View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

GAMEDAY - Round 7

Looking forward to a big day starting with a pre-match brunch at the RACV Royal Pines. Robbo, Goody and Jeff White to address the gathering. Wondering if anyone will ask what happened last week. Magnificent weather.

Edited by M_9

1 hour ago, Whispering_Jack said:

We haven't won a game at Carrara since 1990 when we were in the midst of the recession we had to have.

It's time to break another hoodoo but can we do it if Gary Ablett Junior gets 40 touches?

Can Gary Ablett Jnr get 40 touches with 2 broken shoulders?

Viney should break the other one today for impudence.

I think the midfield will be where it's won or lost... They get on top and give Lynch quick ball then wer're in trouble. Having said that we are ranked #1 for centre clearances and the Suns are ranked #12 so if we get first use and get it into Hogan we are a good chance. 

Gawn should be able to take advantage of a relatively inexperienced Currie. The Gold Coasts run and carry is what worries me, just like the Saints last week. 

Jack Martin is one we have to watch for across half forward his played some good footy this year and if he gets going is hard to stop.

I don't know what to make of this game being up there I'm slightly reserved in my confidence but they did lose by 20 goals last week. Dees by less than a kick. 

Edited by JV7

• Author
1 hour ago, Biffen said:

Can Gary Ablett Jnr get 40 touches with 2 broken shoulders?

Viney should break the other one today for impudence.

We should have been asking a similar question last week with an almost mortally wounded Nick Riewoldt who was under an injury cloud and couldn't see out the previous game.

Call it MFCSS if you like but there's something about Melbourne that brings out the best in supposedly broken down hacks. I just hope that our coaching staff make a mental note of Ablett's number before the game today because they obviously didn't know who #12 was last week.

We are rooted if (like last week) every key back man stands 30m away from Lynch pointing fingers at each other. 

Jeff White son Kalani will be running out with Nathan Jones today.

One to watch in the future father and son stakes.

More hopeful than confident today. Not sure about the team changes and fourth week in a row playing a team on the rebound. Play at our best and we win anything else and we go 3 and 4.

Sitting at the observation deck of Q1 after demolishing brekky, cracker of a day, the casino god's were very kind last night, not only did we walkout handsome winners but the giant bearded lumberjack was having a quite punts there as well. Signs are good for the weekend festivities

1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Jeff White son Kalani will be running out with Nathan Jones today.

One to watch in the future father and son stakes.

Never be a footballer with a name like that!!

Seems like we say it most weeks, but this is a massive game for us today. 

2 hours ago, JV7 said:

I think the midfield will be where it's won or lost... They get on top and give Lynch quick ball then wer're in trouble. Having said that we are ranked #1 for centre clearances and the Suns are ranked #12 so if we get first use and get it into Hogan we are a good chance. 

Gawn should be able to take advantage of a relatively inexperienced Currie. The Gold Coasts run and carry is what worries me, just like the Saints last week. 

Jack Martin is one we have to watch for across half forward his played some good footy this year and if he gets going is hard to stop.

I don't know what to make of this game being up there I'm slightly reserved in my confidence but they did lose by 20 goals last week. Dees by less than a kick. 

It's a coin flip to which Demons will turn up today. But playing a side that lost by 20 goals last week reads ominous in the tea leaves. 

34 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

Never be a footballer with a name like that!!

But could be a future character on Game of Thrones.

Oliver and Trac playing together for the first time. :) 

Here's to the many centre bounces they will share together over the next 10 years.

Dees by 27 points.

Should be worth climbing a tree to watch,hey Ethan.

4 minutes ago, Emerald said:

Dees by 27 points.

Should be worth climbing a tree to watch,hey Ethan.

Time will tell. Checking those scores last weekend was probably the most disapointment I've been climbing a tree. 

We are better than them. They are coming off a big loss and so are we, but overall we have played good football in 2016. Will be hard for them to bounce back a 120-point loss.

Sun by 5 goals.

Why do we always get teams on the rebound?? It almost never ends well (anyone forgotten playing Essendon after the Saints thrashed them by 100 points last year?) This game is no sure thing and I'm terrified of what our defenders will serve up this week.

Though not as terrifying as playing the Bulldogs next week if Adelaide thump them tonight. God help us if Stringer's poor form continues and he spends a week under the media spotlight.

Dear players,

Todays game plan:

See ball..... get ball.....kick it to the player with the number 1 on the back of his jumper, in front of the goals.

That is all.

Oh yeah and man up on Ablett the rest of you...

I hope our defensive structure doesn't break down like last weekend.

The amount of times I saw scrambling Melbourne players last week run with their backs to the ball trying to scurry back and get a spoil in as it was being delivered to an unmanned forward player last weekend was cringe worthy.

Really hope this is rectified today.  

Last week was horribly frustrating to watch at the game - felt very similar to the loss last year against the Doggies at Etihad - like we just didn't know what to do once the opposition had the ball so we stopped and let them run right past us, with free opposition players everywhere overlapping and running in waves, creating the illusion that we have fewer players on the ground. This can't happen again today - we need to be switched on and play to our strengths - contested and tight footy. We need to lock them in with manic pressure and force every possession of theirs to be under considerable heat and create turnovers. If they get on the outside and start overlapping were done as we don't have the leg speed to keep up.

I've made the trip up and it's a stunning day - very warm in the sun but that will be gone by the time of the first bounce.

My first interstate game and hoping we can put 4 quarters of good footy together as I think thats all it will take. We've travelled pretty well this year so far (NAB games and Vs North) and this should bring the team some confidence.

42 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

But could be a future character on Game of Thrones.

Sounds like a pro surfer to me.

In all seriousness, it is a name of Hawaiian origin, isn't it? Is White's wife from that area?

3 hours ago, KrazyJay said:

Dees 1-39 covered by total game score over 188.5

I'm excited!:pj:

What odds did you get?