View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Tommy Bugg Graffiti

52 minutes ago, Chris said:

/Just an FYI, Hosier Lane is one of many lanes in Melbourne's CBD (one of the more famous an public ones). Many of the lanes are celebrated in part due to the graffiti, which is ever changing. 

Thanks.  I still would have thought anything done with paint is going to take a long time to produce and therefore wouldn't change that often.  How frequently does it change?

LOL Tom Bugg taking over the city

We needed a new cult hero after Max Gawn became a regular old superstar

33 minutes ago, Nasher said:

Thanks.  I still would have thought anything done with paint is going to take a long time to produce and therefore wouldn't change that often.  How frequently does it change?

Continuously

I was there last week and 2 walls changed completely over a couple of days

Edited by jackaub

37 minutes ago, Nasher said:

Lots. The next piece of graffiti will be painted over the top of this fairly quickly. I don't know how long on average things last but for 99% it would be measured in weeks at most. Given the football nature of this I would think it would be not long at all before an opposition supporter puts something over it. 

I noticed Bugg making that 'titanic' pose after his goal last week, in front of Jack Watts, as a bit of a send up of Watts's celebration of his own goal the previous week, mimicking the same stunned facial expression. 

When we are in the GF against the giants this guy needs to do a Jack Viney climbing up the beanstalk to slay the giants.

Can someone Pm this guy this idea.

Love it too.

What I also love though is when in full goading mode his hands never leave his sides - tempting opponent to take a swing. Very Patrick Swazey in 'Roadhouse'

One thing that hasn't really been mentioned in the discussion around Bugg's Instagram: when was the last time Melbourne was seen as provocative, arrogant or "unsociable"? I reckon the whole issue has helped our brand and helped chip away at the perception of the Club by the broader football world.

On the other hand, how much more provocative would the post have been if it was Bugg and, say, Jordon Lewis, rather than a slightly bemused-looking Jack Watts?

12 minutes ago, Allus Monk said:

One thing that hasn't really been mentioned in the discussion around Bugg's Instagram: when was the last time Melbourne was seen as provocative, arrogant or "unsociable"? I reckon the whole issue has helped our brand and helped chip away at the perception of the Club by the broader football world.

On the other hand, how much more provocative would the post have been if it was Bugg and, say, Jordon Lewis, rather than a slightly bemused-looking Jack Watts?

Provocative ....

cam bruce saying the "boys are really up this week"

I absolutely love this! Buggy is a legend!

It's by prominent street artist Lushsux. First time they've done a footy related one! Here are some of my other favorites they've done.

http://instagram.com/lushsux

Edited by Lord Travis

Got a write up in The Age also. The noteriety will make him more of a target. I hope the WC players find him a distraction as well.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/giant-mural-of-melbourne-footballer-tomas-bugg-appears-in-hosier-lane-20170622-gwwa9t.html

I've had a few people comment lately about our "unsociable" play and how they don't like us as much any more.

I told them all I'd rather we were hated than pitied. 

36 minutes ago, demonstone said:

I've had a few people comment lately about our "unsociable" play and how they don't like us as much any more.

Unsociable? Pfft!

If those flogs don't want to get hurt then they shouldn't have tried to steal our ball in the first place.

Talk about painting the town red! (and blue)...

urgh, sometimes I actually make myself cringe.

47 minutes ago, demonstone said:

Were they crying ?? poor things !!

Edited by beelzebub

4 hours ago, Demonland said:

I'm not sure how permanent the Hosier Lane street art is.

They change it regularly. There was one of Jonesy a while back. 

One of the coolest places in Melbourne! 

Edited by Jaded

5 hours ago, Demonland said:

I'm not sure how permanent the Hosier Lane street art is.

I used to work nearby. It gets painted over every week or so. I think there is a tacit agreement that art must be up at least a week. Sometime it stays longer but this one seems to occupy a fair anmount of wall real estate so my start to get chopped up quicker......

I was talking to someone today who is heavily connected to the Bullies and he said Bernie will probably be suspended before the end of the year, I informed him he's been done once this year already. He mentioned that Bern's an assassin. 

He also commented that he'd never seen a more aggressive Melbourne side,ever, he asked me if I had and I had to admit that I hadn't. Our reputation will continue to grow if we continue to play the way we are. 

Edited by Dante

13 minutes ago, Dante said:

He also commented that he'd never seen a more aggressive Melbourne side,ever, he asked me if I had and I had to admit that I hadn't. Our reputation will continue to grow if we continue to play the way we are. 

I have. The 87 - early 90's teams were full of some seriously hard players. They'd beat this team by about 5 goals. That said this team is full of babies. In two years I'd expect that to be reversed.