Posted

Just listened to Barrett with Terry Wallace analyse the Tyson Demons deal. Barrett of course said it was the demons up to their old tricks and throwing away value like last year. Wallace was more balanced and clearly knew Dom Tyson and his family very well. He initially said it was an extraordinarily good deal for GWS since the rated Tyson currently number 6 or seven amongst their mid fielders in view of the small number of games he had played in the last two years. However he did say Dom is an extraordinary talent which can be seen from his TAC cup form and his rising star form from the end of his first year at the Giants. He also said most of the star mid fielders in the draft are smaller skillful outside players which is not what Melbourne needs ie bigger bodied, inside midfielders which if Roos can get him playing to his potential maybe what Melbourne needs. His major criticism was that he thought the deal could have done with pick 2, and 74. He thought pick 20 put it over the top. Interestingly, they did not even mention pick 9 which lacked balance in my view.

Barrett is a nong, and is as one eyed about the Kangas as Robinson is about the Dons.

Posted

I think it is a great deal....Tyson is ready to go as a young player...we have had enough babies.

We MUST be winning some games next year...Roos knows this

Barrett is a hack Journo.

Posted

I think it is a great deal....Tyson is ready to go as a young player...we have had enough babies.

We MUST be winning some games next year...Roos knows this

Barrett is a hack Journo.

No I think he is more than that: like Robbo, he is just dumb, and a vicious little [censored] to boot.

Posted

Who cares. Tyson will be a gem. Richmond chased him that hard last year. I was super stoked when I heard, Now I am hoping we get Freeman at 9.

Posted

He just admitted he hadn't even really seen Dom play, enough said.

Interestingly, he answered that he hadnt seen him play after Wallace asked him a very pointed question "have you ever seen this guy play" in a tone of voice which was quite contemptuous (of Barrott). Wallace seriously rates the kid and said because his father is a mate of his he has followed his progress closely since he was junior and has seen many of his matches since he was 13. He said he has never seen someone dominate the TAC cup as much as this kid did, and his early games for the Giants were simply outstanding leading to a rising star nomination. He said, purely from the Demons point of view, he can quite see why we have bought him, in view of the type of player he is and his outstanding talent.

wallace had a similar clash with Barrott yesterday when he was being ridiculously one eyed about North Melbourne.

If I can say this though, Barrott's criticisms last year about Neeld's trading were more than justified. This year he just can not understand the subtlety of what is going on.

Posted

Hit the nail on the head! Heard that and shook my head and laughed.

Cant stand him and never will!

Posted

Terry Wallace was a champion footballer and reasonably successful coach over a long career. His thoughts are worth listening to.

What's Barrett's football pedigree? Is it big enough to question the wisdom of Paul Roos?

Enough said. The guy's a muppet and really should not comment on anything football. HIs opinion is irrelevant and just because he has a voice that is heard on radio does NOT make him any more informed than me, you, and any other football fan.

Posted (edited)

No I think he is more than that: like Robbo, he is just dumb, and a vicious little [censored] to boot.

I don't think he is "Dumb" but i do believe that todays journos do not check there sources as carefully as they used to....instant news can change

if these flogs get it wrong they just write another piece...

Why would he knock the MFC decision if he had never seen Tyson play?

Many people on here would be better journalists.

Posted (edited)

Damian the germ Barratt admitting he has never seen Dom play

This is why the little maggot should not be allowed an opinion, what a loser!

Edited by hogans_heroes

Posted

I just sprayed tea out of my nose reading that he hadn't seen him play.

You realise any footy opinion this guy has, the whole football community scoff at. So him arguing against the value of this deal will have everyone going "gee, the Dees must've done alright here."

He explores garbage cans for a living. Any actual football opinion he has means nothing to anyone.

Posted

And rumoured to be a Young Liberal to boot!

He looks like one....

Posted (edited)

Gold.

Surely there are better candidates than Barrett to offer insight during the trade period. It's dull enough without having his useless opinion stinking up the airwaves.

Edited by P-man
Posted

I don't think he is "Dumb" but i do believe that todays journos do not check there sources as carefully as they used to....instant news can change

if these flogs get it wrong they just write another piece...

Why would he knock the MFC decision if he had never seen Tyson play?

Many people on here would be better journalists.

Agree his not dumb but his arrogance is amusing

On 360 a few months back he was reporting on the letter Paul Roos sent to Brisbane turning down the coaching position.

Robbo said it was intresting that he had turned Brisbane down but hadn't formally knocked back Melbourne yet.

Barrett shut him down with "Paul Roos will not be coaching next year"

Pure Golden, Barrett

Your in the know!!!

Posted

DB is a man of great integrity for a journo, but that does not mean he gets things right when he expresses an opinion - he's human after all.

Here's the things that has been missed in the "Dees give up Pick 2 scenario".

1) The Dees recruiting staff have cocked up high picks in recent times so doubtless would have been [censored] scared about this year.

2) The most likely pick 2, before Kelly was mooted this week, was Aish and he has struggled when tagged at championships and SANFL Finals. The draft talent is not considered deep this year but there is a range of opinions on who is best from picks 2-12 and almost all are midfielders. In keeping pick No.9 we still get a midfileder who may be as good as pick No.2.