Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

The Consultant

7NEWS
No image preview

Melbourne’s locker room nickname for departed star revealed

The Demons are now thriving after the much-needed ‘break-up’ in the off-season.

Caroline Wilson honestly, Gawn was asked on Tripple M and denies this

Welp, regardless of if it’s true or not, that’ll be his nickname now.

I love winning, because all this dross about ex-players becomes fugazi. He's happy, we're happy, everyone's happy. A premiership was won, and we go our seperate winning ways.

9 minutes ago, Chook said:

I love winning, because all this dross about ex-players becomes fugazi. He's happy, we're happy, everyone's happy. A premiership was won, and we go our seperate winning ways.

Spot on

I honestly could not care a jot about tracc. He's not a dee anymore, and good luck to him that he's playing well for the suns.

C'est la dee.

🚨Philosophical moral police warning ‼️

I guess no one on this forum has become fed up with either individuals or the overall organisational culture that they work at, and still turned up to do the job to the best of their abilities - given their current internal state. It’s a pretty normal occurrence in other workplaces to tap out…

Why he or any other player is held to other standards is beyond me … actually it’s not, I get it, but I still irks the heck out of me…

Edited by Engorged Onion

Him and his ginger mate were two of the reasons we couldn't hit a target inside 50.

I still prefer BP5. Or is it now BP3?

Matthews used this term to describe Akermanis at Brisbane. He was a highly talented Brownlow medallist but he was not considered fully integrated or engaged with the team's culture and operations.

In my view from afar, Tracs decisions have often been about money and opportunity to prepare post career. His contract was rewrittem and extended at GC with new managers including his wife. l assume with confidence it has greater flexibility and return to him for commercial opportunities than when with Connors mgmt

Edited by Demons1858

Sounds like a bad Ben Affleck movie

To be fair, Tracc certainly wasn’t a “consultant” for the most part of his phenomenal career at the club - he will always be one of greats although his post KB25 career was clouded in unwanted controversy.

Coincidentally, the AFL and AFL Players’ Association report into Petracca’s horrific 2024 injuries has finally been completed 681 days after the game. The report closes the book on the saga and makes recommendations for the processes to be followed in the future. As to the MFC's medical treatment, it does not criticize what happened at the ground or when he was taken to hospital. Petracca himself, came out and said that he wanted to go out onto the field and he had no complaint about how it was handled.

As often happens, the media took notice of gossip emanating from some of the people around Petracca at the time, possibly to further an agenda that was harmful to both the player and the club. Although he came back to play in 2025, it’s regrettable that it became necessary for the club and one of its champions to part in those circumstances, albeit that seems that it’s turning into a win/win for both.

Although I recognise Mr Onion's fair point, personally I don't recall being paid $1m+ to do exactly what I trained for and wanted to do since I was a kid, at an organisation which literally stalled needed reforms in order to keep me in my preferred role, as being a typical example of times I've checked out mentally from a workplace.

Petracca's loved ones clearly and enthusiastically love him and care for him, but he is also their super cash cow. It is an awkward tension that affects all other relationships.

Anyway, it appears to all be working out well for everyone. Gold Coast and Melbourne are each in the hunt to be the team to beat the Swans on grand final day, and Petracca's move has been key to both! 🤪

1 hour ago, Demons1858 said:

In my view from afar, Tracs decisions have often been about money and opportunity to prepare post career. His contract was rewrittem and extended at GC with new managers including his wife. l assume with confidence it has greater flexibility and return to him for commercial opportunities than when with Connors mgmt

I won't address the assumptions in the above.

On a factual point: his contract was not extended. I can't find anything to the contrary. Happy to read it if you have found such evidence.

Im sick of hearing about this bloke. He is no longer one of us, we are playing brilliant football. Couldn't care less how well he is going either.

I'm ok with Caro's opinion that the club were very much to blame if it refers to the 4 months after the horrific incident and not in isolation.

1 hour ago, The Oracle said:

To be fair, Tracc certainly wasn’t a “consultant” for the most part of his phenomenal career at the club - he will always be one of greats although his post KB25 career was clouded in unwanted controversy.

Coincidentally, the AFL and AFL Players’ Association report into Petracca’s horrific 2024 injuries has finally been completed 681 days after the game. The report closes the book on the saga and makes recommendations for the processes to be followed in the future. As to the MFC's medical treatment, it does not criticize what happened at the ground or when he was taken to hospital. Petracca himself, came out and said that he wanted to go out onto the field and he had no complaint about how it was handled.

As often happens, the media took notice of gossip emanating from some of the people around Petracca at the time, possibly to further an agenda that was harmful to both the player and the club. Although he came back to play in 2025, it’s regrettable that it became necessary for the club and one of its champions to part in those circumstances, albeit that seems that it’s turning into a win/win for both.

Sorry, but Tracc sh@t on his own supporters a number of times. I remmeber his interview in one of our finals, and he said "that's for anyone who has been embarrassed to be a Melbourne supporter" - that was tone deaf. Never once been embarrassed. It showed the attitude he held.

Then he went on radio and had a crack at our crowds. Saying something smart like "it'd be nice if they'd show up" - like that was supposed to get people to show up.

Then he kicks an injured dog after King's Birthday, blaming the Club for the position he found himself in, despite earlier defending the Club and the Doctors in a social media post. In my mind, his agent brother and extended family built the narrative for him and saw it as an opportunity for him to get out of the MFC. Rather than be a true leader of the club, he elected to muddy its name.

Good riddance to him. Thanks for the flag. Be gone

He's gone and everyone is happy with the 'divorce' outcome. Neither party was 100% to blame for the breakdown, but both were responsible. If we acknowledge our issues and learn to do better, we will all be better off and the club will be greater. If CP5 can't acknowledge his failings in the situation then that's his problem to deal with. Thanks for the memories and the flag.

This guy is gone and I've had enough of hearing his name to be honest. Love what he did for us but I am looking forward to when this is not news anymore.

1 hour ago, MoreFreesForTheDees said:

He's gone and everyone is happy with the 'divorce' outcome. Neither party was 100% to blame for the breakdown, but both were responsible. If we acknowledge our issues and learn to do better, we will all be better off and the club will be greater. If CP5 can't acknowledge his failings in the situation then that's his problem to deal with. Thanks for the memories and the flag.

Maybe not.

Edited by bluey
A

Trac is the reason why 2025 was a bad year, not with the way he played, he played fine, 6th in score involments for tha AFL, second in the bnf, the reason was the whole club was trying to make this pre Madonna happy. That it neglected the other 40 players on the list, this made for a unhappy environment, and Goodwin was trying so hard to make truc happy that it was his sole focus, instead of refining the new faster ball movement game plan, and working on the close games, it become about kissing this cancer on the [censored], God bye you fithy cancer, it will be only a matter of time before the cancer spreads at the Gold Coast. The one thing the gold Coast haven't got, is a [censored] kissing coach, Dimma won't kiss his [censored]

58 minutes ago, Waverley said:

Trac is the reason why 2025 was a bad year, not with the way he played, he played fine, 6th in score involments for tha AFL, second in the bnf, the reason was the whole club was trying to make this pre Madonna happy. That it neglected the other 40 players on the list, this made for a unhappy environment, and Goodwin was trying so hard to make truc happy that it was his sole focus, instead of refining the new faster ball movement game plan, and working on the close games, it become about kissing this cancer on the [censored], God bye you fithy cancer, it will be only a matter of time before the cancer spreads at the Gold Coast. The one thing the gold Coast haven't got, is a [censored] kissing coach, Dimma won't kiss his [censored]

tell us what you really think

1 hour ago, Waverley said:

This is a pretty embarrassing take. You’re blaming one player for a whole club’s issues and then wrapping it in personal abuse. Footy discussion is better than this.