Demonland has made the difficult decision to not permit this platform to be used to discuss & debate the off-field issues relating to the Melbourne Football Club including matters currently being litigated between the Club & former Board members, board elections, the issue of illicit drugs in footy, the culture at the club & the personal issues & allegations against some of our players & officials ...

We do not take these issues & this decision lightly & of course we believe that these serious matters affecting the club we love & are so passionate about are worthy of discussion & debate & I wish we could provide a place where these matters can be discussed in a civil & respectful manner.

However these discussions unfortunately invariably devolve into areas that may be defamatory, libelous, spread unsubstantiated rumours & can effect the mental health of those involved. Even discussion & debate of known facts or media reports can lead to finger pointing, blame & personal attacks.

Our moderating team are all volunteers & cannot moderate the forum 24/7 & as a consequence problematic content that contravenes our rules & standards may go unnoticed for some time before it can be removed.

Dees to wear Aboriginal Armbands

Bluey's Dad

not true, we don't like real arrogance... who does

if a tall poppy behaves like an arrogant superior twirp, then they will be roundly disliked.

so success isn't a recipe for arrogance or for being disliked.

keith urban is successful. dame edna is successful, rolf harris is successful, oh hang on, there's something coming back to me?

Not your best choices there.

Its actually closer to what i wanted to say. The big headed tall poppy syndrome. Alive and well here. We dont celebrate the arrogant, im so good types, like they do in the US.

Instead of aboriginal arm bands why not armbands that say Adam Goodes. I mean its a show of support for one human not for a race. Keep the politics out of it , FCS.

Although this is a complex issue I'm sure a lot of it is societies push back on PC. Right or wrong i reckon that is playing a part. Sydney statement inflamed the situation which makes me tend to think this is the case. So take the politics out of it and by all means show solidarity to a fellow athlete who's indisputedly feeling bullied.

Edited by Munga

Instead of aboriginal arm bands why not armbands that say Adam Goodes. I mean its a show of support for one human not for a race. Keep the politics out of it , FCS.

Although this is a complex issue I'm sure a lot of it is societies push back on PC. Right or wrong i reckon that is playing a part. Sydney statement inflamed the situation which makes me tend to think this is the case. So take the politics out of it and by all means show solidarity to a fellow athlete who's indisputedly feeling bullied.

If you think this is about one person then you aren't listening.

They say that unless youve felt racial or religious oppression personally then you dont know what it really means. Thats why I find much of the discourse were having at the moment so distasteful; and some of the excuses given to justify the constant booing of Adam Goodes are so patently pathetic that it beggars belief.

I support the players stance of wearing Aboriginal colours in support of Adam Goodes who is a great Australian and without doubt a person of quality which I measure far beyond those who boo him.

For several years I have also worn a symbol of my support for our Aboriginal people in honour of those members of the community who on 6 December, 1938 led a march down Collins Street to the German consulate where they attempted to present a petition to the German consul-general, D.W. Dreschler in protest against the "cruel persecution" of Jews in Germany in the wake of Kristallnacht -- the night of broken glass when the Jews were targeted for killings or bashings, and Jewish businesses and homes were smashed.

We know where that led and I wear my black bracelet in honour of Reverend William Cooper who organised what I understand was the only protest in the outside world at that time. For more about Reverend Cooper, see here.

This entire controversy is bringing shame on the country and the sport and I salute our indigenous people and Adam Goodes for the dignified way in which they have put up with this tragic episode.

Yes...cant argue with much of that nor any need too.

Cant help but feel it has an element of straw in so much as Adam Goodes is not this Rev Cooper.

Tying it all to this is a furphy.

This is and always has been about Adam Goodes the footballer/man.

When someone stuffs up it can be rather convenient to grab for the best 'out'

Two wrongs don't make a right i was given to understand.

What clubs and players do is up to them I suppose.

Edited by beelzebub

They say that unless you’ve felt racial or religious oppression personally then you don’t know what it really means. That’s why I find much of the discourse we’re having at the moment so distasteful; and some of the excuses given to justify the constant booing of Adam Goodes are so patently pathetic that it beggars belief.

I support the players’ stance of wearing Aboriginal colours in support of Adam Goodes who is a great Australian and without doubt a person of quality which I measure far beyond those who boo him.

For several years I have also worn a symbol of my support for our Aboriginal people in honour of those members of the community who on 6 December, 1938 led a march down Collins Street to the German consulate where they attempted to present a petition to the German consul-general, D.W. Dreschler in protest against the "cruel persecution" of Jews in Germany in the wake of Kristallnacht -- the night of broken glass – when the Jews were targeted for killings or bashings, and Jewish businesses and homes were smashed.

We know where that led and I wear my black bracelet in honour of Reverend William Cooper who organised what I understand was the only protest in the outside world at that time. For more about Reverend Cooper, see here.

This entire controversy is bringing shame on the country and the sport and I salute our indigenous people and Adam Goodes for the dignified way in which they have put up with this tragic episode.

Correct me if I am wrong WJ, but I believe there was strong support for Jews shown in London in Cable St,Notting Hill and in the poorer parts of town who fought the Fascist marchers.

The fascists had strong support from within the upper classes,the royal family itself,which was Germanic,and other Tories,as they still do today!

I really do support Goodes in this instance and Jews generally.

I can see the suffering both races/tribes have suffered from genocide.

Goodes is turning personal dislike into an awareness raiser, which is fine.

I think the booing has tarred many people with the same brush, to use a quaint expression.

I will pick a fight with Collingwood fans today and ridicule their children in support!!!

War paint. I like it!

I'd be up for our entire team wearing Marilyn Manson style makeup keeping with the demon theme.

Sorry for the derail,back to the Hydra.

Correct me if I am wrong WJ, but I believe there was strong support for Jews shown in London in Cable St,Notting Hill and in the poorer parts of town who fought the Fascist marchers.

The fascists had strong support from within the upper classes,the royal family itself,which was Germanic,and other Tories,as they still do today!

I really do support Goodes in this instance and Jews generally.

I can see the suffering both races/tribes have suffered from genocide.

Goodes is turning personal dislike into an awareness raiser, which is fine.

I think the booing has tarred many people with the same brush, to use a quaint expression.

I will pick a fight with Collingwood fans today and ridicule their children in support!!!

You raise some interesting points.

Look at the first sentence in WJ's post - that is the crux of what's happening.

I hope this doesn't sound pithy in comparison but think about how we as Melbourne supporters are expected to put up with comments about our team and how bad it is and the patronising remarks people make about us and the club and then multiply the hurt it causes a thousandfold and consider what it means to be called an ape and a monkey, especially in a society where the majority of your people have been murdered, bashed, brutalised and raped within a society that considers you and your people a joke and they then tell you, well we're booing you constantly at every move you make during a game, week after week, because you play to get cheap free kicks. Sheesh.

I thought the boo-brigade would have run out of breath defending their position by now. What, with all that incessant booing they have to partake in directed at one particular individual to argue a complex political point about rights to free 'speech'?

This is being dealt with at all levels of the game, with the peanut in charge, and now the club captains weighing in. I have a feeling that there will be pushback from the "racist" element, and they will continue unabated, at least in the short term. I will hazard a guess that the majority of people who simply dont like Goodes, for reasons other than race, will check their actions for a while, as the media spotlight will certainly be on the crowd, when next Goodes plays.

Let people boo Ablett if they wish. Its possible to dislike him for thinking he is greater than everyone else, but not give a stuff about his religion. Until this week, I had no idea he was a "bible basher", and I really couldn't care less.

Maybe the more politically correct among us, can draw up a,list of acceptable boos, and circulate them, so the ignorant cretins in the crowd, will know if they are doing something that will prevent a visit from Santa each year.

Im really not sure why we (demonlanders), engage each other in stuff like this. Never changes any opinions.

You seriously can't see the difference between a player being booed for something they've done during a particular game (or against a particular club such as Scully and Frawley leaving) and Goodes being booed every time he walks on the field from the minute he touches the footy? Come on. Edited by Dr. Gonzo

The project last night on channel 10 went back & played all the interviews & speeches that Goodes done .... I think many of these people who are booing should watch this & get the facts.....

Stay strong Adam don't take a step back in your beliefs

The project last night on channel 10 went back & played all the interviews & speeches that Goodes done .... I think many of these people who are booing should watch this & get the facts.....

I hope Waleed Aly told everyone how to feel and behave.

As much as I support Goodes, Aly likes to muddy the political waters and is an apologist for his insane religion.

I'm totally over his worn out concern.

Fairfax has an editorial today in support of Goodes.

The PM,Packer et al have come out as well.

Lots of political mileage to be made by opposing the anonymous BOO faction.

i will puke when I see Aboriginals linked to Muslims in some way ,which he will do,if he hasn't already.

I don't know what is worse, the project, or the loonies over at the ABC. Toss up.

I hope Waleed Aly told everyone how to feel and behave.

As much as I support Goodes, Aly likes to muddy the political waters and is an apologist for his insane religion.

I'm totally over his worn out concern.

Fairfax has an editorial today in support of Goodes.

The PM,Packer et al have come out as well.

Lots of political mileage to be made by opposing the anonymous BOO faction.

i will puke when I see Aboriginals linked to Muslims in some way ,which he will do,if he hasn't already.

Waleed Aly and his type are a scourge on society. Islamist apologist and will link any topic to further the claim that Islam is a religion of peace. By the way that term did not exist until coined by the Bush administration in the days following 9/11 . So ironic that those that opposed Bush the most are the ones that stand by that hollow slogan.

There is a real issue to help protect goodes now that it has got out of hand but lets not be naive to think the left aren't climbing over each other to make this as divisive as possible.

Politicians - Wake Up ... It's time to stand up & have our Koori's heritage firmly planted into our kids Australian history classes

They taught it when I was in high school, in year 8 or 9, we had 6 months of learning their history and culture.

Boring as batshite.

They didn't really achieve at do anything compared to the rest of the world.

Better to learn about the rise and fall of Rome etc

They taught it when I was in high school, in year 8 or 9, we had 6 months of learning their history and culture.

Boring as batshite.

Except, you know, figure out how to look after the environment

Boring as batshite.

Yes i agree, its a heritage for us al to be proud of but ill go one further. Lets start mandatory teaching in manners , respect for others and etiquette. the youth today can be such rude little c*nts . All the aforementioned subjects would more than cover whats happening to goodes. Forget his race, just focus on being respectful. If that was the stance taken by the powers that be, i reckon there would've been much less resistance to the pleas to stop booing. Keep the politics out of it and just reach out to peoples decency. Its missing in the younger generations.

It's hardly the fault of the youth, they are mostly fatherless. We like in a fatherless nation.

Boring as batshite.

They achieved as much as any other peoples without access to 1 of the 4 staples required for an advanced civilisation. No geographical region without access to either wheat, rice, potatoes or corn ever produced a civilisation. A staple crop that can produce excess food is needed before specialisation can develop.

Edited by furious d