Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

POSTGAME: Rd 04 vs Gold Coast

18 hours ago, Bang Bang Bang said:

So many positives but Sparrow was an absolute maniac in that last quarter. Like an out of control boulder with vices for arms .

Just reading this thread now, but I have to agree. Sparrow and Howes on the last two eeeks have been solid contributors,

And Laurie at times yesterday, in the right spot at the right time. But he needs to keep doing it. And there might be guys ahead of him. Go Dee’s

Let’s NzoT take the bummers as easy beats We gave list to sides we should have beaten quite a few times over the last couple of years.

2 hours ago, Macca said:

Superstitiousof truth in what you're saying as many (most?) footy fans are a superstitious lot!

Me? I believe in talent levels and everything else runs 2nd (however, a good coach can harness talent but and a poor coach can stuff things up)

And we've got plenty of talent and more depth than we thought. All that after 4 games?

It's got everything to do with game style and skills. And you can't fake that and it's not a fluke either

I'll tell you how superstitious footy fans are.

In that 4th quarter when we were up by 4 goals and GC kicked one, a guy nearby yelled out "Let's not do a Carlton".

Hardly a terrible comment right? Wrong. The instant abuse that followed was intense.

"Why would you day that?"

"How could you?"

"Get out"

You get the picture.

17 hours ago, sam6172 said:

Watched Dimma's post match and he was quite genuine. Definitely gave Melbourne a lot of credit.

Yes I noticed that as well. He was very complimenative which he usually isn’t.

3 hours ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Another comment on crowd noise.

I haven't been a fan of player songs after a goal but love it at the ground especially when the crowd can sing along. Sweet Caroline gets quite a rendition so it is great when Sharp goals.

Adds terrific atmosphere.

I’d love a player to use ‘The Harder They Come’… such a good song to sing along with.

Was anyone else getting incredibly frustrated with Gold Coast continually flushing goals out of their [censored] whilst we were missing the usual easy ones we would gobble up.

Felt like we worked harder to score goals where as they just seem to nail them everytime.

1 hour ago, YesitwasaWin4theAges said:

He would have copped it for sure.

You're probably right.

The funny thing is Claz probably won't, and really, Claz deserves more Demon angst than Tracc.

Sure Tracc wanted out, but we got 3 first rounders in the trade and his massive salary of our books. And its not as if he didn't play well for us last season.

I always loved Claz, but bottom line is pre his hammy related melt down, with his off field stuff he was super high maintenance. And once injured, he was totally unprofessional in how he managed it for the rest of that season (before being kicked out of the Anglesea preseason camp and told to go away and decide if we wanted to play AFL football)

Yes, I believe he was struggling with mutiple issues, and I think the club did the right thing by supporting him to address them. And he did seem to do the hard yards to get to netter place, played pretty well too in his last two seasons.

But he's gone, we got nothing for him tradewise and have to pay half his million dollar salary for the next 5 years.

What a ripper day at the footy. Have not enjoyed a match like that in a long time.

Nervous the whole match thinking their class will come back at us late but really we were in control bar the first 15 minutes.

Our pressure was off the charts. Bring that every week and we will be damned hard to play against.

Stoked with every players efforts yesterday

2 hours ago, Macca said:

The bookies more often than not get it right

We're paying currently $1.57 to make the '10' (that's 4-6 in the old language) Odds-on!!

(By the way, before the start of the season, we were paying $3.75 to make the '10')

But in order to make the finals we're going to have to turn half-way with a decent W/L record. Our run home isn't easy

So we need to win now and build up a bank of wins

But I've seen enough to not bother with the September snow season

Get confident, folks. We're going places

2 hours ago, Macca said:

The bookies more often than not get it right

We're paying currently $1.57 to make the '10' (that's 4-6 in the old language) Odds-on!!

(By the way, before the start of the season, we were paying $3.75 to make the '10')

But in order to make the finals we're going to have to turn half-way with a decent W/L record. Our run home isn't easy

So we need to win now and build up a bank of wins

But I've seen enough to not bother with the September snow season

Get confident, folks. We're going places

1 hour ago, Macca said:

And Fritsch & Rivers

XT might take a bit of time but he was a standout junior with big raps

If it wasn't for Big Max, Heath could step right up, right now

People seem to have forgotten AMW.

He's had a tough run but I really believe he has star quality.

Just hope he overcomes his injuries and gets to show it.

2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

They were certainly animated towards each other and not in a positive way..

I'm surprised this hasn't been raised in the media. Stephen May and Max made headlines last year yet we hear nothing from yesterday despite multiple displays of dissatisfaction with a team mate.

Maybe Ross the Boss is right. AFL "nepo babies" extends to the fourth estate too?

2 hours ago, Willmoy1947 said:

I was doing doing the same because I had thought he had made a couple of previous attempts, and didn't have my tick, but I was wrong and he did some good things in traffic, looked comfortable and second attempts linking up.

Good to hear, I see he had 40% game time which doesn't look good. But then how much time to those on the bench average? I have no idea.

18 hours ago, dees189227 said:

Did a journo seriously ask king if steele keeps his spot? The look on kings face, I think he wanted to burst out laughing

I think they were talking about "Jake", not "Jack". ie Jake Melksham.

This may have been mentioned but how good does it feel watching Gawn totally rip games apart. Without being a stats man it really appears we’re getting centre clearance dominance more this year than ever.

16 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Was anyone else getting incredibly frustrated with Gold Coast continually flushing goals out of their [censored] whilst we were missing the usual easy ones we would gobble up.

Felt like we worked harder to score goals where as they just seem to nail them everytime.

They kicked very well but we controlled territory so when they did go forward they had space and King, Read and Walter were all top 10 picks for a reason. Mobile talls who can clunk marks and find space inside 50.

Throw in Uwland and the average draft position of their multiple goal kickers is very scary. (Throw in Tracc and Humphrey and good luck).

Culley, JVR and Latrelle missed ones they would’ve liked but I was happy with the way we generated good looks especially given 59 inside 50’s and a crowded forward line at times. Targeting the big wingers and Langford hopefully starting to hold his marks leading up at the ball.

5 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

They kicked very well but we controlled territory so when they did go forward they had space and King, Read and Walter were all top 10 picks for a reason. Mobile talls who can clunk marks and find space inside 50.

Throw in Uwland and the average draft position of their multiple goal kickers is very scary. (Throw in Tracc and Humphrey and good luck).

Culley, JVR and Latrelle missed ones they would’ve liked but I was happy with the way we generated good looks especially given 59 inside 50’s and a crowded forward line at times. Targeting the big wingers and Langford hopefully starting to hold his marks leading up at the ball.

Yep.

The way we were generating scores was as good as i have seen in a while.

18 hours ago, Watson11 said:

Our forward line is so enjoyable to watch. After 4 years of predicability and being so easy to defend, I just love seeing the opposition panic with our quick entries and then love the opposition finger pointing afterwards.

I thought this week was a litmus test as GC play a style that can undo the way we play. But we stood up so well and they were the ones under pressure.

I’ll be at gather round. We owe Essendon big time.

I think a midfield that has a mixture of speed and contested ability is the one that will test us. Suns are one paced and IMV slow around the ball and rely on pace from behind the contest to handball chain or link up quickly.

The real test is the premier in a fortnight. Their midfield has both ability to win it on the inside and speed away from the contest.

With the Suns you can get them on the outside of the contest, and if you go head to head with them at stoppage they rely on that handball receive from behind or power ahead of the ball.

11 minutes ago, Dee Vinci said:

People seem to have forgotten AMW.

He's had a tough run but I really believe he has star quality.

Just hope he overcomes his injuries and gets to show it.

The bloke who also stood out to me was Bonner ... and if clubs are going to keep a few mature aged players around for experience and so forth, why not him?

We're doing it with T-Mac & Melk for good reason

I understand Bonner is not on an AFL list anymore but the bloke can play. A mature aged 29yo for a club in the mid-season draft?

Just now, Macca said:

The bloke who also stood out to me was Bonner ... and if clubs are going to keep a few mature aged players around for experience and so forth, why not him?

I understand Bonner is not on an AFL list anymore but the bloke can play. A A mature aged 29yo for a club in the mid-season draft?

He's been delisted twice

I think VFL is just his level

42 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

100%.

I felt the scoreboard didn’t reflect the difference. Once we got in front it never felt like we were going to lose, but we never truly buried them either. The fact that they hardly missed when they had the chance to score was a big contributor to this.

8 minutes ago, Macca said:

I understand Bonner is not on an AFL list anymore but the bloke can play. A A mature aged 29yo for a club in the mid-season draft?

he's mitch white 2.0

it would be wonderful if he could similarly be a star in a casey demons premiership

Edited by whatwhat say what

Just now, adonski said:

He's been delisted twice

I think VFL is just his level

Yeah sure but as a recycled player for needs only, he'd be handy

Most clubs, if not all, will have ruled a line throught at least 5 or 6 of their listed players by early to late May

They are already on their way out so that's close on 100 spots to be replaced

And being a rookie draft mid season, it's not like it's a long-term commitment with lots of $$$'s involved

It's just one spot ... nothing ventured, nothing gained

From an overall point of view, there are hundreds of players in the AFL system that aren't much chop

I reckon there's a good chance that at least one club will entertain the thought of giving Bonner another chance

16 hours ago, Gabriel said:

During the week Matthew Lloyd commented that “Max Gawn and Kozzie Pickett are great players in a poor team”. So Matthew, eat your words!

Lloyd, for a so called expert, has minimal insight. @binman and I commented on this last week. It's usually the last thing he saw or heard someone else say, becomes his great analytical piece for that moment. And his delivery, after 20+ years, is still amateurish. He wouldn't have put up with that from his midfielders when he played, yet we are subjected to it week in week out.

6 minutes ago, Nasher said:

100%.

I felt the scoreboard didn’t reflect the difference. Once we got in front it never felt like we were going to lose, but we never truly buried them either. The fact that they hardly missed when they had the chance to score was a big contributor to this.

GC so far are first with Goals to scoring shot accuracy 60% - we are 7th at 50% and Geelong last at 36%

The spread for the previous 3 seasons

'25 53% best-43% worst

'24 56%-42%

'23 52%-44%

for fun...'21 was 52%-43% and we were 45.6%

Edited by Engorged Onion

3 hours ago, BoBo said:

Great, now 4 posters have said the 'F' word. We won't make finals now because you all said the 'F' word too early.

Thanks a lot. Season ruined.

Talk of finals casts my mind back to post 2021 granny- when the experts were talking about the beginning of a Demon dynasty!

19 hours ago, roy11 said:

Petracca seeing us play attacking football with dare and run is a bit like the meme about your high school upgrading everything after you've left school.

It's like rain on your weddin' day
It's a free ride when you've already paid
It's the good advice that you just didn't take
And who would've thought? It figures

Just now, whatwhat say what said:

he's mitch white 2.0

it would be wonderful if he could similarly be a star in a casey demons premiership

You talk like every listed player is a future star when the reality is that there are numerous players who will never get past C grade level. Hundreds in fact

So there's plenty of room for journeymen or for players that can fill a void

We should know, we've recruited and turned over any number of players who at best, are there to fill a void or are just depth players

Not every recruit is going to have a chance of becoming a gun player

Bonner as a depth player providing a bit of value is a distinct possibility ... but not necessarily at the MFC

But if Adams is another NQR, what do we do if Petty & Lever get injured? For starters, we'd need TMac to stay upright