Copy & paste from the second half of season 2022, Goodwin hasn’t been able to fix the same issues which has cost us a flag & now sees us back to back bottom 6 finish, how & why should he keep his job, some one tell me why he stays!

Opposition forwards must love lining up for goal with no pressure knowing that we will most likely struggle to convert up the other end. It’s not a coincidence every team we play against kicks incredibly accurately for goal.

It’s like we’ve lost the mental goal kicking battle before it’s even begun every single game.

1 minute ago, Spargonicus said:

Also, the psychology of it seems to be that because we have so many players who can’t kick set shots, in each game, early on, 3 or 4 easier shots are missed which brings in the trigger for the whole team re: ‘here we go again’, and the pressure builds on each set shot.

Absolutely no doubt about that. It flattens the mindset and there comes a point in the game where you just cant get it back.

Every team goes through it but Melbourne is hell bent on making it a weekly occurrence.

1 minute ago, rpfc said:

Goodwin getting no favours from the group with days like today. Past the winning stoppages and contests - it’s the same old story.

Goodwin has at least next year - I think it is very clear that we need to surround him with a new slate of voices and if there is no shift then that is that.

Ultimately, the players coach has to get them to adapt, make better decisions, and commit to the way they want to move the ball. Otherwise…

I’m a Goody defender but he brings pressure on himself when he keeps going back to the well with guys who clearly aren’t getting any better.

Lever was rushed back. Now he rushes Viney back.

In fairness to the coach there’s almost nothing at Casey. Jeffo is building, the rest aren’t. And the kids in the side are fatiguing.

Viney, Oliver, Tracc is now more stale than Brown and McDonald were yo forward. We never replaced those 2. Now we need to replace our midfielders

Rivers having a stinker and Pickett going MIA doesn’t help. But we need trades, delisted pick ups whatever we can do to find mids who don’t just constantly butcher the footy.

Everything feels so flat. Our goal kicking is a blight on our coaching team. Our gun players skills are not only bad, they are worsening. The spark, the energy, the confidence has totally eroded down to not being evident at all. This feels like 2019 or 2020 - a good list playing poor footy.

Unfortunately, I cannot see any change until new President, board members and new CEO have a total look at our football dept, coaching panel, and playing list.

I am filthy about our state of play, and exhausted every time I watch them play.

Apart from Gawn, our "leaders" stated today that they are the problem, but maybe not the solution. May, Viney, Trac, Oliver, Salem.

11 minutes ago, layzie said:

How many players on this list can kick a set shot at least 8 times out of 10 when the game is in the balance?

I reckon we have maybe 3 absolute tops. The bulk of the list are 4 or 5 out of 10 guys. In games where momentum swings, it stings.

Spot on. Need to go and watch a basketball player practice shooting, cricket player perfecting a stroke. And get rid of the bloody soccer ball.

1 minute ago, Demonsone said:

Copy & paste from the second half of season 2022, Goodwin hasn’t been able to fix the same issues which has cost us a flag & now sees us back to back bottom 6 finish, how & why should he keep his job, some one tell me why he stays!

Because the list is worse than the coaching.

Name a coach that can summon a midfield from fresh air? It’s just not possible

Viney to Butters for 4 quarters is maybe the worst matchup I’ve seen all year. Viney was never ever going to be able to go with him. A stupid matchup that needed to end in the first quarter. Better off putting nobody on him and playing a more attacking mid like we did to start the fourth quarter.

After a great performance last week against the top team both on field (goal kicking aside) and in the coaches box, today was the total opposite.

Absolute junk from defensive efforts, to ball use, to decision making, to set ups and match ups.

Gawn the only winner playing against two horrible rucks.

McVee will also be having a nice holiday after the bye.

1 minute ago, M_9 said:

The gap between his best and worst is huge.

Maybe the only bigger gap is between supporters' memory of his best and worst.

Close to the most senior player at the club endlessly taking the [censored].

Great list management

No one can hit the side of a barn

Our worst butchers are locked in for 5+years

Trac

Oliver

Viney

And then there's you Max

Just give up your kicking for goal. Kills all momentum

Goodwin is the most stubborn brainless coach in the AFL. Same problems for 4 years. Keep it up

7 minutes ago, HarpenDee said:

Kozzie sniped out of it changed the game

Much like what they've done to Max years gone by

Looked to be lying out cold about a minute before the Butters snipe. Obviously no replays or mentions on comms.

11:11 remaining on the Fox Footy clock in Q2. Cops a disgusting swinging cheap shot from Port number 44. Before another one 50 seconds later from Butters.

Amazed he was allowed to continue. Clearly out cold.

12 minutes ago, Demon Disciple said:

A very poor way to end our year, tail tucked between our legs………….well we’re trying to tuck it between our legs, but we keep missing.

I tried to get over to Adelaide for the game. Miss kicked it and ended up in Charleville.

15 minutes ago, layzie said:

How many players on this list can kick a set shot at least 8 times out of 10 when the game is in the balance?

I reckon we have maybe 3 absolute tops. The bulk of the list are 4 or 5 out of 10 guys. In games where momentum swings, it stings.

Which players are you confident with ball in hand having a regulation set shot? Probably Fritsch, Kozzie and Turner are the only ones and even they're not "put down your glasses" types, more just they're better than 50/50.

When I see us kick to a mark inside 50 or goes from "yes!" to "oh [censored] it's Max/Petracca/Viney" etc

1 minute ago, M_9 said:

I love Milkshake but he's chance of a contract extension is slipping away on the back of today's performance.

The gap between his best and worst is huge.

Probably but just looking at today's game.... he was asked to play on a monster sized defender which should really have been left to a bit of a brute key tall forward all things being said.

Problem is we don't have one.

It was a physical mis-match and one that other teams with similar type solid tall defenders can exploit for as long as we are stuck with our present line up up forward (in a list sense).

There's nothing to fear in a big way (bar Kozzy) in our forward line at present and everyone knows it.

The way we bring it in and our lack of dangerous mids (when they do push forward) also doesn't help our cause.

We are the epitome of a toothless tiger. Lots of growling and efforts but when it counts we have no teeth to inflict pain on anyone but the worst rated opponents (bottom 4 to 6 and we're one of them).

Edited by Demon Dynasty

17 minutes ago, Nietaphart said:

Why can’t our forwards lead to the ball carrier?

#Georgiadis #caseinpoint

It has to be coaching. As NFL commentator Mike Lombardi says again and again "you're either coaching it or you're allowing it to happen"

7 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

It is totally unacceptable to only have 5 wins at this stage of the season with the list that we have got. It must get down to coaching so big changes are needed.

Our list isn’t that good

I'll enjoy the rest of my year not watching.

Was having a good weekend until this. Same every week. Max , petty, sparrow, Trac, Oliver, Fritsch all with chances most u/14s would get . Wife asked why are you so angry. I said my football team and just not worth it right now

I didn’t watch the second half as I couldn’t control myself in the first

Best decision i’ve made in a while

54 Forward Entries for 8 Goals

This is a standard (90%) statistic we have had for the past 4 years

Members, who pay a lot of money to this Club deserve a much better return..

Someone needs to have the courage to tell Viney he is no longer good enough to play midfield. Send him to half forward to do a job on the oppositions key half back playmaker being no one has gone near Wanganeen Milera, J Daicos or Rozee in 3 successive weeks.

Pickett was clearly not right after successive knocks. I await the announcement of delayed concussion.

Why we did not start May on Georgiades was a mistake.

Why we continue to persevere with Petty forward is now a joke.

What Levers role in the current game is beyond me.

Our inability Tom take our chances when we had momentum and do basic things to halt momentum late in quarters continues every week without fail.

I never want to see Petracca, Viney and Oliver a centre bounce again. What’s the point of winning the clearance if you are all just going to blaze it to no one.

The bones of a quality side are in there but whether Goodwin has the steel to actually make the changes required is doubtful.