Melbourne player investigated over alleged assault whilst overseas

Posted

No upside to this, whatever happens.

Thoughts are firstly with the potential victim.

Secondly I feel the MFC institution still has some growing up to do.  Leadership at the lower level is still an issue.  

FMD this club....

Posted
29 minutes ago, machine11 said:

You would be a little annoyed if you were one of the players who went to Bali 

Maybe not so much "annoyed" as "sh!tting yourself".

Nice secret code, by the way.

Posted
32 minutes ago, Stretch Johnson said:

No upside to this, whatever happens.

Thoughts are firstly with the potential victim.

Agree. Terrible every which way you look at it.

32 minutes ago, Stretch Johnson said:

Secondly I feel the MFC institution still has some growing up to do.  Leadership at the lower level is still an issue.

Every club gets their turn in the barrel and now it's ours. Schoolgirls, chopsticks, drunk driving, nude pics, dwarfs ... these highly paid young men with lots of time on their hands are going to get themselves into trouble. They have forever, and at the rate we're going, probably will forever!

Posted

Why would the complaint not be made in Bali? Not sure how anything can proceed outside of the jurisdiction. 

Posted

This news makes reading the -"Boys enjoying themselves in Bali"  thread quite telling. Suggesting players getting a leg over, get laid & drunk and this one On 9/25/2017 at 6:54 AM, Biffen said: Hope they get an absolute skinful,shag themselves silly and come back ready for the pre-season.

We can be so infantile at times. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, Clintosaurus said:

Why would the complaint not be made in Bali? Not sure how anything can proceed outside of the jurisdiction. 

Just guessing, but can think of two reasons. 1. victim takes time to process just what happened. first instinct could be to simply get away from the awfulness. Back in the land of Oz, after its sunk in, decides to go to cops for redress. 2. cops advise that only Bali cops can do it, and that will be long and messy, and are you sure you want to go there (geographically and emotionally)?

possible that the victim doesn't want a court case but wants to be heard and get some kind of closure.

Posted

I am sure some of you lot sweat on stories like these breaking in the media to seize the opportunity to: 

(a) hang sh!t on the club, a player or players, the leadership group or whomever or,

(b) just fill in the blanks to any story with whatever BS you make up.

I don’t give a rats what happens outside of my control as long as my footy club is raring to give it a red hot go come Round 1 2018.

Anyway, compliments of the season and all that.

Posted
9 hours ago, america de cali said:

If we managed to get into the finals this crap would perhaps would never have happened.

Damned the luck.

Nothing to do with luck - all to do with choking and lack of application.

Posted

Not sure whether we shouldn’t take the same approach that St Kilda took with Milne. If he is first 22, then keep him on the list, so that the Club itself is not punished for something that (allegedly) occurred outside of the Club’s season or control.

Posted

A reminder that there will be no mentioning of "potential" players names nor process of elimination games. You can do that elsewhere. It won't be tolerated here unless you are willing to post a picture of yourself holding up a valid form of photo identification.

Posted (edited)

I can see us having another vacant unfilled list spot for the second year in a row.

Posted
1 hour ago, CBDees said:

Not sure whether we shouldn’t take the same approach that St Kilda took with Milne. If he is first 22, then keep him on the list, so that the Club itself is not punished for something that (allegedly) occurred outside of the Club’s season or control.

Are you Trevor Nisbett?

Posted
1 hour ago, Demonland said:

A reminder that there will be no mentioning of "potential" players names nor process of elimination games. You can do that elsewhere. It won't be tolerated here unless you are willing to post a picture of yourself holding up a valid form of photo identification.

I have a rather alluring photo of myself at a nudist beach but I imagine posting it would overwhelm the like button.

• Haha 6
Posted

I'll wait for more information, especially in the current climate of the '#metoo' movement where unproven or flat out false allegations have ruined the lives of many men.

Posted
32 minutes ago, america de cali said:

I can see us having another vacant unfilled list spot for the second year in a row.

The issue with that is your hanging the player with out him being found guilty of any charges.  It isn't up to the AFL or MFC to be law enforces outside of the game.

Posted

Bali....not even once....is there anywhere else on Earth more likely for cashed up bogan p!ssheads to get themselves into trouble??

Posted (edited)
10 minutes ago, drdrake said:

The issue with that is your hanging the player with out him being found guilty of any charges.  It isn't up to the AFL or MFC to be law enforces outside of the game.

It’s not even the case of being found ‘not gulty’, the woman hasn’t provided a statement nor is she assisting Police. Being found not gulty would imply someone has been charged and the matter has gone through the courts.

Edited by Ethan Tremblay
Posted
16 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

I'll wait for more information, especially in the current climate of the '#metoo' movement where unproven or flat out false allegations have ruined the lives of many men.

Lol. Oh dear.

because the lives of women have never been ruined by men have they? Or gone unnoticed or uncharged. 

I think the pay gap between genders is a simple example of women's lives STILL being ruined by men. 

Posted
9 minutes ago, sisso said:

Bali....not even once....is there anywhere else on Earth more likely for cashed up bogan p!ssheads to get themselves into trouble??

vegas?

Posted
34 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

I have a rather alluring photo of myself at a nudist beach but I imagine posting it would overwhelm the like button.

'Alluring' is not the word that first springs to mind Uncle.

Did a crowd gather that day and try and roll you back into the water?

Posted
13 minutes ago, sisso said:

I don't know why people bother going on an overseas holiday to Bali when they can simply see the same flogs in Melbourne's CBD on a Saturday night.