Posted

What about Ryan Griffen from the dogs should be our number 1 target absolute quality player forget daisey and dal santo

I'm tipping none of those guys will leave don't want daisey he'd go to Carlton if anywhere

Posted (edited)

I'd look at getting Viv Michie from Freo, good young mid who is playing really well at WAFL level but just can't break into their strong midfield. He Adams from GWS, a gun mid (Sloan if we could) and another bid bodied mid would see us starting to head in the right direction added to what we have already

Edited by Pennant St Dee
Posted

I think given how bad our midfield is we should look at putting one of Clark, Dawes or Watts up for trade in hope of getting a decent midfielder to the club.

Trade Howe. See what we get. One of the most frustratingly one dimensional players we have. Made more infuriating by the fact that he has talent, just not the application it would seem.

Posted

Trade Howe. See what we get. One of the most frustratingly one dimensional players we have. Made more infuriating by the fact that he has talent, just not the application it would seem.

He's not the only one on our list who has talent but not the application unfortunately.

Posted

You are one of the more level headed posters mate, but trade Howe? Surely not, he is the only marketable player, in the sense of attracting young supporters we have. 2.26am... Had a few softies?

Posted

You are one of the more level headed posters mate, but trade Howe? Surely not, he is the only marketable player, in the sense of attracting young supporters we have. 2.26am... Had a few softies?

D have to say, right now I think Howe is a little overrated. Takes a great specky but has unfulfilled potential written over him. Disclaimer - I thought Lucas Cook would be a star.

Posted

Sure he isn't doing a lot at the moment but he has some real assets (his leap, pace, awareness) and I know we've said that about so many but he has performed really well in the past and is our leading goal scorer this season. He's well down the list to trade for me.

Posted

The penny will drop for most. Adam. It just might take a bit.

soon enough, the masses will look back on all the flankers that have won grand finals for their respective teams and realise the central importance of keeping Howe. They'll think about his ball winning ability and defensive efforts and think "wow, good we kept him".

Posted

The penny will drop for most. Adam. It just might take a bit.

soon enough, the masses will look back on all the flankers that have won grand finals for their respective teams and realise the central importance of keeping Howe. They'll think about his ball winning ability and defensive efforts and think "wow, good we kept him".

I watched this boy yesterday closely (admittedly through amber cam) but he is very much in every team's radar - he was pummelled, blocked, whacked and smacked from pillar to post and should've received 5 or 6 free kicks.

He is young and will become fantastic - needs to lift his fitness levels to elite.

Posted

I watched this boy yesterday closely (admittedly through amber cam) but he is very much in every team's radar - he was pummelled, blocked, whacked and smacked from pillar to post and should've received 5 or 6 free kicks.He is young and will become fantastic - needs to lift his fitness levels to elite.

No time for frees for Howe, the umpires were busy giving them all to Swallow.

Posted

I watched this boy yesterday closely (admittedly through amber cam) but he is very much in every team's radar - he was pummelled, blocked, whacked and smacked from pillar to post and should've received 5 or 6 free kicks.

He is young and will become fantastic - needs to lift his fitness levels to elite.

He is 22 or 23, has played 2-3 years with us, is a very good physical specimen. How'd he respond? Did he give it back to them? Did he impose himself? Did he drive the smarmy little north excrement into the ground?

Nope, he became ineffective. Again. Jordie Mckensie is more use to us than Howe.

We need a midfield. The biggest issue is how do we get one in the next few years? To do it we need to trade. Our drafting record is disgusting and I have no faith that it will turn around. So, who do you trade? You need to trade blokes who are good enough to be highly valued, preferably in a way that does not cripple your structure and that won't rend the fabric of the playing group. Only two blokes come close to fitting that bill: Watts and Howe. Now, I do not want to trade either. BUT without a midfield we will come last forever. Dawes, Hogan, Clarke will all leave. Anyone good will leave. We must find a midfield and we need to find it now.

Or we do it your way - wait for a messiah coach and hope that the playing group - a group you think is pathetic - magically fixes itself.

Posted

Look guys, we all know that you have to give up value to receive value. ie. Not Tapscott for Ablett. We need a midfield. I'd love to keep Howe up my sleeve for that extra bit of danger in the forward half, but the midfield is far more pressing than a flanker - as you rightfully point out, Tim. Howe is a great leaper, but has a tendency to drop the easier ones. If it came down to Howe or Watts, I'd be trading Howe every day of the week. Watts' disposal and decision making is just too damaging to overlook. If you get a midfield that can dish to the likes of Watts, we won't need a Howe with Clark, Dawes, Fitzy and Hogan. We'd need that extra little bit of x-factor in the forwardline, but draft someone with genuine pace to fill that role. Howe isn't quick. While he has perceived value, if we can get an experienced A grader, I'd pop him on the table.

Posted

I've been very critical of him this year, mate. All he's got is the leap. What else is he offering? I really want us to be aggressive at the trade table this year. We obviously need to ensure that team harmony is in tact should we trade him, but it makes sense that if we can land ourselves a top mid for a flanker, you'd do the deal just about every day.

Posted (edited)

He's not the only one on our list who has talent but not the application unfortunately.

True, mate. Very sad situation. But instead of sinking into our shells like the players do, the recruiting staff and the FD in particular should be rigorously pursuing methods of eliminating the glaring weakness of our list.

Edited by AdamFarr
Posted

He is 22 or 23, has played 2-3 years with us, is a very good physical specimen. How'd he respond? Did he give it back to them? Did he impose himself? Did he drive the smarmy little north excrement into the ground?

Nope, he became ineffective. Again. Jordie Mckensie is more use to us than Howe.

We need a midfield. The biggest issue is how do we get one in the next few years? To do it we need to trade. Our drafting record is disgusting and I have no faith that it will turn around. So, who do you trade? You need to trade blokes who are good enough to be highly valued, preferably in a way that does not cripple your structure and that won't rend the fabric of the playing group. Only two blokes come close to fitting that bill: Watts and Howe. Now, I do not want to trade either. BUT without a midfield we will come last forever. Dawes, Hogan, Clarke will all leave. Anyone good will leave. We must find a midfield and we need to find it now.

Or we do it your way - wait for a messiah coach and hope that the playing group - a group you think is pathetic - magically fixes itself.

No, you're right - he didn't impose himself, scrag, or fight for his territory.

I've never advocated for a 'messiah' coach as you've inaccurately purported.

I do, however, malign our playing list and I think that Howe should stay.

I'd trade Jamar (has value) Blease and Watts.

Posted

I don't think we would get that much for Jamar.

Posted

And draft garlett like we should have last year

Like we have the leaders who will pull him into line. He'd party every night if he was drafted by us. Will go 2nd round, which is too valuable for us to use on a player we aren't capable of developing. Would suit Hawks, Swans or Cats.

Posted

We will be able to get value players for these I hope our club is aggressive at trade time Its a shame Trengove has little value now or I would add him to the list

Posted

No time for frees for Howe, the umpires were busy giving them all to Swallow.

Swallow's ridiculous protection from the umpires is enjoyed by only a few players in the AFL, and stands in stark contrast to the hammering that Nathan Jones gets without an ounce of attention from the maggots. It was woefully on display on Saturday.

Jeremy Howe is consistently blocked from the marking contest illegally, and by rights should get a stream of free kicks. It's not a righteous world however, and he needs more strategy to get past it and more awareness and willingness from his teammates to help.

Posted

We need one A grade midfielder with great skills both under pressure and when running free. Del Santo is perfect for this and can help Evans and Toumpas develop. He is a very good trainer and has a profesional attitude to every part of footy life.

We also need, and maybe even more urgently, another midfield LEADER of the Nathan Jones type who is as hard as stone, courageous and inspires team mates by his actions and attitude. Sewell fits this bill. He has killed us over the past 5 years and is losing his place in the starting 22 at the Hawks.

To get players like this in our right hand we have to be prepared to let players go - of equal or greater value - with our left hand.

Howe. We could use him for trade bait and would get heaps of offers, but he is the only thing keeping young Dees supporters interested. We need him for marketing and for hope.

Watts. Although he frustrates the %$@# out of me, his skill level is of such high calibre it is difficult to let him go. However, if we could get Del Santo and Sewell in some 3 or 4 move cyclic trade, we would have to consider it considering we have Dawes, Clark, Hogan and Fitzy.

Sylvia. Time to go I reckon. I can see him at Sydney or Freo. Any club that believes their culture can produce a disciplined, focused Sylvia is a good trade option and attractive to those clubs vying for top 4.

Jamar. We will get little for him, but GWS might need him and it could form a part of a cyclic trade to get Del Santo and Sewell.

I don't believe we will land Del Santo or Sewell but it is good to dream - that's all I have left this year.

Posted

We need one A grade midfielder with great skills both under pressure and when running free. Del Santo is perfect for this and can help Evans and Toumpas develop. He is a very good trainer and has a profesional attitude to every part of footy life.

We also need, and maybe even more urgently, another midfield LEADER of the Nathan Jones type who is as hard as stone, courageous and inspires team mates by his actions and attitude. Sewell fits this bill. He has killed us over the past 5 years and is losing his place in the starting 22 at the Hawks.

To get players like this in our right hand we have to be prepared to let players go - of equal or greater value - with our left hand.

Howe. We could use him for trade bait and would get heaps of offers, but he is the only thing keeping young Dees supporters interested. We need him for marketing and for hope.

Watts. Although he frustrates the %$@# out of me, his skill level is of such high calibre it is difficult to let him go. However, if we could get Del Santo and Sewell in some 3 or 4 move cyclic trade, we would have to consider it considering we have Dawes, Clark, Hogan and Fitzy.

Sylvia. Time to go I reckon. I can see him at Sydney or Freo. Any club that believes their culture can produce a disciplined, focused Sylvia is a good trade option and attractive to those clubs vying for top 4.

Jamar. We will get little for him, but GWS might need him and it could form a part of a cyclic trade to get Del Santo and Sewell.

I don't believe we will land Del Santo or Sewell but it is good to dream - that's all I have left this year.

Sylvia can go wherever he wants. He is UFA. Cannot be traded. Compensation would be around a third or fourth draft pick?

Posted

Sylvia can go wherever he wants. He is UFA. Cannot be traded. Compensation would be around a third or fourth draft pick?

That'll be a huge blow. I think maybe we could get a 2nd rounder (hoping the AFL sympathises with us) but he will leave a gaping hole we will absolutely need to fill with a senior midfielder. Having said that though, I'm beginning to think Sylvia will stay with us.