The Xavier Lindsay Thread

I like the kicking and he looks a solid ball winner to give him that outside in balance.

I’m worried that his speed is only good not great, aerial isn’t good, that’s a couple of things that make defending as a half back or finding the ball as a mid or half forward harder.

Rookie me says his endurance is a concern. ESPN says ‘A late-season PCL injury meant Lindsay didn't test at the combine but recruiters believe he would've gone well, especially in the 2km with his endurance highlighted all year’.

I think he needs that one athletic weapon to be in the frame from 9 (or higher). He looks a good in game runner, hopefully they have testing and GPS data to back that up. 

On 17/10/2024 at 13:23, DeeSpencer said:

I like the kicking and he looks a solid ball winner to give him that outside in balance.

I’m worried that his speed is only good not great, aerial isn’t good, that’s a couple of things that make defending as a half back or finding the ball as a mid or half forward harder.

Rookie me says his endurance is a concern. ESPN says ‘A late-season PCL injury meant Lindsay didn't test at the combine but recruiters believe he would've gone well, especially in the 2km with his endurance highlighted all year’.

I think he needs that one athletic weapon to be in the frame from 9 (or higher). He looks a good in game runner, hopefully they have testing and GPS data to back that up. 

Is there any of the mids likely to be available at our picks that you do like genuine question). I thought Lindsay looked a weapon in the Vic Country v Metro game and if you picked him with a Lalor or Langford think they would compliment each other and the Duke and Kolt. 

33 minutes ago, Colm said:

Is there any of the mids likely to be available at our picks that you do like? ( genuine question).I thought Lindsay looked a weapon in the Vic country v Metro game and if you picked him with a Lalor or Langford think they would compliment each other and the Duke and Kolt. 

I like Langford, Lalor and FOS and hope one of them gets to 5, I like Draper and Lindsay for 9 provided there’s confidence in his speed and endurance. Intrigued by Bo Allen too.

Mighty Demon

fr_ap    2,444

22 October

Not different - right & wrong 😄. Happy to call it here - Toumpas level bust if we draft Lindsay. 

fr_ap … I will strongly disagree.  Lindsay presents as one of the most likely players in this draft to succeed.  Kicking is elite efficiency.  Covers distance easily.  Makes smart decisions with the footy.  Can win it in close or spread from a contest.  He’s not physically ready like Lalor or Travaglia but his skills, leadership and footy IQ would quickly elevate him. Pick 9 is probably a choice between Travaglia, Lindsay or Tauru. Any of these youngsters is an excellent additions. Ultimately let’s leave it up to JT’s closer and deeper examination to pick our best fit.  

6 hours ago, Supreme_Demon said:

Apparently Xavier Lindsay won the Morrish Medal this year.

Morrish Medal honours caps up and down year for Xavier Lindsay

So did Liam Stocker and Matthew Bate 🫠

Having said that, don't mind Lindsay at 9 as a skilled rebounder if we take a gun midfielder who can win their own ball at 5 (Lalor, Langford, Draper, Smith, Smilie)

39 minutes ago, Lord Travis said:

So did Liam Stocker and Matthew Bate 🫠

Having said that, don't mind Lindsay at 9 as a skilled rebounder if we take a gun midfielder who can win their own ball at 5 (Lalor, Langford, Draper, Smith, Smilie)

The thing is Lindsay can win his own ball too, and showed it in the middle late in the year! Gun. 

5 hours ago, 4_Kent_Watts said:

Wish people would STOP with the Toumpas comparison's to any player.... There's only ONE Jimmy Toumpas.

I think if anyone in this draft potentially presents as a Jimmy Toumpas in my mind it's Murphy Reid. 

Lindsay is a very very underrated contested ball winner which only compliments him being one of the most damaging outside players in the draft. I am honestly very surprised he's not in serious consideration for the top 5 selections. 

21 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

I think if anyone in this draft potentially presents as a Jimmy Toumpas in my mind it's Murphy Reid. 

Lindsay is a very very underrated contested ball winner which only compliments him being one of the most damaging outside players in the draft. I am honestly very surprised he's not in serious consideration for the top 5 selections. 

Hey who knows he might be. Windsor was looking like a later first round selection a while out from the draft. 

Until Twomey catches wind of where players are actually going, and releases his own phantom draft, everyone else's is just guess work

I see Lindsay similarly to Reid.

Terrific in space when he has some time. But you've got to look at what he does when there's pressure because at AFL level the speed of the game and pressure is the biggest difference. I think Lindsay might struggle at least for the first few years. Maybe with a few preseason and a better tank it might help.

There is a stark difference between his clean open marking and possessions when he played at state level on HB/Wing and when he player for Gippsland Power as a midfielder.

Now I think the below video is a tad unfair as I don't think his position at this stage is as a midfielder. But it does show he's unable to use the ball well in tight or contested situations. Obviously as a HB/Winger this is less important but I would like to have seen more in the contest. I think we saw good signs of this from Windsor and Rivers pre draft. I unfortunately don't see that intensity and mongrel from Reid or Lindsay.

13 minutes ago, Young Blood said:

I see Lindsay similarly to Reid.

Terrific in space when he has some time. But you've got to look at what he does when there's pressure because at AFL level the speed of the game and pressure is the biggest difference. I think Lindsay might struggle at least for the first few years. Maybe with a few preseason and a better tank it might help.

There is a stark difference between his clean open marking and possessions when he played at state level on HB/Wing and when he player for Gippsland Power as a midfielder.

Now I think the below video is a tad unfair as I don't think his position at this stage is as a midfielder. But it does show he's unable to use the ball well in tight or contested situations. Obviously as a HB/Winger this is less important but I would like to have seen more in the contest. I think we saw good signs of this from Windsor and Rivers pre draft. I unfortunately don't see that intensity and mongrel from Reid or Lindsay.

Geez his intensity and attack on the footy actually looks really good for a guy who is an outside leaning mid I reckon.

There are a few mistakes he made in this footage but not through lack of intensity or endeavour for mine. He actually looks pretty hard at it, especially a few of those aerial contests he was in.

There's some early Sam Walsh about him.

6 hours ago, Supreme_Demon said:

Apparently Xavier Lindsay won the Morrish Medal this year.

Apparently so did Matthew Bate and Liam Stocker but then a bloke called Clayton Oliver did too as did Hugh McCluggage 

42 minutes ago, adonski said:

Geez his intensity and attack on the footy actually looks really good for a guy who is an outside leaning mid I reckon.

There are a few mistakes he made in this footage but not through lack of intensity or endeavour for mine. He actually looks pretty hard at it, especially a few of those aerial contests he was in.

There's some early Sam Walsh about him.

You're right actually. I take it all back

Just now, adonski said:

But that's no fun

What do I know. You probably have more knowledge then me. I also didn't get to see the kid play in person so I shouldn't be judging from his videos.

I'll trust JT with that one. 

Just now, Young Blood said:

What do I know. You probably have more knowledge then me. I also didn't get to see the kid play in person so I shouldn't be judging from his videos.

I'll trust JT with that one. 

Nah I really don't. I wasn't having a crack btw, Lindsay may turn out to be a massive dud for all I know, just giving my 2 cents to join in the draft fun.

On 22/10/2024 at 19:53, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said:

You’re in SGST land, S_D?

Sorry mate.

I am unfamiliar with the acronym SGST?

I just want the Demons to draft young players who are excellent kicks.

I will put my faith in Jason Taylor though. He seems to know what he's doing.

Just now, Supreme_Demon said:

Sorry mate.

I am unfamiliar with the acronym SGST?

I just want the Demons to draft young players who are excellent kicks.

I will put my faith in Jason Taylor though. He seems to know what he's doing.

South Gippsland Sentinel Times. Thought you might be from around here. A few of us are, I think.

Anyways, liking yours and our other D'lander colleagues' thoughts on who's going to swell our talent coffers for '25.

Just get Langford, though (I have my reasons) and the other pick's a free throw.

2 minutes ago, Timothy Reddan-A'Blew said:

South Gippsland Sentinel Times. Thought you might be from around here. A few of us are, I think.

Anyways, liking yours and our other D'lander colleagues' thoughts on who's going to swell our talent coffers for '25.

Just get Langford, though (I have my reasons) and the other pick's a free throw.

Ahhhh all good. 😎👍

I used to have relatives who lived in Wonthaggi actually.

As for our draftees at the Demons, I am more than happy with Harvey Langford. Melbourne definitely needs more goal kicking midfielders!

However, elite kickers to help out Christian Salem would make a huge difference too though. That's why I like the look of Xavier Lindsay and any other top draftees who can put a football "lace out" on a team mate's chest with a beautiful pass.

From afl.com.au (Kevin Sheehan)

Xavier Lindsay
State: Victoria Country
State League Club: Gippsland Power
Community Club: Inverloch-Kongwak/Leongatha
Date of Birth: 03/08/2006
Height: 183cm

A left-footed medium defender and midfielder who displayed enormous footy nous in reading the cues to win the ball before making good decisions when distributing. A neat kick and aggressive tackler, he also showed good natural speed and agility. Was a standout at club and representative level and finished the National Championships in outstanding fashion, racking up 30 disposals against Victoria Metro which cemented All Australian honours. Starred for the Gippsland Power in the Coates Talent League, where he averaged 23 disposals across 12 matches to win the Morrish Medal as the competition's best and fairest player. A PCL injury in the final home and away game brought a premature end to his season but he is expected to have fully recovered by December.