View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Phil Walsh found dead overnight

Wow. Just wow.This is about as shocking as it gets.

He was a full on, take no prisioners kind of guy that seemed to be mellowing a little....

We don't know the background but ordinary families have to deal with all sorts of daily life pressures. I feel for what they are going through.

I feel sick. Awful story. I really feel for all involved.

Summed it up perfectly.

OMG. Puts losing (or winning) a game of footy into perspective, doesn't it.

The daily tragedies of domestic violence is largely anonymous to the general public.

This just re emphasizes it all

Tragic, lives ripped apart by voilence happens all too often.

Thoughts with his family, friends, community and the Crows.

Tragic for a family to be shattered like this.

He also spent a long time at Port fc so they must be hurting deeply like Adelaide fc.

Unexpectedly reunited with his very good mate Dean Bailey.

Just heard on the radio the son has been taken for a psych evaluation after stabbing his parents. What a devastating tragedy.

A family shattered, a man dead. Terrible news. Puts our own small problems into perspective. RIP Phil Walsh.

What the actual [censored]!?

RIP to the Walsh family this is an absolute tragedy.

We should keep this thread just on football related matters. All speculation involving what may have happened overnight should be deleted both out of respect for those involved and to avoid prejudicing any legal issues.

As to what happens to football this week, I suspect the round might have been postponed if a match hadn't already been played. But, given the game played last night it makes postponement much harder (but not impossible) to deal with. If the games proceed, I'd like, as a minimum, to see every player with a black armband and every match begin with a minutes silence.

We should keep this thread just on football related matters. All speculation involving what may have happened overnight should be deleted both out of respect for those involved and to avoid prejudicing any legal issues.

As to what happens to football this week, I suspect the round might have been postponed if a match hadn't already been played. But, given the game played last night it makes postponement much harder (but not impossible) to deal with. If the games proceed, I'd like, as a minimum, to see every player with a black armband and every match begin with a minutes silence.

Count the match that has been played as null and void and abandon the round. I'm sure Port and Sydney would understand.

Feel for the wife, her son kills her Husband, that's a lot to deal with.

Apparently she was also stabbed.

I didn't believe it at first. Surely something like this couldn't be real?

Very sad and tragic news. As for the round it should go ahead with appropriate respects paid. I'm sure Phil Walsh would have wanted it that way.

Possibly, but can the players focus on footy, especially Adelaide players? Let's remember that Walsh worked at a lot of AFL clubs, so this is devastating for so many players and coaches.

Thanks for cleaning this thread up mods. I have to admit to knowing very little about Walsh beyond the fact that he had played at various clubs and coached the Crows, but after reading the following, I have to say I have a lot of admiration for him as a person:

Phil Walsh called himself, self-deprecatingly, "a bogan from Hamilton". In fact, he was something of a Renaissance man who learned to speak Japanese and found inspiration in art.

Only last month, musing about his team Adelaide's chances, he reached for what might have been in Vincent van Gogh's head when he painted Sunflowers and perceived the great painter's frustration in trying to capture the essence of the flowers and their colours.

He said he'd visited the van Gogh art museum in Amsterdam

"I'll sound again a bit like a weirdo but great art comes out of a level of frustration," Walsh said."And I looked at that painting Sunflowers. And for a bogan from Hamilton like myself, I could actually see beauty in that frustration.

"So although our fans are frustrated, we're frustrated, we like to think there's some masterpieces still to be painted this year."

He began learning Japanese after being hit by a bus in 2012 while holidaying in Peru. He described the experience of almost dying as life-changing, and decided he needed to expand his horizons. And so he set out to learn how to speak Japanese fluently.

Quoted from: http://www.smh.com.au/afl/afl-news/live-adelaide-crows-coach-phil-walsh-found-dead-20150702-gi455w.html

Bloody awful. Vale Mr. Walsh

I hope this time the MFC website uploads a statement on behalf of the club and its supporters.

I recall shortly after John McCarthy's passing every club bar ours and another uploaded a message.

I recall every other club doing it in supoort of us when the great Jim Stynes passed.

So please MFC, upload something this time on behalf of the club and the supporters like us who read and write on the forums.

R.I.P Phil Walsh, such a tradgedy.

I hope this time the MFC website uploads a statement on behalf of the club and its supporters.

I recall shortly after John McCarthy's passing every club bar ours and another uploaded a message.

I recall every other club doing it in supoort of us when the great Jim Stynes passed.

So please MFC, upload something this time on behalf of the club and the supporters like us who read and write on the forums.

R.I.P Phil Walsh, such a tradgedy.

Our thoughts and deepest sympathies are with the family and friends of Phil Walsh and the @Adelaide_FC at this time.