POSTGAME: Rd 08 vs Geelong

These a shot of the crowd after Fritta's goal of a guy with his hands on his head in utter disbelief. I think we all felt the same.

A reminder that Windsor is just 18yo

What a pick up

Doesnt make a mistake. So quick, so skilful, so composed 

Should be top 3 in the Rising Star you’d reckon

• Like 14

2 hours ago, Gawndy the Great said:

Maybe so… I think it’s more what happens when you don’t put the right person in him. Henry (his direct opponent) gave him no respect and despite kicking 3 goals on him, probably gave up more in the scoring chains he set up. 

Unreasonably negative. Lever’s form isn’t just down to how much opponents respect him. You’re giving him next to no credit for his positioning, zoning, reading of the play, his strength in marking contests, even his willingness to be involved in offence. His form is largely his to own. 

30 minutes ago, Fork 'em said:

Been taking notes from Serena Williams.

Pay that. Excellent comparison 

Like the cats, Serena has never actually been beaten by an opponent. 

Both only ever lose it because, 'whilst we are not making excuses we [insert lame excuse here - options include covid, gastro, just had a day off, imply robbed by the umpire, played poorly but still almost won because we are so good and our opponents are not in our league, focus is the finals and schedule].'

17 hours ago, BDA said:

I was despondent at 3 qtr time. Thought we’d blown it through bad kicking.

but up stepped Maxy with the captains goal to inspire us. What a leader.

he’s playing as well as ever. AA selection number 7 looking a cert.

We keep coming back to these points: Max is a true champion, an excellent example to all of his players, a great captain of the footy Club. He should be knighted for his contributions to sport and civic dignity.

16 minutes ago, Demonsone said:

Scott presser was all about how his players were off blah blah, how about respecting the opposition.. Goody reinforced how good the cats are 

Noticed that - blaringly obvious that he could not even say: 'The Demons played well.' 

Posted (edited)

What QD hears went Dermie provides his special comments.

They switched to the fat side of the ground when the corridor was open to the end-to-end stuff in the hotdog stand. They’re using their stoppage specialist with the extra on the front door so that gives them the structural flexibility to transition the play around the back of the press. Langdon is a high-intensity runner so that allows them to transition in a way the disrupts the zone defence as ANB exerts his forward half pressure freeing Kossi up to clear on the attacking outside of the narrow lateral of the horizontal. And when they get the young kid Matthew Whelan back from injury they’ll be even more elite in their switching of their offensive spread in their intercept marking.

Edited by Queanbeyan Demon
Not confusing enough
  • Haha 5

15 hours ago, picket fence said:

Just got home from a Very round trip, lets get a few things outa the way

1 Petty was very good tonight so a stay of execution, for now, he provided a solid target and took some great grabs

2 If Demon Royalty includes yours truly well then it was akin to a Royal Flush, only Uncle was the left Bower, Moonman the right, Biffen was the king..... and the fence was.... The ACE OF SPADES

3 I'm old school and had plenty of cash to splash but what is it with this rubbish cards only sheeeit. CASH IS STILL KING PEOPLE.

AH great win after I have a few scotch and cokes I'll post some more! 

The G has been cash free for yonks PF. When did you last get to a game?

3 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

Oh my god, she had the absolute time of her life. It was taxing on her, which we’d anticipated, but her enthusiasm and unbridled joy were unwavering and totally infectious. Such a wonderful experience for her. And yes, 31 did have her losing her mind 😂 Her arms were tired but she held his giant head up regardless, even when she was too tired to stand up. She joined in every single chant with gusto. Many’s the time Pauline and I looked at each other with tears in our eyes. Then, this happened…

Not a dry eye in the cheer squad

Fritta made her night complete. 

WOW JUST WOW

Just watched Chris Scott's presser on the back of all the comments and didn't think it was so bad. He's always been begrudging of praise to the opposition and I thought he made a good job of engaging with the journos instead of treating them like the numpties most of them are. 

1 hour ago, titan_uranus said:

Unreasonably negative. Lever’s form isn’t just down to how much opponents respect him. You’re giving him next to no credit for his positioning, zoning, reading of the play, his strength in marking contests, even his willingness to be involved in offence. His form is largely his to own. 

Mate it’s not negative whatsoever. It’s simply highlighting what happens if you don’t put work into him. It’s been a known fact for the last 4 years and why the whole forwards marking the intercept is a modern part of the game plan. 

It’s similar to the difference between tagging and not tagging Trac/Oliver. When you let him run free he will likely punish you. 

7 hours ago, Lexinator said:

I can't warm to him because he is often a sore loser, just like Hardwick. I do like his analysis on the game though, but needs to work on his humility.  That's why I love Goody so much, respectful whether they win or lose.

He's better after wins

19 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

F&@$k i hate Jeeelong. Absolutely everything about them stinks

i will enjoy the Replay immensely 

Just watch the last QTR, those easy misses was killing me, I swear ever time we play Geelong we kick more behinds then goals 

Posted (edited)
7 hours ago, binman said:

I just texted this to a mate who is a big cats fan:

'Scott, who I had warmed to, lost me with his sour, sore loser, press conference - gave us no credit.

I suspect there is no love lost between goody and Scott.'

He has only lost you now? he lost me in 2021 with his everyone was sick excuse, and even way before that, he is the biggest complainer in the game 

Edited by Demon trucker

Fritta has Stephen Hawkins type Footy IQ. Bloke is as clever as I’ve seen since Aaron Davey, except his height and marking give him a few more strings to his bow. 

16 hours ago, picket fence said:

Um I did, he was phenomenal tonight!!

I see the Picket Fence Cafe in Iiiiiivanhoe was sprayed with bullets late last night.

Could it be an angry demonlander got fed up with your criticism of Harry Petty?

Look out PF!

19 hours ago, Chook said:

For those following the Dermie "cats wasted their chances" halftime narrative, he's chosen to stick with that in the postgame too. Absolutely no idea.

The thing with Dermot is he really hates Melbourne, he gives the Dee no credit ever, he told me that 21 does not count as a flag

Posted (edited)
4 hours ago, Demons1858 said:

Would be nice if he paid respect to the opposition like goody always does ... apparently they lost it we didn't win it ... in the finals in 21 the excuse was they had a cold 

I thought it was gastro? They certainly pooped themselves

image.gif.7a6596f3e4c45260e219ce9b5cb68a1b.gif

2 hours ago, DubDee said:

A reminder that Windsor is just 18yo

What a pick up

Doesnt make a mistake. So quick, so skilful, so composed 

Should be top 3 in the Rising Star you’d reckon

Just wait after another pre season or two if he continues on this path will be a gun.

20 minutes ago, SPC said:

Fritta has Stephen Hawkins type Footy IQ. Bloke is as clever as I’ve seen since Aaron Davey, except his height and marking give him a few more strings to his bow. 

I didn't see the wheel chair no wonder his hair is never out of place doesn't go quick enough...