Posted
25 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

He’s copping it big time from the Lion Filth online. 
Enough for me to hope Jeelong win next week 

the Lions are a durge club 

Eye Goughers….

Brisbane players were making fun of him - I hope Geelong cream them

Posted

Had a superb season and looks a future AA level key defender. His development is one of the few positives from this season. 

Posted
36 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Eye Goughers….

I've lost a lot of respect for Brisbane in the last month.

Posted
40 minutes ago, Edward Langdon said:

The whole booing fiasco of Petty and Zorko was cringeworthy.

The clubs (at least) publicly resolved the issue and the crowd should’ve left it at that.

All it did was spur on Zorko who played well.

Petty was getting in McCarthy's face last night, and the wiping away tears response was predictable, and made Petty look like a sook. Petty should have just minded his own business all night and focused on his job

The whole incident spurred Brisbane on, and they who laughed last laughed loudest!

Posted
On 7/29/2022 at 10:56 AM, A F said:

I think you answered your own question mate.

I'd rather keep him back too, but we need forwards, so as a stop gap selection in game or if we suffer injuries like this year, I reckon he'd be very good forward.

Edit. I used to be against moving Petty at all, but I've become an advocate for it as we haven't been able to address our KPF issue and Weideman hasn't come on, and TMac's injury has made it painfully clear we need more KPFs.

Unless we can land a KPF forward I agree Petty forward will be needed. 

On 7/29/2022 at 11:53 AM, DeeZone said:

If and it’s a big IF we could find a suitable replacement down back Harrison could fill TMacs shoes as he has big engine as well. I was surprised by how much Territory young Petty covers.

At what stage of his career did AA CHB Neitz, later Coleman medalist, go forward?  3-4 years?

33 minutes ago, Nascent said:

Yet despite that I hope they put the Cats out of everybody’s misery next week

Posted

I absolutely love him. He is so brave, so competitive, great composure under pressure, wonderful contested mark. He really has all the makings of an AA CHB or CHF. 

Posted

Would be gutted if he does a Scott Thompson on us. Certainly one of the shining lights of season 2022 was Mr. Petty.

Posted (edited)

One of if not Taylor’s most inspired selections to date.

Will never forget his debut against the Saints at the G where one of his kicks literally ran along the ground sideways.

Since then the bloke has been a pillar of strength. Will finish as a Melbourne champion.

My fave currrent player.

Edited by Beetle

Posted

The one positive (only in an insight sense) from last night's game was witnessing what Petty can bring up forward.  So for 2023....

Weid to take Petty's place.  Can also pinch hit in the ruck with Max resting down back to help out when he does.

Petty goes forward as a permanent forward.

Macca as the other tall forward.

Start blooding JVR for Macca when Macca is being occasionally rested/managed throughout the season as needed.  JVR also in when we occasionally need a third tall to stretch the oppo's defence etc.

Sydney turned McCartin's career around by sending him back.  Is it worth trying with the Weid Who also has rucking abilities up his sleeve?

Three potential wins if we can pull this off in 2023...

👉🏼  We gain a strong marking 'MOBILE' tall forward with significant AFL / Finals experience without having to trade one in.  And one who appears to be capable of kicking goals

👉🏼  Weid switches with Max in the ruck about 20% of time allowing Max to plug a hole down back.  Max no longer needing to rest as a forward where he rarely marks/hits the scoreboard anyway and is often wasting space for a better alternative.  Max often plays back now and intercepts quite well on occasions with pretty good outcomes.

👉🏼  No longer need to chase a back up ruck for Max assuming LJ is going.  Use that pick on a classy ball user with some pace through the middle or off HB.  Or alternatively go after another tall forward in case the Petty experiment fails and/or as a replacement for Macca when he retires.

Posted
1 hour ago, Nascent said:

Ditto. Their fans were inflammatory last night. Absolute [censored]. 

lions used to be a sorta second team but no more

Posted (edited)

Brisbane fans were disgraceful last night, thought they were better than that but that was absolute tripe from them, hope Geelong send them packing, bunch of arrogant tools. How they could find it in them to boo petts is beyond me. 

The fact anyone can defend Zorko as a captain is utterly contemptible.  

Edited by Tom Dyson
Posted

Saw a number of Brisbane fans being escorted from the ground by security and police, at least one in handcuffs. There was certainly a foul component from a section of their supporter base last night.

Posted
3 hours ago, Jaded No More said:

I absolutely love him. He is so brave, so competitive, great composure under pressure, wonderful contested mark. He really has all the makings of an AA CHB or CHF. 

Totally agree - absolutely love the bloke, busts a gut every time. He could go up to CHF with Disco Turner replacing him in the back line.

Posted
19 minutes ago, 3183 Dee said:

Totally agree - absolutely love the bloke, busts a gut every time. He could go up to CHF with Disco Turner replacing him in the back line.

Agree 

JVR Tmac Petty the three and BBB as depth and at least a draft key forward again this year. 
Weid a replacement for Jacko. As2nd ruck and small forward play. 

Posted
4 hours ago, Graeme Yeats' Mullet said:

Petty was getting in McCarthy's face last night, and the wiping away tears response was predictable, and made Petty look like a sook. Petty should have just minded his own business all night and focused on his job

The whole incident spurred Brisbane on, and they who laughed last laughed loudest!

Petty will laugh last and loudest.

Posted
12 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Eye Goughers….

This one?

Posted
11 hours ago, Tom Dyson said:

Brisbane fans were disgraceful last night, thought they were better than that but that was absolute tripe from them, hope Geelong send them packing, bunch of arrogant tools. How they could find it in them to boo petts is beyond me. 

The fact anyone can defend Zorko as a captain is utterly contemptible.  

This was one of the reasons I didn't want this rematch so soon. Didn't trust everyone involved to have the mental fortitude to move past this with ease.

Classless morons. 

Posted
2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

This one?

How nice of this father to teach his daughter the value of showing your emotions. Enjoy therapy kid. 

Posted

In the 4 minutes he played as a forward, he took a screamer of a mark and subsequent goal, set up the Langdon goal and the Kozzie inexplicable miss.

Imagine what damage he could’ve done if played all night as a forward.