out on finals in 2017. Such as inexperience. 

Not sure about Joe Daniher winning the Brownlow.... but yes, it's all mental for our side. If we don't make the 8 this year, it's purely due to lack of commitment and effort.