Posted

Sitting here in my office in Baidoa, Somalia, I have stress-eaten a packet of Java house macadamia bickies, a bag of Natural Confectionary dinosaur jellies, a packet of bbq almonds, and am about to get into my cheese stash, reading this thread. I find this whole saga, more stressful than the Type 63 107 rockets Shabbab lob at the UN base next door and I'm not even joking. And it's not Oliver leaving that is killing me, though I am depressed about that, it is how inept the club comes across in the media that is truly triggering. Geelong might as well put a collar on us and parade us along Eastern Beach Road.

Posted
4 hours ago, Moonshadow said:

His ex gf must be a saint. She held him together for his MFC career until last year. 

Part of the new Geelong contract should stipulate a clause that he must have another gf mothering him

This is the elephant in  the room that most who are posting or commenting on the Clayton saga are really ignoring. It all started after the breakup between the ex gf who as I understand it dropped Clarry after 2/3/4 years together.

Somehow Clarry understandably has been affected and a huge void hs entered his life. So much so he has had the troubles and discontent that has been largely restricted in the public domain until his alleged misdemeanours becoming more public (Press stated or alluded to  in general).

Now he has heaps on his plate after following up getting confidence back on the teammates in 2024  despite his fitness and hand injury resurfacing and overriding  his ability to regain top form. Simultaneously there was a very concerted and it appears largely successful watch and care program to come back fully into the fold. Not all seem to have totally embraced this result or approach so it seems inside the playing group in recent 2024 summary it’s a tad divided. Don’t know how strong ir weak this feeling is.

So this indecision has also spread to management vs footy dept. and the controversial Pert lead phone calls as a Result

Clarry has in his fragile state of mind completely interrupted this as a positron (and sort of like a drowning man) sees the Cats lifeline as his greener pasture. 

I don’t think if he has to stay and play with us because we can’t pull the transfer springs especially if Geelong play hard ball very tight. 

Do that and we should close negotiations and say it’s not a deal and our transfer shop has closed for this trade period. 

Let the Cats stew once in a while and not  rule the AFL roost this time. Clarry will fall into line and who knows how much his fitness and form he can attain for 2025.  

And please Dees do watch him and nurture him a little bit if this happens. 

Posted
5 hours ago, DEE fence said:

Sitting here in my office in Baidoa, Somalia, I have stress-eaten a packet of Java house macadamia bickies, a bag of Natural Confectionary dinosaur jellies, a packet of bbq almonds, and am about to get into my cheese stash, reading this thread. I find this whole saga, more stressful than the Type 63 107 rockets Shabbab lob at the UN base next door and I'm not even joking. And it's not Oliver leaving that is killing me, though I am depressed about that, it is how inept the club comes across in the media that is truly triggering. Geelong might as well put a collar on us and parade us along Eastern Beach Road.

Are you in charge of the famine relief?

Posted
7 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

You’re all going to make yourselves ill, just calm down a little. The “like” on the instagram post was photoshopped. 

It absolutely was not.

Posted
21 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

Max is on mmm breakfast after 7. Poor guy has to deal with all the questions & mess with what's going on.

Short term pain for long term gain.  
Hopefully we clean out properly and in 12 months Max is on radio talking about the roaring success of a cultural turnaround 

Posted
6 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Thanks Daz. I can’t see Oliver’s like, mine looks like this: spacer.png

Haha well played! 

Posted
33 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

Max is on mmm breakfast after 7. Poor guy has to deal with all the questions & mess with what's going on.

I don't trust anyone else at this club right now 

Posted
9 hours ago, Red But Mostly Blue said:

So what happened to our stupid email today? You know the one. The crappy, everything’s fine, don’t know what you’re worried about garbola. 

Nah. Got an email offering scarves for $9. Much more important😤

Posted

Waking up again and hoping this was just a nightmare.  Unfortunately it’s all reality.  

Media loving ripping into the Demons again, admittedly feeding on the ineptitude of our player management  and players discontent.   

The Oliver situation has been so messed up that a player with multiple B&F wins, All Australian jumpers, ranked top 5 player in the league through 21&22, can now get to be a horrible public deteriorating mess between club and player.  

Who’s the blame? Oliver? MFC ?? Seemingly it’s both parties and the Trust is Gone.  

Strangely with a Contracted player through to 2030, it’s the Cats that reportedly have the bargaining chips.  Give us little draft picks & Cats will pickup most of the $1m+/yr contract OR Ask for future 1st round pick from Cats but with MFC still paying sizeable part of Clarry contract.  

Horrible horrible. Horrible. That’s the current status. Dees supporters are torn. And being torn. 

Posted
7 hours ago, Supreme_Demon said:

Are you serious??!!

Far out, I was going to have a heart attack!

Please stay a Demon Clayton Oliver. We love you mate! 👹❤️💙

Agree.. but to much water, over a very dodgy bridge now

Posted
3 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Agree.. but to much water, over a very dodgy bridge now

Dunno i thought the same think about Petracca

Posted (edited)
7 hours ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

Apologies folks. Was just trying to prevent a few heart attacks. If Oliver is ‘liking’ those types of social media posts, then you can bet we’re pushing him out the door. Don’t complain about our culture then in the same sentence complain about a cultural issue being shown the door. Amazing player, could’ve gone down as one of our best. It’s unfortunate (if he does indeed leave), but I’ll just look at it as an opportunity. 

Yeah thats exactly right! I'm now thinking, when our team finishes bottom four this year, at least I can watch the champ, cleaning up the midfield with Danger on the way to the Cats Flag in 2025! Make no mistake Scott and his team will ensure Clarry is reborn, remastered and reinvented, something we were icapable of doing!

Posted
1 hour ago, dees189227 said:

Again and again

Posted
On 02/10/2024 at 17:49, Tracca said:

I went for a job interview/meeting with another company, not necessarily to go for the job, but to find out what they are like, how they work, whos who ,and just to see if there is something there. There wasnt. Clarry is more than entitled to do that if Geelong have said come for a chat we may be a club you could be interested in if something were to happen.

I dont think there is any harm at all in that. 

Agree but the cats put in an effort with locking and list manager meeting him. Plus the farm offer probably. 

More than a testing the waters etc imo.

Posted
On 02/10/2024 at 18:32, Billy said:

The same way Jack Viney did & probably Petracca did

My hope is that it's a repeat of Dustys behaviour when he did the rounds and stayed at the times.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Demon17 said:

Agree but the cats put in an effort with locking and list manager meeting him. Plus the farm offer probably. 

More than a testing the waters etc imo.

My take is the external review has said get rid of bad apples. And we have told clarry to start looking around

Posted
15 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Waking up again and hoping this was just a nightmare.  Unfortunately it’s all reality.  

Media loving ripping into the Demons again, admittedly feeding on the ineptitude of our player management  and players discontent.   

The Oliver situation has been so messed up that a player with multiple B&F wins, All Australian jumpers, ranked top 5 player in the league through 21&22, can now get to be a horrible public deteriorating mess between club and player.  

Who’s the blame? Oliver? MFC ?? Seemingly it’s both parties and the Trust is Gone.  

Strangely with a Contracted player through to 2030, it’s the Cats that reportedly have the bargaining chips.  Give us little draft picks & Cats will pickup most of the $1m+/yr contract OR Ask for future 1st round pick from Cats but with MFC still paying sizeable part of Clarry contract.  

Horrible horrible. Horrible. That’s the current status. Dees supporters are torn. And being torn. 

Clayton’s been a distraction for years, and his last 2 seasons haven’t been worthy of his contract. The club can wear some responsibility for the scale of the contract, but I’m of the opinion 80% of the responsibility for this sits with the individual. Oliver still doesn’t seem to understand the expectations of the club (as witnessed at the Brownlow). He's been in the system for 9 years. He should get it by now.

This might be the circuit breaker the playing group needs. It lets the other players see the club won’t let anyone stand in the way of team success. I hate that it’s played out how it has, but if Clayton left last season and we had watched him play this season for someone else like he played for us we would be thinking we dodged a massive bullet. 

Maybe this is the right call?

Posted
5 minutes ago, Tracca said:

My take is the external review has said get rid of bad apples. And we have told clarry to start looking around

Hopefully they are telling Pert and Goodwin to start looking around too

Posted

heard he was up to some antics at Brownlow night, as well as failed to meet some agreements re medical.  I have faith that club has engaged this review and the review has recommended these actions.  So i work on the fact we asked for review, got a review and now take recommendations from review.  Im sure Clarry, Pluckett and the chase for Jimmy Bartel + others is directly from the review.

Unnervy feeling but got to trust the process.

Posted
2 minutes ago, titan_uranus said:

Kane’s right. 

We’re absolutely pathetic. 

How are we pathetic?

apart from not feeding into the media [censored], nothing has changed from the last day of the season until now.

What if we were never trading Clayton? This is all a media beat up, until the club speaks tonight and if claz is there we should all take a deep breath.

agreed our PR team are useless but let’s hold our horses here and not shoot the club for not responding to rumours just yet