James Harmes - Rising Star

Excellent i always thought this kid would make it

keep it up Harmesy and we will once again get to the top end of the comp. 

59 minutes ago, AdamFarr said:

What a joke this competition is. Harmes had, what, 5 or 6 possessions that didn't either put his team mates under pressure or completely miss the target. Harmes may have got a lot of it in the first quarter, but after that he tailed off. They've looked at his stats and made this call. They clearly didn't watch the game. Petracca's game was far better and even though he's already been nominated, I'd argue that Oliver's game was also better.

If his decision making and disposal was better in this game, then this would have been the right call. But nope. However, hopefully he takes a lot of confidence from this game. That he can accumulate the ball now. He just needs to tidy his game up.

They weren't difficult ones but he kicked 3 goals from hard running to get forward, I think that counts for something. Laid 5 tackles. And I think too many seemed to blame him for a couple of bad disposals in the first quarter when both teams were contributing to the scrappy nature and plenty of Harmes' team mates made blues kicking it inside 50.

Petracca made plenty of mistakes in the first half as well, it wasn't until the 2nd half when he found more space and did more with it. Oliver can't win it twice. Really I thought Hunt played the best of the 3 eligible, with some really good intercept marks and fantastic line breaking. But it was Hunt's 4th game and Petracca's 2nd. I know Harmes has had a mixture of good and bad games but he's put together a decent amount of good performances (North and Coll games in particular) over the 7 rounds that even if his game didn't stand out from the others he's worthy of the recognition. 

Well done. Lifelong Melbourne supporter deserves to win something in his life. 

On a slightly related note, thanks to endless Facebook comments, I hope Darcy Byrne-Jones, and Port Adelaide for that matter, never win anything ever. 

2 hours ago, AdamFarr said:

What a joke this competition is. Harmes had, what, 5 or 6 possessions that didn't either put his team mates under pressure or completely miss the target. Harmes may have got a lot of it in the first quarter, but after that he tailed off. They've looked at his stats and made this call. They clearly didn't watch the game. Petracca's game was far better and even though he's already been nominated, I'd argue that Oliver's game was also better.

If his decision making and disposal was better in this game, then this would have been the right call. But nope. However, hopefully he takes a lot of confidence from this game. That he can accumulate the ball now. He just needs to tidy his game up.

what ????

Love that he's really run on this year. 

I also love that he's part of a bunch of 10-15 young blokes who are getting used to winning very early in their careers and will only have ever been coached by Roos and Goodwin. The past is just irrelevant to them.

4 hours ago, Deestroy All said:

On a slightly related note, thanks to endless Facebook comments, I hope Darcy Byrne-Jones, and Port Adelaide for that matter, never win anything ever. 

He has been brilliant this year to.  I'm surprised he hasn't been nominated to be honest. 

Just sayin, I liked Hunt's game more. More than Happy for Harmes to get it not undeserved overall but I reckon Hunt was stiff.

10 hours ago, AdamFarr said:

Wow. Extraordinary post.

36 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Wow. Extraordinary post.

Very. 

Harmes 73% DE

Trac 66% DE

Harmes more kicks, more contested possessions, more scoring involvements, 0 clangers and 2 clearances.

Trac had 1 clearance and 2 clangers. 

11 hours ago, AdamFarr said:

This is a poor post. 

Your usually better then this.

1 hour ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Very. 

Harmes 73% DE

Trac 66% DE

Harmes more kicks, more contested possessions, more scoring involvements, 0 clangers and 2 clearances.

Trac had 1 clearance and 2 clangers. 

When the game was live in the first half, Harmes played very well. 14 possessions in the 1st quarter alone.

Small issue which has been playing on my mind a bit:

Does anyone else notice how Hogan-centric Harmes is? I know these guys are good mates and James is obviously trying to build a on-field rapport with our No.1 key forward, but Harmes will seemingly kick to Hogan at all costs, sometimes to the detriment of our forward flow and scoring. I think its obvious to the point of predictable. Just interested to hear if anyone else has noticed this?

17 minutes ago, the fork said:

Does anyone else notice how Hogan-centric Harmes is? I know these guys are good mates and James is obviously trying to build a on-field rapport with our No.1 key forward, but Harmes will seemingly kick to Hogan at all costs, sometimes to the detriment of our forward flow and scoring. I think its obvious to the point of predictable. Just interested to hear if anyone else has noticed this?

I must say I haven't noticed that....will look more closely in the future.

Though one would have to say others seem to target Jesse too.

6 hours ago, the fork said:

I think it every time he gets the ball, because I want him to kick it to someone he has a rapport with. Anyone who's played any kind of sport where you pass a ball, you know it takes often years to know your team mate and how they like it delivered. And thing about Harmes is he can kick any style of kick you need. Not sure it's a bad thing if he is Hogan-centric, but must say I hadn't noticed him looking to him any more than the other 20?

Well both he and Hogan love to have a bit of a sook to the umpires i've noticed. They need to get it out of their games and earn their free kicks.

GWS Jacob Hopper gets the nomination for Round 8. 

Their production line of ready made players is astonishing. Just a lazy 32 possessions from the debutant!

I hope all AFL clubs dismantle them by cherry picking the agonising fantastic ready-made talent.

The Dogs are in for a hell of a game this coming week. Direct competitors for top 4 IMO.

I like Harmes, but right now he's a liability against good opposition.  He's being played wing/midfield and he's not quite up to it - yet.  

He's better suited to high half-forward.

• 1 year later...

What’s people’s thoughts about Harmes. Looks to improved his kicking and strength. Is he best 22?

Yes, best 22 in my view.

I've given my reasons in another thread. 

I think he has been fantastic in the last few weeks. His gut running is up there with the best in the team. How many times has he been that link man sprinting into space to help create a long range goal. Defensively I reckon he has helped create a lot of turnovers too. Hope he keeps it up, because the rise of guys like him, Hannan, ANB & Bugg have been crucial to our recent run. 

Imo, anyway...

Harmes is ahead of Bugg and ANB for mine.

His growth has been slow and steady. Week by week we may not notice too much but in comparison to his first few games he has developed very nicely. His past 3 games have been consistent, and as mentioned above, his gut running is beginning to be noticeable, especially late in games. I had him nowhere near our best 22 at the beginning of the year so he has been a pleasant surprise.

49 minutes ago, Maldonboy38 said:

His growth has been slow and steady. Week by week we may not notice too much but in comparison to his first few games he has developed very nicely. His past 3 games have been consistent, and as mentioned above, his gut running is beginning to be noticeable, especially late in games. I had him nowhere near our best 22 at the beginning of the year so he has been a pleasant surprise.

Every tight game this year. ANB too.