Players to target at the end of the year

Are there any rumors about Treloar wanting to come back to Victoria? He is a jet. Averaging 27 disposals this year, goes hard and can go for a run too, if there's any chance of him coming home I'd hand over our first round pick without even blinking. We'd have a great young group of mids with a spread of age then, with a few from other clubs having experience as opposed to drafting more 18 year olds.

Sylvia, Mclean, Morton Scully were all affected by poor coaching and development. Trengove aswell but injury has halted him a bit aswell. Toumpas is doing what he should have last year and thats developing in the twos. I cant wait to see what Roos will do to Trenners and Toump.

I think we just need to back our coaching staff on this one this time. Go through the draft and get Petracca and Brayshaw.

I could see Petracca making an instant impact up forward for us straight away.

This is an interesting point you make, so many on here not happy with Toumps progress but watch Roos on AFL 360, he talks about the really good up and coming mids we have and the three he highlights are Tyson, Viney and Toump, Roosy obviously rates him, i still think he can be a really good player, and i reckon Roosy will turn Trenners into our best mid by the end of next year

I actually agree. Trengove was my favourite player in 2010 and 2011.

I reckon he'll hit way higher than that even next year. He's a freaking gun when on and Roosy will turn him into a champ

Where do we pour all our (Clarke and Frawley) spare cash if not into a big FA?

Agree with drafting elite talent i.e. Petracca and Brayshaw and Stretch (2nd or 3rd round).

So if we're not to water down the FA compo for Frawley, how else can we land a big fish (who we can pay heaps) for free?

Edited by PaulRB

Roosy is treating him like a first year player. If we were a Hawthorn or Geelong we would be laudingnon how Toumpas is developing just fine at Casey.

But because we have so much relied on our first round draft picks to make an instant impact straight most supporters are ingrained that these kids will carry us and make an impact straight away. Thats not proper development.

Earn your spot in the twos, make good habits, Play consistent footy in the twos and continue to learn as much as you can from your coaches.

The cost of having Frawley leave is that it limits the value we can gain in pursuing another free agent with the cash freed up from Clarke's retirement.

If he stayed we'd have Frawley plus one of Petracca and Brayshaw, Plus Stretch (2nd or 3rd round) Plus a $ 650k+ Free Agent.

So we'd gain a lot if Frawley stayed. Assuming we can nab a free agent.

Roosy is treating him like a first year player. If we were a Hawthorn or Geelong we would be laudingnon how Toumpas is developing just fine at Casey.

But because we have so much relied on our first round draft picks to make an instant impact straight most supporters are ingrained that these kids will carry us and make an impact straight away. Thats not proper development.

Earn your spot in the twos, make good habits, Play consistent footy in the twos and continue to learn as much as you can from your coaches.

This kind of level headed approach doesn't fly around demonland. Its the messiah complex every time... If our kid isn't doing better than every other kid he is a bad selection or a spud.

Where do we pour all our (Clarke and Frawley) spare cash if not into a big FA?

Agree with drafting elite talent i.e. Petracca and Brayshaw and Stretch (2nd or 3rd round).

So if we're not to water down the FA compo for Frawley, how else can we land a big fish (who we can pay heaps) for free?

No big fish for us in FA this year, next year is the big one. If we were to splash money this year, would think it'd be to entice a player in a trade scenario (Shiel, Treloar, Cameron).

We should go after Ben Reid. Young key position player who's being locked out by 2 of the biggest guns of the game buddy and Tippett. He can be guided by Dawsey and more importantly grow a partnership with Jessie.

Yes, Sam Reid is the one I'm thinking of STMJ.

Point being, I'd like to see another young key forward being drafted and with teams like Sydney and the new fabric clubs like GWS and GC having so much talent theirs going to be a number of talented players who may not be getting their fair share of field time/having the opportunity to develop in a forward key position. It would be good to snag one, like a Sam Reid.

midfielders, midfielders and more midfielders, then an elite kicking, ball carrying half back before we even think about drafting anything else

I'd say 3 midfielders and definitely a KPP forward.

We'd have:

N Jones, Viney, Tyson, Vince, Cross, Trengove, Salem (future), JKH/Kent (rotating), Mckenzie, Toumpas, Watts (rotating)..

I'd say 3 more would really help..

We could move Vince to half back, same with Trengove.

Edited by JackVineyForPresident

no argument here

But the question was who was the last champion the club had, and neitz was around later than the ox

Neita was a champion, sure, but I added the Ox into the equation, as he was derided far too often around these parts, for many years after he finished. He put up with far more than most Melbourne players, & gave a hell of a Bello for the Red'N'Blue jumper. he was no Shy petal in our quest for finals.

not enough like the Oxen in red & blue.

Young colyer or however you spell it looks a decent player.

Travis Colyer was one I wanted, back in his draft year; somewhere around the 2nd Rnd mark.

Machsy simply must be part of Rhino's offspring.

An attack dog.

c6868d4bc5d167f9b065153b980bdaf0-250-250.jpg

Anyone who doesn't laugh long and hard at the 12th cd's man over the years is seriously lacking in large areas.

But keep going Machsy. Or is it Ben Hur or Josè....

He has knocked back a contract extension for 1 year, he is doing very well at WAFL level and wants to play regular footy at AFL level. If he doesn't get a game by seasons end he may well opt out

let the saints try him.

Need to target potential superstars / match winners: Boyd, Patton, Wines, Prestia players of that ilk, pay big $$ and offer 5 years. We have salary cap space.

Prestia next year. throw the Reserve Banks pocket book at him.

We should put Toumpas up for a trade with our 2nd or 3rd rounder.

I would even offer up Howe. It is about time we were willing to give up some decent players to get something decent in return which fits our mould better.

Not now for Howe, he's showing he is prepared to work hard & play responsible team footy. he's now on the right path.

I would entertain the Toump idea, but only in a deal for Wines + some sweetener for them. the toump will be a very good player when hes ready. he needs time.

..... Or to Adelaide for the right deal; Toumpas + the (frawley compo pick) for Dangerman.

Players and will include Ass Coach.

Throw most money at securing Bomber Thompson to he Roos Successor. This will help us secure bigger name players/trades.

If Melbourne are once again sucked in to selecting by Guys of the Ilk of Cam Bruce or Luke Beveridge and happen to sign one of them then it's well and truly over red range rover. Will be Neeld all over again.

So for me Bomber to Coach in 2017 and to assist in 2015/6.

Impact players . Still carrying way too many passengers. A Frawley replacement.

Bail and M. Jones McKenzie could move on with a big blow torch on Garland.

Thompson and Roos share responsibility for 1st round picks remembering we may get concessions for Frawley. Dees are shockers when it comes to the draft. Don't we know it .

have been past tense... thats when we've picked our footy dept on our own.

now the AFL has stepped in with action masters, Jackson & Roos & co, we can feel more comfortable for our early picks.

but we still need players with a year or more under their legs. we are still light on for depth of talent, so IMO can't carry too many, 18 yr old, 1st Yr boys.

Jeff Garlett anyone

Out of favour at the blues

no thanks. we don't want tooo many light weights.

but I would like picket from the draft.

Im in the boat of not trading our draft picks. Those two guys will set up our midfield for the next 10 years. Both powerful inside mids who can go outside aswell. A midfield of Tyson, Viney, Jones, Toumpas, Stretch, Cross, Vince with Petracca and Brayshaw would net us a couple more wins next year.

You could build a formidable midfield around those along with Tyson and Viney.

I think getting ROK would be very important. I thought on the weekend Cross left a massive hole in our midfield in terms of experience and ball winning ability. This where someone like O' Keefe would have been handy replacement.

thats right, & only for the one Year, RO'K can play Back, Mids, or Forward, so is a perfect blend to help us where ever or whenever we need him to. and to teach our young guns in between his senior games.

key to our further transition away from the old ways red&blue, to the new ways, Red'N'Blue...

I actually agree. Trengove was my favourite player in 2010 and 2011.

I reckon he'll hit way higher than that even next year. He's a freaking gun when on and Roosy will turn him into a champ

next year, it might be time to give Howe a run thru the mid rotations... and release Trenners to half back for a season, to let him have some freedom from the mids, for his recovery.

play Howe mid, rotating from half forward & wing. with Shiel in the mids.

Jaksch understudy in defence.

The cost of having Frawley leave is that it limits the value we can gain in pursuing another free agent with the cash freed up from Clarke's retirement.

If he stayed we'd have Frawley plus one of Petracca and Brayshaw, Plus Stretch (2nd or 3rd round) Plus a $ 650k+ Free Agent.

So we'd gain a lot if Frawley stayed. Assuming we can nab a free agent.

Dangerman, 2015

Edited by Nasher

Are there any rumors about Treloar wanting to come back to Victoria? He is a jet. Averaging 27 disposals this year, goes hard and can go for a run too, if there's any chance of him coming home I'd hand over our first round pick without even blinking. We'd have a great young group of mids with a spread of age then, with a few from other clubs having experience as opposed to drafting more 18 year olds.

There have been a couple of whispers re: Treloar, but Shiel and Cameron are the one's that have variously been mentioned in the media. Treloar has been (publicly) strongest about his desire to stay, but all are yet to extend their contracts past the end of next year.

My list of 25 players we should seriously be looking at. All very much gettable for differnt reasons from the go home factor, not getting a game, could be delisted free agents and more money, and with Adelaide I think some of their players are more gettable given their want to get back into the draft after the sanctions they'd previously had. The cost could be anywhere from two frist round picks (if Frawley leaves) to bargin basement buys. The type of players I'm targetting are:

*Line breaking midfielders

*Rebounding Half Backs/Wingmam

*Key position players, can play back & forward

*Another forward/ruckman due to Fitzpatrick's backwards step

Adelaide:

Patrick Dangerfield http://www.afc.com.au/player-profile/patrick-dangerfield

David MacKay http://www.afc.com.au/player-profile/david-mackay

Shaun McKernan http://www.afc.com.au/player-profile/shaun-mckernan

Andy Otten http://www.afc.com.au/player-profile/andy-otten

Brisbane:

Jordan Lisle http://www.lions.com.au/player-profile/jordan-lisle

Carlton:

Matthew Watson http://www.carltonfc.com.au/player-profile/matthew-watson

Geelong:

Billie Smedts http://www.geelongcats.com.au/player-profile/billie-smedts

Gold Coast:

Daniel Gorringe http://www.goldcoastfc.com.au/player-profile/daniel-gorringe

Seb Tape http://www.goldcoastfc.com.au/player-profile/seb-tape

GWS:

Kristian Jaksch http://www.gwsgiants.com.au/player-profile/kristian-jaksch

Dylan Shiel http://www.gwsgiants.com.au/player-profile/dylan-shiel

James Stewart http://www.gwsgiants.com.au/player-profile/james-stewart

Adam Tomlinson http://www.gwsgiants.com.au/player-profile/adam-tomlinson

Adam Treloar http://www.gwsgiants.com.au/player-profile/adam-treloar

North Melbourne:

Kieran Harper http://www.nmfc.com.au/player-profile/kieran-harper

Richmond:

Dylan Grimes http://www.richmondfc.com.au/player-profile/dylan-grimes

Liam McBean http://www.richmondfc.com.au/player-profile/liam-mcbean

Sydney:

Tim Membrey http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/player-profile/tim-membrey

Tom Mitchell http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/player-profile/tom-mitchell

Garry Rohan http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/player-profile/gary-rohan

Dean Towers http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/player-profile/dean-towers

Tommy Walsh http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/player-profile/tommy-walsh

West Coast:

Ash Smith http://www.westcoasteagles.com.au/player-profile/ashley-smith

Western Bulldogs:

Tom Campbell http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/player-profile/tom-campbell

Michael Talia http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/player-profile/michael-talia

IF frawley goes, it will expose our lack of back-up tall defenders terribly.

I think we need to target someone from this group - maybe LRT from Sydney? Then use draft picks to get a couple of kids to develop at Casey. Leaves us top-end picks to use to draft one and trade for one mid. As LRT isn't getting much of a game, the prospect of just getting one should see him over the line. So then we throw bigbig money at a star or near-star mid to come across. Crazy money. That fixes the midfield, gets a tall back and then allows us to really concentrate on drafting and developing backmen - talls and running backs. I tink the forwardline will look after itself ATM.

Offer prestia 600k a year to come and play for the club he supported as a kid in front of his family in vic

It would be hard to prize anyone out of the suns but he's too good not to try

My list of 25 players we should seriously be looking at. All very much gettable for differnt reasons from the go home factor, not getting a game, could be delisted free agents and more money, and with Adelaide I think some of their players are more gettable given their want to get back into the draft after the sanctions they'd previously had. The cost could be anywhere from two frist round picks (if Frawley leaves) to bargin basement buys. The type of players I'm targetting are:

*Line breaking midfielders

*Rebounding Half Backs/Wingmam

*Key position players, can play back & forward

*Another forward/ruckman due to Fitzpatrick's backwards step

Adelaide:

Patrick Dangerfield http://www.afc.com.au/player-profile/patrick-dangerfield

David MacKay http://www.afc.com.au/player-profile/david-mackay

Shaun McKernan http://www.afc.com.au/player-profile/shaun-mckernan X

Andy Otten http://www.afc.com.au/player-profile/andy-otten ?

Brisbane:

Jordan Lisle http://www.lions.com.au/player-profile/jordan-lisle X

Carlton:

Matthew Watson http://www.carltonfc.com.au/player-profile/matthew-watson X

Geelong:

Billie Smedts http://www.geelongcats.com.au/player-profile/billie-smedts

Gold Coast:

Daniel Gorringe http://www.goldcoastfc.com.au/player-profile/daniel-gorringe ?

Seb Tape http://www.goldcoastfc.com.au/player-profile/seb-tape ?

GWS:

Kristian Jaksch http://www.gwsgiants.com.au/player-profile/kristian-jaksch ?

Dylan Shiel http://www.gwsgiants.com.au/player-profile/dylan-shiel

James Stewart http://www.gwsgiants.com.au/player-profile/james-stewart ?

Adam Tomlinson http://www.gwsgiants.com.au/player-profile/adam-tomlinson

Adam Treloar http://www.gwsgiants.com.au/player-profile/adam-treloar

North Melbourne:

Kieran Harper http://www.nmfc.com.au/player-profile/kieran-harper X

Richmond:

Dylan Grimes http://www.richmondfc.com.au/player-profile/dylan-grimes X

Liam McBean http://www.richmondfc.com.au/player-profile/liam-mcbean X

Sydney:

Tim Membrey http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/player-profile/tim-membrey ?

Tom Mitchell http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/player-profile/tom-mitchell

Garry Rohan http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/player-profile/gary-rohan

Dean Towers http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/player-profile/dean-towers ?

Tommy Walsh http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/player-profile/tommy-walsh X

West Coast:

Ash Smith http://www.westcoasteagles.com.au/player-profile/ashley-smith ?

Western Bulldogs:

Tom Campbell http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/player-profile/tom-campbell X

Michael Talia http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/player-profile/michael-talia

There are some I wouldn't touch for example Watson at Carlton who has only one asset a long kick and little football smarts or ability, or Grimes who no one can doubt his endeavour but we don't need an injury prone defender who can't kick. Lisle, a good VFL level player.

Ottens has a ? because of injury, same with Rohan and there are some others I don't know enough about. Membrey seems to be an in betweener.

I think we should look at someone like Sinclair at WC.

IF frawley goes, it will expose our lack of back-up tall defenders terribly.

I think we need to target someone from this group - maybe LRT from Sydney? Then use draft picks to get a couple of kids to develop at Casey. Leaves us top-end picks to use to draft one and trade for one mid. As LRT isn't getting much of a game, the prospect of just getting one should see him over the line. So then we throw bigbig money at a star or near-star mid to come across. Crazy money. That fixes the midfield, gets a tall back and then allows us to really concentrate on drafting and developing backmen - talls and running backs. I tink the forwardline will look after itself ATM.

nah not LRT, hes cooked, due to retire. but i feel ya.

What about targeting a forward, therefore allowing pederson to double up as that back men you speak of and ruck.

I like the look of tim membrey from sydney. judging by stature he would fits nicely as a 3rd or 4th up forward behind dawes and hogan and watts (if thats where watts will play).

Im not all tat keen on Sam Reid just because i didn't think he hd shown all that much, but I could be wrong about him.

Edited by Deez

I am not going to debate Toumpas' progress as that has been well covered in other threads but I just don't see Roos trading out that second year player.