DEAD WOOD

BIG JIM

We have way to much DEAD WOOD.

This is my list of players who IMO are not AFL standerd moving forward.

I know some will have a cry about some of these names but would any of these names get a run with Collingwood?

1. R. Bail
  2. M. Bate
  3. J. Bennel
  4. L. Dunn
  5. J. Fitzpatrick
  6. B. Green
  7. N. Jetta
  8. B. Moloney
  9. J. Spencer
  10. M. Evens
  11. J. Magner
  12. K. Lawrence

There will be lot's of work come trade week and the draft.

You haven't got much wrong there.

The one's that I'd disagree with are Fitzpatrick, Jetta & Moloney.

Fitzpatrick has only recently been diagnosed with diabetes, so who knows how long that's been affecting his footy? He's still a potential long term KPF/pinch hit ruckman.

Jetta I reckon could be in our best 22 as of next year as a small defender. His attack on the footy is great, he's good in traffick, a good tackler and his disposal is better then both Bartram's and Nicholson's. Reckon there's a spot there for him.

Moloney is a difficult one. B&F winner last year, but giving us nothing this year.I hope he stays, 2 year deal maybe at reduced wage. And again I reckon there is a spot for him as a defensive forward. Will take a lot of commitment from him and the coached, but I reckon that's the only place for him as of next year. He has to re-invent himself.

The rest on your list I agree with. Magner I still see a spot for in our squad (not best 22) in the short term, same as Bail and Evans probably deserves another year also as you can't get rid of all of them at once. But long term, I don't think any of those on your list bar Jetta, Fitzpatrick and Moloney have a long future at the club.

On a side note I was delighted in Sylvia's game yesterday. Could he finally be starting to click with Mark Neeld and the new regime? Is there still time for him to become an elite midfielder? Only if it is for 2 or 3 years?

Players under the microscope are;Bartram, Bate, Bennell,Davey, Dunn, Evans, Fitzpatrick, Green, Jetta, Lawrence,MacDonald,Maloney,Morton,Petterd, Spencer, Sylvia.

This shows that our list is extremely weak and at least 8,possibly 10 will be dropped from the senior list.Two will be added from the rookie list- Magner andNicholson IMO.

The point to the names i have put up is that i just cant see any of these guys taking this club were it needs to be.

I would rate most these guys D+ players.

B. Green has been great for the MFC he is just getting old.

B. moloney does nothing but point at players were to be and cant get the ball himself.

N. jetta has had maybe 4 years to show what he has got i know his had a bad run but from what i have seen its not great. 7 touches a game is not great.

R. Bail i had high hopes for but after the game i just think his skills are not even VFL standerd.

M. Bate we could trade but when i watch this guy it's like he should have been a turtle he is way to slow for current AFL football.

J. Bennel is not AFL standerd simple as that 4 touches a game dont cut it in my book.

J. Spencer is the worst player i have seen in a MFC jumper. I watched him from the kick ins at the game and he does not even put his hands up to call for the ball at 204cm

J. Magner is a VFL player.

K. Lawrence has not even done anything to get a game in the worst MFC team i have seen.

M. Evans showed some good things but still is not worth a spot in the senior list.

L. Dunn well this guy has been good sometimes but his just not AFL standerd. 1 good game 3 bad games.

J. Fitzpatrick has had a bad run with health but i have seen him play at Casey and MFC well of the mark and just cant see it.

I hate to do this but after 6 years going every week to watch the team i love we just have to make some tuff calls.

Im sick of having a feeling of no hope and looking forward to the bloody draft.

We have gone no were in 6 years you can get all the stats you want. I go everyweek we suck fullstop.

GWS and GC aside we are still sitting on the bottom of the ladder put that in your stat book.

The good thing is we have a man called Mitch Clark.

We just need some A grade mids and we have a strong hand in the draft.

I will spew if the club does not get ready to go Mids.

No more bloody skinny 5 year projects

I just want to win and play finals thats all.

6 years and still waiting.

The point to the names i have put up is that i just cant see any of these guys taking this club were it needs to be.

I would rate most these guys D+ players.

B. Green has been great for the MFC he is just getting old.

B. moloney does nothing but point at players were to be and cant get the ball himself.

N. jetta has had maybe 4 years to show what he has got i know his had a bad run but from what i have seen its not great. 7 touches a game is not great.

R. Bail i had high hopes for but after the game i just think his skills are not even VFL standerd.

M. Bate we could trade but when i watch this guy it's like he should have been a turtle he is way to slow for current AFL football.

J. Bennel is not AFL standerd simple as that 4 touches a game dont cut it in my book.

J. Spencer is the worst player i have seen in a MFC jumper. I watched him from the kick ins at the game and he does not even put his hands up to call for the ball at 204cm

J. Magner is a VFL player.

K. Lawrence has not even done anything to get a game in the worst MFC team i have seen.

M. Evans showed some good things but still is not worth a spot in the senior list.

L. Dunn well this guy has been good sometimes but his just not AFL standerd. 1 good game 3 bad games.

J. Fitzpatrick has had a bad run with health but i have seen him play at Casey and MFC well of the mark and just cant see it.

I hate to do this but after 6 years going every week to watch the team i love we just have to make some tuff calls.

Im sick of having a feeling of no hope and looking forward to the bloody draft.

We have gone no were in 6 years you can get all the stats you want. I go everyweek we suck fullstop.

GWS and GC aside we are still sitting on the bottom of the ladder put that in your stat book.

The good thing is we have a man called Mitch Clark.

We just need some A grade mids and we have a strong hand in the draft.

I will spew if the club does not get ready to go Mids.

No more bloody skinny 5 year projects

I just want to win and play finals thats all.

6 years and still waiting.

So you want to delist 12 players (or maybe 11 if you think we will get a trade for Bate). Just how deep into the draft do you want us to go? We get 3 first round picks, one 2nd round at about 24, plus one every 18 after that. 11 players dropped will require us to use pick 130 or thereabouts for our last selection.

Fortunately the club will not be as silly or reckless as you.

Spencer will be retained. We will go into 2013 with Jamar (aging, getting injuries), Gawn (suspect knees), Fitzpatrick (maybe, but has to put on some muscle), Martin (2nd ruck at best), Clark (short relief spell in ruck, we need him at FF) and Sellar (Joke, Joyce). What if Jamar goes down and Gawn is injured again at the same time (like now)? Unless you think we can trade a couple of what you call deadwood for a reasonable backup ruck, we have to retain Spencer.

What Magner needs is another full AFL preseason to improve strength, endurance and skills. Very foolish move to dump him before end 2013 at earliest. He was good at the start of this season, but has tired. Make him fitter and stronger and see if he can keep it up for 22 rounds.

If you want to drop Moloney you obviously think the Bluey is won by a fluke. Class is permanent, form is temporary. Get a better midfield coach would be a more sensible suggestion. And maybe bring him back into the leadership group.

Bennell would be a much better player if the others didn't think he was 203 cm tall, and kicked it too him instead of over his head. Worth one more year at least.

Your comments that Spencer is the worst player you have seen in a Dees jumper, and that this is the worst side you have ever seen only go to show how young and inexperienced you are. Never saw David Cordner? Never saw Brent Grgic? Never sat in the old Northern stand in the 70s? Then you have never seen bad.

If you want to continue with your ridiculous Red Queen posts, try adding an explaination of how we will replace the 12. By trading, by rookie promotion, by recruiting free agents or by drafting.

I know some will have a cry about some of these names but would any of these names get a run with Collingwood?

1. R. Bail
  2. M. Bate
  3. J. Bennel
  4. L. Dunn
  5. J. Fitzpatrick
  6. B. Green
  7. N. Jetta
  8. B. Moloney
  9. J. Spencer
  10. M. Evens
  11. J. Magner
  12. K. Lawrence

same list i came up with 2 years ago

So you want to delist 12 players (or maybe 11 if you think we will get a trade for Bate). Just how deep into the draft do you want us to go? We get 3 first round picks, one 2nd round at about 24, plus one every 18 after that. 11 players dropped will require us to use pick 130 or thereabouts for our last selection.

Spencer will be retained. We will go into 2013 with Jamar (aging, getting injuries), Gawn (suspect knees), Fitzpatrick (maybe, but has to put on some muscle), Martin (2nd ruck at best), Clark (short relief spell in ruck, we need him at FF) and Sellar (Joke, Joyce). What if Jamar goes down and Gawn is injured again at the same time (like now)? Unless you think we can trade a couple of what you call deadwood for a reasonable backup ruck, we have to retain Spencer.

What Magner needs is another full AFL preseason to improve strength, endurance and skills. Very foolish move to dump him before end 2013 at earliest. He was good at the start of this season, but has tired. Make him fitter and stronger and see if he can keep it up for 22 rounds.

If you want to drop Moloney you obviously think the Bluey is won by a fluke. Class is permanent, form is temporary. Get a better midfield coach would be a more sensible suggestion. And maybe bring him back into the leadership group.

Bennell would be a much better player if the others didn't think he was 203 cm tall, and kicked it too him instead of over his head. Worth one more year at least.

Your comments that Spencer is the worst player you have seen in a Dees jumper, and that this is the worst side you have ever seen only go to show how young and inexperienced you are. Never saw David Cordner? Never saw Brent Grgic? Never sat in the old Northern stand in the 70s? Then you have never seen bad.

If you want to continue with your ridiculous Red Queen posts, try adding an explaination of how we will replace the 12. By trading, by rookie promotion, by recruiting free agents or by drafting.

we have had enough years toclear the deadwood we just havent done it too weak too soft in fact the club is bruise free now its to late so you dont need to say we cant do it we just chose not to cull

Morton should be consigned to

(a) A gym

(B) A headspace recalibration expert) specialising being able to inspire Cale in willing his body into places on the field where he should be but never ever is.

Until that time he stays at Casey and if unwilling to do the above mentioned should become trade table talk!

End of Story!

Im sorry im only 30 and not 90 years old but yes this is the worst team i have seen in my time and i do think we can trade some of these guys for picks or players.

Moloney we can trade for say a Knights. (ADL)

Bail trade (GCS) pick 50

Bate trade.(WB) pick40 or a player

Dunn trade.(GWS) F/S viney

Bennell trade.(W.A) Pick 60

Jetta trade.(SYD) J.Moore

Thats 6 that we could get picks for IMO.

The rest can go back to the VFL were they belong.

Magner is one guy i might think of keeping as a rookie.

But dont forget F/A this is were we make up 3 or 4 spots

Picks say 3,4,12,28,45,55,60 in the draft

Trade 2 guys

By the way, I would like to see Morton back in the team. Never thought I'd say that but I did see improvements bar the occasional momentum killing turn-over. Why isn't he afforded the same kind of continuity many of our other spuds have been given?

Wow. Breathtakingly stupid comment.

Morton has played 72 games - 19, 21, 10, 14 and 8 in the past 5 yrs. If that isn't continuity I don't know what is. Face it. He just isn't any good. He doesn't have the skills, his defensive game is non-existent and he doesn't go in hard enough or attack the footy.

You really know your footy.

I had thought the club rates Evans quite highly. He's been injured all year, so some of the assessments on this thread don't seem to founded on fact.

Why do some people here not rate Evans?

Because they haven't seen him. He's 19 and has played 4 games.

Im sorry im only 30 and not 90 years old but yes this is the worst team i have seen in my time and i do think we can trade some of these guys for picks or players.

Moloney we can trade for say a Knights. (ADL)

Bail trade (GCS) pick 50

Bate trade.(WB) pick40 or a player

Dunn trade.(GWS) F/S viney

Bennell trade.(W.A) Pick 60

Jetta trade.(SYD) J.Moore

Thats 6 that we could get picks for IMO.

The rest can go back to the VFL were they belong.

Magner is one guy i might think of keeping as a rookie.

But dont forget F/A this is were we make up 3 or 4 spots

Picks say 3,4,12,28,45,55,60 in the draft

Trade 2 guys

I've mentioned J.Moore in a couple of other threads, i think he might be a f/a so no need to trade. I think he'd be a great pick up.

The truth is with Collingwoods development program, yes probably they would get a game, and the sad truth is some would have developed into very good footballers.

yep that's the truth alright, the sad sad truth

and some of colingwqood's better players would be battling in the VFL had Melbourne drafted them

1. J. Fitzpatrick
  2. J. Spencer
  3. M. Evens
  4. J. Magner
  5. K. Lawrence

what has lawrence done in all his 0 games for melbourne that makes you think he is no good?

how about evans in his four games (0 this year)

Fitzpatrick in his 2 career games? (one this year)

spencer in his 10 games (2 this year)

jetta in his 0 games this year?

far to early to tell with them

magner also has not been that bad i think

the rest have a case to answer at the end of the year, and are on the chopping block.

1. R. Bail
  2. M. Bate
  3. J. Bennel
  4. L. Dunn
  5. B. Green
  6. B. Moloney

lets not hang people who have nothing to do with the rot out to dry. a bit unfair if they have not played.

what has lawrence done in all his 0 games for melbourne that makes you think he is no good?

the rest have a case to answer at the end of the year, and are on the chopping block.

1. R. Bail
  2. M. Bate
  3. J. Bennel
  4. L. Dunn
  5. B. Green
  6. B. Moloney

lets not hang people who have nothing to do with the rot out to dry. a bit unfair if they have not played.

I can see what your saying but if you cant break into this MFC team you will never make it and most the names have had more the 2 years to get a run.

I get where you're coming from and would add Petterd, MacDonald and Bartram (inj) to the list - the latter two, good honest triers with a bit of dash.

I'd like to see how Jetta works in the back pocket and Evans in the middle (now with a bit more size on him). Jetta's never done a pre-season and while I'm not wildly excited it would be good to see both get games before the end of the year.

The club should delist at least 6-8 so they have a fair list to choose from.

I don't know why you're limiting it to Collingwood.

I reckon Bate would still get a run at the kennel as they are still shyte in the forward line.

Bennell would probably excel at WCE or Sydney - I still wow at his skills when the planets line up and he gets a touch.

The planets have half aligned 3 times in 56 matches

I would be unbelievable happy if they take him,

1. R. Bail
  2. M. Bate
  3. J. Bennel
  4. L. Dunn
  5. B. Green
  6. B. Moloney

If you spend most of your games playing for Casey Seconds then there is a good chance you are no much chop.

The planets have half aligned 3 times in 56 matches

I would be unbelievable happy if they take him,

I'm not saying I'd be shattered either, but I've never questioned his talent and speed. His ball use yesterday was top notch. Very constructive work with the footy, but not enough of it and a lot of tail chasing. I think there will be others back to Casey before him.

If I toss a player on the scrap heap (in my own mind), I like to ponder if he could get a gig at any other club and why before doing so.

Clearly too much time on my hands, but with Bennell and say Morton, either we cant push the right buttons or there aren't any.

Can't trade Bate - unrestricted FA.

I really don't know what to expect at the end of the season, looks as though Neeld is a fan of Bate and I cannot see us move some names mentioned above.

Morton, Bail, Petterd, Moloney, Martin, Davey, Fitzpatrick, Magner and Nicholson would be on the list in 2013 if I was in charge.

But right now Green, Dunn, Spencer, Bennell, Jetta, and MacDonald are the only ones I can definitely see as ending their time at the club.

Maybe we will downgrade a couple and keep Magner on the RL for another...

Tough decisions ahead.

I think maybe the way to look at this is the other way around. Who actually is absolutely required and not likely to be going anywhere ?

After that list EVERYONE is up for trade, or moving on in some fashion according to a sliding scale. They only HAVE to get rid of 3 but whos to say wholesale change isnt on the horizon given th eopportunity todo so. By this one has to wonder what will be the governing factor, how many they want to move on...or how many they can arrange for ? Im going with the latter. As many duds and spuds will be given papers as can be found homes for.

There are some I feel unfarily malligned though as havent really been given much of a chance. Magner for one hasnt really dont much wrong, and a lot right, for a first year bloke and so manyhave the knives out. He wont be going anywhere. One of the few that tries week in week out, has shown improvements in some areas and fatigue in others. Give the guys a break...esp when you have no-returns liek Morton whove been around fro way long enough to evaluate..for want of comparison.. Davey I feel will simply play out his contract next year and then retire. Common sense says to retain him in some "bro " capacity around the club as by all accounts hes very influential and mentor like to his kindred ones. Irony being he currently needs the mentoring. thats life.

Dunn is Done...simple as.

Bennel...might get another year to build. I sense there area handful Neeld want to give a fair shot too and this and next year will be that. Some will have already displayed all there is to know...can you hear me Brent ?

Sylvia is showing a littel bit...and thats been his footy lifes mantra... can almost here Supertram'ps lilting..."Give a little bit..... " Will Neeld think this is a turning point or just good trade advertising ?

Brad....writing >wall

Bail has been for me a disappointment this year . Really thought hed lift to the next level and cement his sublime skills with more impact. Seems im wrong. On endangered list for sure..

Bate...i'm just not convinced he really offers much at all these days. Likeable...but indespensable ?? probably not...Time to go, but seems Neeld has his back,2013 must be final exam then.

Is Spencer simply kept as insurance ? Does he get one more year only until the Gawn-man comes on line ? That would be my thinking..

Again id come about this in another fashion. If I were building a team for 2013 id be having a good look around come seasons end as to whom was available either through trade, free agency or draft and build the team I WANTED then figured out how id pay for it with what ever currency ( trade value players ) and picks I had at my disposal. So id emphasise putting players ( from whereever, afar or near ) into a team that could be refined ( one might say..a-Neeld) into a winner rather than working out how I could magically reinvent some of our spuds.

I reckon thats exactly what Neeld will do

Wow. Seriously stupid posts on this thread. Enjoyable though. My favourite bit is where we trade our rubbish for draft picks....

Rate him or not, (I do) Evans is in trouble. A 20 year old mid with a wayward kick, a bent leg and a crook back. WCE loved him at the time we got him but they could afford the time he needs to get his body ready for an AFL career. We most likely, cannot.

Spencer isn't going anywhere and Fitzpatrick has genuine talent.

The others can fend for themselves. The club has the stance that almost every player will be available this off season as they know we are way behind the field. Going forward we currently have the worst list in the AFL. Expect an interesting delisting/trade period.

Trading our players will be virtually non-existent. Who wants slow players who can't hit targets from 20m?

FA will complicate matters no doubt with people like Bate. It will be interesting for sure but I can't see a lot of trades occurring.