Watson11 2,252 Posted September 25, 2021 Posted September 25, 2021 Special mention to Jack Viney in the GF. Big 2nd half. He was huge in the centre square and started most of those clearances that led to the quick goals at the end of the 3rd with either first touches or just bulldozing to make space. Key part of the turnaround. 2 Quote
rpfc 29,027 Posted September 25, 2021 Posted September 25, 2021 12 clearances. I don’t want to pick on certain people that doubted this bloke but you don’t know footy. If you doubt this bloke - you don’t know footy. He is one of immense character and fight. Jack Viney makes me cry… 3 4 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted September 25, 2021 Posted September 25, 2021 He made me cry alright Quote
KingDingAling 3,758 Posted September 25, 2021 Posted September 25, 2021 Viney will improve as well. Now the pressure is off he is one we have that could be more settled now. Did a lot of 1% plays tonight. Be hard to find more sacrificial players than Viney and Brayshaw. Quote
deebug 1,754 Posted September 25, 2021 Posted September 25, 2021 23 minutes ago, KingDingAling said: Viney will improve as well. Now the pressure is off he is one we have that could be more settled now. Did a lot of 1% plays tonight. Be hard to find more sacrificial players than Viney and Brayshaw. Both were amazing tonight🥰 Quote
Grapeviney 9,929 Posted June 23, 2022 Author Posted June 23, 2022 Look at the Brisbane player in the background - pleading with the umpire to show some mercy and stop the game before someone dies. 5 3 5 Quote
Nasher 33,686 Posted June 23, 2022 Posted June 23, 2022 4 hours ago, Grapeviney said: Look at the Brisbane player in the background - pleading with the umpire to show some mercy and stop the game before someone dies. That play though. Viney’s bulldozer tackle, where he stays upright and impacts the immediate next contest. The small forwards all looking for each other in traffic, the vision and skill of Bedford to get it to the only person inside 50 in some space in Spargo, who has time, and nails it. Pure. 5 3 Quote
Lucifers Hero 40,716 Posted June 23, 2022 Posted June 23, 2022 4 hours ago, Grapeviney said: Look at the Brisbane player in the background - pleading with the umpire to show some mercy and stop the game before someone dies. That was surreal. Viney flattened him, didn't break stride; just kept running. Literally ran through him as if he wasn't there. 4 1 Quote
Swooper1987 3,322 Posted June 23, 2022 Posted June 23, 2022 That was one of the really great performances by an individual last night. Right up there with Gawn's game against the Swans, some of Oliver's and Petracca's dominant performances. It was everything that you'd expect from a club leader and more, and a reminder, if we needed it, as to why this guy is so important if we are to go back to back. 6 4 Quote
Sydee 4,684 Posted June 23, 2022 Posted June 23, 2022 5 minutes ago, Swooper1987 said: That was one of the really great performances by an individual last night. Right up there with Gawn's game against the Swans, some of Oliver's and Petracca's dominant performances. It was everything that you'd expect from a club leader and more, and a reminder, if we needed it, as to why this guy is so important if we are to go back to back. Totally agree with this - set the standard for others to follow and didn’t let up for one moment - incredible and inspiring 2 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted June 23, 2022 Posted June 23, 2022 Not gonna say this was the best game I've seen Viney play. That's dumb. However it was probably the best 'in and under' game I've seen him play. He bounced around like a pinball and he would dive for the ball in a contest he'd be back up with it in no time. Tackled hard and got stuck in immediately when Bedford got taken out. A true skipper's game, looking forward to him leading team out over the next month. 3 Quote
Lucifers Hero 40,716 Posted June 23, 2022 Posted June 23, 2022 5 minutes ago, layzie said: Not gonna say this was the best game I've seen Viney play. That's dumb. However it was probably the best 'in and under' game I've seen him play. He bounced around like a pinball and he would dive for the ball in a contest he'd be back up with it in no time. Tackled hard and got stuck in immediately when Bedford got taken out. A true skipper's game, looking forward to him leading team out over the next month. What really impressed about Viney's game was not only were his tackles brutal, he kept his feet and found space after a contested possession enabling him to compose and find a target. His disposal was excellent. 6 2 Quote
waynewussell 6,976 Posted June 23, 2022 Posted June 23, 2022 12 minutes ago, layzie said: Not gonna say this was the best game I've seen Viney play. That's dumb. However it was probably the best 'in and under' game I've seen him play. He bounced around like a pinball and he would dive for the ball in a contest he'd be back up with it in no time. Tackled hard and got stuck in immediately when Bedford got taken out. A true skipper's game, looking forward to him leading team out over the next month. yeah, nah... that was the best game I have seen Viney play! 2 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted June 23, 2022 Posted June 23, 2022 1 minute ago, Lucifers Hero said: What really impressed about Viney's game was not only were his tackles brutal, he kept his feet and found space after a contested possession enabling him to compose and find a target. His disposal was excellent. That's it Luci, I can't quite describe it but it felt like he was playing in a jumping castle and was able to bounce back up to his feet no matter how hard he fought for the ball. He would get that yard of space and deliver, he could literally do no wrong in that area! Remember when people always said Viney was like a Rugby player who always tried to drive through tackles with the footy? Tell you what they had a tough time even laying a glove on him last night! 2 Quote
Clintosaurus 7,953 Posted June 23, 2022 Posted June 23, 2022 Kiddy Coleman will remember that for a bit. 1 Quote
Little Goffy 14,963 Posted June 23, 2022 Posted June 23, 2022 Career best form since the Eagles game. By the numbers he has been a top 5 midfielder since then, but there has also been a quality to those numbers. Getting a few quick evasive steps in, keeping his feet in tackles that take the opponent off their feet, and a mental state of continuous hunting. Looks like poor Clayton has yet another team mate who will be 'stealing' Brownlow votes off him. 2 Quote
Vipercrunch 2,864 Posted June 23, 2022 Posted June 23, 2022 I got quite worried when he grabbed the top of his hamstring. Very relieved it was a corky. He was superb though for all the reasons mentioned above. I loved his couple of fend offs also 💪 🤛. 3 Quote
monoccular 17,760 Posted June 23, 2022 Posted June 23, 2022 That was an most inspirational captains game rivaling Max’s 2021 PF v Cats. Made me cry tears of joy. 🤣😂 5 Quote
Sydee 4,684 Posted June 23, 2022 Posted June 23, 2022 8 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said: piledriver 2 2 7 Quote
DubDee 26,674 Posted June 23, 2022 Posted June 23, 2022 How many blokes did he hurt? tore down Harris Andrews and hurt his shoulder too 3 Quote
chook fowler 19,772 Posted June 23, 2022 Posted June 23, 2022 One tough bastard and seems to have gained an extra yard of pace. A great leader 2 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted June 23, 2022 Posted June 23, 2022 17 minutes ago, waynewussell said: yeah, nah... that was the best game I have seen Viney play! It was very unique to other games he's played that's for sure! Quote
DeeZee 7,496 Posted June 23, 2022 Posted June 23, 2022 He said in an interview recently , that we haven’t seen the best of him yet. Looks like it has arrived. 2 1 Quote