Changes vs Cats

Bang Bang Bang

Given the injury news today, and the fact there's still no news of anyother rookies being elevated, i'm now going with.

OUT: Grimes (inj), Pedersen (inj), Michie (was poor), Neal-Bullen (victim of lack of run)

IN: Bail (need run), Dawes (for Pedersen), Fitzpatrick (cover for the cats talls), Terlich (no other half back options on the senior list)

FB: Fitzpatrick, Dunn, Jetta

HB: Cross, T. McDonald, Terlich

C: Lumumba, Vince, Tyson

HF: Watts, Dawes, Bail

FF: Howe, Hogan, Garlett

FOLL: Gawn, Brayshaw, N. Jones

INT: Riley, Toumpas, Viney

SUB: Stretch

EMERG: Jamar, M. Jones, Neal-Bullen

Out - Ped (inj), Grimes (inj)

In - Harmes, Fitzy

B - N.Jetta - LDunn - D.Cross

HB - J.Toumpas - T.McDonald - H.Lumumba

C - J.Watts - D.Tyson - B.Vince

HF - B.Stretch - J.Howe - A.Brayshaw

F - J.Garlett - J.Hogan - J.Fitzpatrick

R - M.Gawn - J,VIney - N.Jones

Bench - ANB - V.Michie - J.Harmes

Sub - A.Riley

Call me crazy, but that team actually doesn't look too bad when you consider the length of the injury list and lack of depth. I'd be tempted to play JKH in place of one of the 4 on the bench but he may not be match fit.

Fitzy in as a forward target and relief ruckman for Maxy.

Shockingly I am not filled with dread about this game..Makes a big difference that we now have so many players who actually have a crack as well as some exciting kids running around.

Would be amazing if it all clicked this weekend.

Edited by hogans_heroes

jetta t.mcd terlich

lamumba dunn cross

toumpas viney vince

watts dawes brayshaw

howe hogan gartlett

gawn tyson n.jones

stretch michie harmes sub.riley

emerg. mckenzie ANB Bail

injured x10

casey : newton fitzpatrick mckenzie o.mcd bail m.jones spencer jamar JKH ANB White King

in. harmes, terlich, dawes

outs. grimes & pedersen (inj) ANB

I'm not excited about Terlich being in the side at the best of times, let alone when he's not really in strong VFL form. If we can avoid playing him, I hope we do.

Pedersen going down means we need to play someone who can play second ruck. Dawes is going to be borderline fit enough just to play CHF. If he comes in, we'll need someone else to do the second ruck work. That may mean Fitzy comes in and runs with Blicavs, for example, defends him when he goes forward maybe. I'm not sure if that will work, but Dawes can't ruck. The only other option would be to play Spencer or Jamar instead of Dawes, rotate between FF and the ruck. But I don't like the thought of that, we'll have pretty low forward pressure with one of Gawn and Jamar/Spencer permanently in the forward line.

I don't see anything in Riley other than tackling, but I see a more rounded footballer in Michie (even though the two were both equally terrible on the weekend). If we're going to drop one (I'm not sure we will), I'd hope it's Riley before Michie. Swapping Riley/Michie for Bail/M Jones doesn't really do anything for the side long term though, we may not bother.

Bought my ticket for Sunday, looking forward to it.

Just hoping it's better than 2 years ago, which was probably the worst game I've ever been to. I got drenched by rain that I didn't know was forecast. Probably could've been another 186 if it wasn't so wet, we were deplorable on that day

In - Harmes, Fitzy

Sub - A.Riley

Call me crazy, but that team actually doesn't look too bad when you consider the length of the injury list and lack of depth. I'd be tempted to play JKH in place of one of the 4 on the bench but he may not be match fit.

Shockingly I am not filled with dread about this game..Makes a big difference that we now have so many players who actually have a crack as well as some exciting kids running around.

Not bad HH.

We are pretty good inside with clearances and contested (we are close to the league average on both) but lack run and spread versus most other teams if using UP as an indicator (down 19% vs the league ave so far this season).

As a result of the spread problem we don't get into the clear as often as other teams (on average) giving us sufficient space/time to deliver very accurately or in fact deliver as often inside 50, down 19% on the league average here.

We are probably therefore bombing it (both short & deep) most of the time under pressure i50. Too me this calls for a strong marking tall at CHF playing the arc and higher as needed to bring the short kicks to ground or hopefully mark it and hold it inside our 50 for longer/take a shot on goal if within range. This is in addition to the Hulk playing a shallower pattern inside say 40 metres. The rest (apart from Jeffy who should be getting front and square or reading off the packs) are decoys, clearing out the 50 area for whoever plays the CHF role and the Hulk. The reason i'm keen on this is that with limited i50 entries versus most other clubs, we need to make the most of them! Having an ineffective player at CHF can't be helping our cause.

SO who do we use in the CHF role? Do we have someone suitable and effective? Probably not right now obviously. But... who could we try there? Your suggestion of Fitzy i think is the best alternative right now considering the following.....

• Dawes has been tried and tested here without much success at all
  • Pedo is injured atm so cant be considered (but would like to see him try to hold down this role for most of a match at some point later this year given he averages the most marks i50 behind Hogan)
  • Fitzy is 3rd in marks i50 (averages) behind Hogan and Pedo, which is quite a feat given he has spent much of his time down back!
  • Fitzy has a 90% DE%. Extremely high for a tall but possibly due to the roll down back for significant time during his 3 matches so far. Does this mean he can kick fairly straight, hit other targets on the lead i50? Who knows. But i'd like to give him a a go as a permanent CHF at least for a few matches to see how he rolls. Rotate Pedo and T-Mac through here later on as well. Not expecting T-Mac will be the man here but hey what's to lose. We aren't making finals anytime soon.
So who do we play down back to cover for Garland and Pedo being out as well?

One option to me is Dawes. Ineffective up forward personally we have nothing to lose. Can't clunk a mark but surely he can punch from behind and kill balls. He can also see what's happening up the ground at CHB and marshall the troops.... you know like yelling at them to get back and flood! Stuff like that! :lol:

Dawes can also relieve Gawn (or whoever it is...Spencil maybe) in the ruck when resting.

So for me it's

Out: Pedo (inj), Grimes (inj) and ANB (omit)

In: Dawes (to cover Pedo at CHB and as back up ruckman). Fitzy (to take the CHF role...this time around. I would also try Pedo and T-Mac here at some point in other matches) and

Bail (or keep Michie for one more role of the die but NOT as sub...lets see if he can play if keeping him in).

And no i'm not endorsing Bail or Michie as the future of the club nor in our best 22 right now. Just saying that's our options ...for this particular match.

I think we need to stop debuting players for now. Stretch and ANB looked underdone on the weekend.

Riley doesn't look much better than Mckenzie to me.

Out pedo.stretch.ANB.Grimes

In. JKH.Dawes.Spencer.M Jones

In - Harmes, Fitzy

Sub - A.Riley

mate..do you seriously think we have a chance of winning with Stretch,ANB, Harmes? They will learn a serious lesson down at SS, not a good idea. We need to bring in some more experienced players.

Once again, Dawes does not have match fitness for Casey!!! He's almost no chance to come in this week.

The Casey report mentions Newton being concussed and Jordie Mc. having "a bad corkie" before half time. Jordie had to come back on in the last (and I think kicked the winning goal) because Newton couldn't come back on & they had to stick to Dawes' limited game time. It was considered that increasing Dawes' game time - he played less than half the game - was a bigger risk than Jordie with a bad corkie. Surely after a calf injury they wouldn't bring him straight in if he can't play anywhere near a full game for Casey.

Fitzy, or even Spencer, are far more likely than Dawes. Fitzy is also a better ruck chop-out, and will be needed as a physical match-up if Hawkins has a day out (and after Cloke's 7 straight and Riewold slotting goals from each pocket on the boundary line, that's on the cards). He also offers far more as KPF than Spencer or Jamar. Or they may play Watts at CHF & Bail on the wing, where he's far more suited than defensive forward.

And when we've got a number of games against sides in the lower half, it wouldn't be smart to debut someone (White or Harmes, for example) against Geelong.

So we're far more likely to see Terlich again.

I like ANB, but he looked completely at sea, partly because he was playing out of position as HFF. He's an in-and-under on-baller; if they don't play him there, he's going to struggle. He'd be better to play on the ball for Casey than HFF or FP in seniors.

So the ins are likely to be Fitzy, Terlich & Bail. It's far from ideal, but at the present time it's all we got.

Edited by Akum

mate..do you seriously think we have a chance of winning with Stretch,ANB, Harmes? They will learn a serious lesson down at SS, not a good idea. We need to bring in some more experienced players.

I understand what youre saying but Geelong will field an inexperienced team too and have lost some good players to injury this week

It's funny that i only want to consider Rookies for this match haha!

Much prefer:

King (9 possessions, 5 goals & 7 tackles) > Dawes (10 possessions, 1 goal, 4 tackles).

*because King can mark and he apparently can tackle (but geelongs defenders will beat whoever we bring in most likely).

Harmes (31 possessions, 5 tackles - top 2 on ground) > Matt jones (36 possessions, 7 tackles & "needed to be a little more efficient").

*because matt jones comes to AFL and gives away stupid free kicks and doesn't get the ball.

JKH (24 possessions, 4 tackles in a half) > Bail (34 possessions, 1.1 goal & 7 tackles).

*bail doesn't get the ball.

Even White had a great game for him (15 possessions, 1 tackle and 8 marks) & considering that he can kick is attractive in to me.

Interested to see who we bring in :)

Go dees!

I think we need to stop debuting players for now. Stretch and ANB looked underdone on the weekend.

Riley doesn't look much better than Mckenzie to me.

Out pedo.stretch.ANB.Grimes

In. JKH.Dawes.Spencer.M Jones

I thought Stretch showed a bit on the weekend. Certainly looked better then he did in his first two games.

Bought my ticket for Sunday, looking forward to it.

Just hoping it's better than 2 years ago, which was probably the worst game I've ever been to. I got drenched by rain that I didn't know was forecast. Probably could've been another 186 if it wasn't so wet, we were deplorable on that day

I took the kids to that game and sat behind city end goals. No cover and didn't realize it was going to rain. Blimey we got wet. It sheetedvdown. Had to leave at half time. The toump played well

• Dawes has been tried and tested here without much success at all
  • Pedo is injured atm so cant be considered (but would like to see him try to hold down this role for most of a match at some point later this year given he averages the most marks i50 behind Hogan)
  • Fitzy is 3rd in marks i50 (averages) behind Hogan and Pedo, which is quite a feat given he has spent much of his time down back!
  • Fitzy has a 90% DE%. Extremely high for a tall but possibly due to the roll down back for significant time during his 3 matches so far. Does this mean he can kick fairly straight, hit other targets on the lead i50? Who knows. But i'd like to give him a a go as a permanent CHF at least for a few matches to see how he rolls. Rotate Pedo and T-Mac through here later on as well. Not expecting T-Mac will be the man here but hey what's to lose. We aren't making finals anytime soon.
So who do we play down back to cover for Garland and Pedo being out as well?

This post is a bit confusing to e honest with you, I personally do not think Dawes is as bad as the whole of demonland thinks, I do agree that he will drop several marks that he should take but he will definitely help to create space in the forward line for Jesse and also draw considerable attention. At the very least Dawes presents continually and it is something that we desperately need, because we have struggled with that get out kick from our back half. The thing that i reckon Dawes does really well in comparisson to most of our team is that when the ball is kicked to him he competes and breaks even, whether it is holding the ball in or forcing it accross the boundary. If Dawes is fit enough to play out the game he is brought in to CHF without question, and i think even if he is a little underdone he may well be brought in.

Highlighted stat is wrong.

We have seen how Fitzy goes as a permanent forward and he is uncompetitive and he is showing potential in the back half, so if there is a match up for him then it is fair to assume he will come in and hopefully continue to play his role/beat his opponents.

With Grimes out, maybe Michie can move to the back flank where he had limited success, but at the same time i am not overly convinced on his utput and still think i would prefer Jones and Bail in ahead of him.

JKH will not play, 50% game time in the Casey 2s does not equal AFL call up

EDIT: IN: Dawes, Bail

OUT:Pedo, Grimes

Edited by Mad_Melbourne

Fitzy for Cam - anb tags murdoch Riley was ok goes again stretch goes again . Alot of posters complain about our lesser lights bail , mjones not being up to afl standard but dont want to give young players a chance . Re anb and stretch .

Don't understand why people are saying Riley should stay in because he tackles all the time. The bloke had 1 tackle on the weekend. Other then that he is useless.

Someone mentioned bringing in experience. I think with our depth being tested i would bring in Mckenzie and Bail in. Unfortunately ANB looked out of his depth but thats not his fault considering the club was playing him out of position.. I think we need Jordies hard body and experience around the stoppages and Bails run and spread.

I am usually really optimistic and watch the full game every week but this week I will make sure I am doing something else.

Changes don't matter we will most likely get smashed by 80pts - best case scenario is something like a 30pt loss.

Don't know why the MFC bothered with this match preview:

http://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/2015-06-17/match-preview-geelong-v-melbourne

Maybe they don't want any Dees fans to rock up...

Anyone know if there is any snow yet?

Edited by Young Dee

Don't understand why people are saying Riley should stay in because he tackles all the time. The bloke had 1 tackle on the weekend. Other then that he is useless.

Someone mentioned bringing in experience. I think with our depth being tested i would bring in Mckenzie and Bail in. Unfortunately ANB looked out of his depth but thats not his fault considering the club was playing him out of position.. I think we need Jordies hard body and experience around the stoppages and Bails run and spread.

...but 'dazzle' if you are going to be one of the midfield rotations these days you have to be able to play forward...if he can't move into different positions he is going to find it hard to get consistent game time.

This is why I like the look of Harmes, particularly with Kent out. He can play mid, forward and back. Can run a bit, take a good grab, hard at it, good tackle and kicks a goal.

I would much rather us try him now than bring in Jones or McKenzie who don't have his attributes with their only plus that they have played senior footy.

...but 'dazzle' if you are going to be one of the midfield rotations these days you have to be able to play forward...if he can't move into different positions he is going to find it hard to get consistent game time.

This is why I like the look of Harmes, particularly with Kent out. He can play mid, forward and back. Can run a bit, take a good grab, hard at it, good tackle and kicks a goal.

I would much rather us try him now than bring in Jones or McKenzie who don't have his attributes with their only plus that they have played senior footy.

Yeah fair point

I agree rjay. Give him a chance at the top level to see what he has to offer and test his credentials for an upgrade in 2016. From now on team selections in 2015 should have a fair bit to do with list management in 2016 and beyond.

With Pedersen broken and Dawes underdone, we need to consider bringing in another ruckman to play as a makeshift forward (Jamar or Spencer). I don't love the idea of having two specialist rucks in the side, but it's a choice between a ruckman who might give us stuff all, or an out of form, cobwebby Dawes who might give us stuff all. Ugly.

He actually took two really good overhead marks under big pressure

But apart from that, fair comment