TeamPlayedFine39 8,525 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 6 hours ago, Skuit said: For starters, an ellipsis requires a space between each dot . . . Really?! I didn’t r realise that. That is much more informative and interesting than the OP! 2 1 Quote
Dee Zephyr 19,311 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 Brilliant ploy to gain more listeners. 1 Quote
Ethan Tremblay 31,388 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 Ummmmm. . . Imagine starting a thread on this. 3 Quote
He de mon 942 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 I blame @Binmans PA Not earning your keep are you? 2 Quote
whatwhat say what 23,841 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 3 minutes ago, TeamPlayedFine39 said: Really?! I didn’t r realise that. That is much more informative and interesting than the OP! i thought it just required three consecutive dots? obviously op got it all wrong with four, either way... from first gogol search result (and thus, the only one that anyone will pay attention to): An ellipsis ( ... ) consists of three evenly spaced periods and is used to indicate the omission of words or suggest an incomplete thought. In general, an ellipsis should be treated as a three-letter word, with a space, three periods and a space. Quote
Vipercrunch 2,863 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 This is why we need an eye-roll reaction. 2 Quote
Guest Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 31 minutes ago, picket fence said: Look u all know you want it!!! A hard hitting no holds barred podcast featuring the one and only "PICKET FENCE".. There wont be any ums, ars, pauses or any other nuances, just one hard hitting commentary, that speaks for the voice of Demonland!!! C Mon mods u know u want it!!!😁😎 DO YOU PROMISE NOT TO YELL ALL THE WAY THROUGH IT?!! WELL, DO YOU? Quote
Its Time for Another 4,306 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 Funnily enough I listen to the Pod for the bits between the ums. My son is in advertising and he watches TV programs for the ads. Each to his own. 5 Quote
BDA 23,048 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 36 minutes ago, picket fence said: Look u all know you want it!!! A hard hitting no holds barred podcast featuring the one and only "PICKET FENCE".. There wont be any ums, ars, pauses or any other nuances, just one hard hitting commentary, that speaks for the voice of Demonland!!! C Mon mods u know u want it!!!😁😎 I reckon you would be box office picket. Not sure in a good way but box office none the less. make it happen @Demonland Quote
DubDee 26,670 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 click bait thread with nothing worth reading cant believe i fell for it Quote
Guest Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 6 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said: i thought it just required three consecutive dots? obviously op got it all wrong with four, either way... from first gogol search result (and thus, the only one that anyone will pay attention to): An ellipsis ( ... ) consists of three evenly spaced periods and is used to indicate the omission of words or suggest an incomplete thought. In general, an ellipsis should be treated as a three-letter word, with a space, three periods and a space. I was taught to put a space following the ellipsis, before the next word, but no space between the ellipsis and the preceding word 🤷♀️ Also, no space between the periods. Soz, @Skuit 😬 Except not soz because you of all peeps know how pedantic I am, oh and that I’m never wrong 😝 Quote
demonglory 70 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 And here I was um thinking um what was I thinking. Um never mind 1 Quote
binman 44,792 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 21 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said: Ummmmm. . . Imagine starting a thread on this. I suspect DeeBlood is actually dermie. Took umbrage at me calling him a clown and joking about his inability to string words together (a joke i rather embarrassingly mangled). 1 2 5 Quote
Webber 10,650 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 3 minutes ago, binman said: umbrage That’s our binman, the pearls you hardly notice. And he’s here all week! 4 Quote
daisycutter 30,004 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 (edited) binman, given your hippiness, try replacing the the 'um' with an 'ooommmm' would be much more smoothing and meditative to the listener Edited April 9, 2024 by daisycutter typo 3 Quote
La Dee-vina Comedia 17,136 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 40 minutes ago, TeamPlayedFine39 said: Really?! I didn’t r realise that. That is much more informative and interesting than the OP! It's arguable. See here: https://www.liminalpages.com/ellipsis-spaces-dots Quote
Fromgotowoewodin 1,606 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 I haven’t noticed the umms but I am glad that @binman has a new mic and doesn’t sound like he’s calling in from inside the stats file filing cabinet anymore 5 Quote
forever demons 2,368 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 Gramma who cares.Most of our nouns have been stolen by people who choose sexual alternative life styles.Cant go out for a GAY time anymore cant duck out for a quick [censored] anymore,pronouns them ,they were a group of people now its one person as a group .I am so confused. How are you mate,oh sorry how are you all.Good grief 1 1 1 Quote
Mel Bourne 4,541 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 7 hours ago, Skuit said: For starters, an ellipsis requires a space between each dot . . . Incorrect. While a space between each dot is acceptable, it is not required. 1 Quote
Demonland 74,364 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 25 minutes ago, Fromgotowoewodin said: I haven’t noticed the umms but I am glad that @binman has a new mic and doesn’t sound like he’s calling in from inside the stats file filing cabinet anymore He actually doesn't have a new mic. He is using his old mic which has a broken stand so he has to use it the old fashioned way by holding it up to his mouth like he's commentating the cricket. To anyone listening live whenever Binman's voice goes in and out that is him moving the mic away from his mouth. If you listen to the podcast on one of the apps after the fact you won't hear that as the levels are fixed in post. The mic he used for a couple of weeks which sounded like he was broadcasting from a filing cabinet was an even older mic but I have a sneaking suspicion that that mic wasn't being used to capture the audio and the audio was being captured by his computer's built in mic. Having said all that even the most expensive mic will not fix all those worrisome ums. 2 1 3 Quote
TeamPlayedFine39 8,525 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 Time to rename . . . the thread… Quote
Demonland 74,364 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 Just now, TeamPlayedFine39 said: Time to rename . . . the thread… um no 2 1 Quote
Fromgotowoewodin 1,606 Posted April 9, 2024 Posted April 9, 2024 9 minutes ago, Demonland said: He actually doesn't have a new mic. He is using his old mic which has a broken stand so he has to use it the old fashioned way by holding it up to his mouth like he's commentating the cricket. To anyone listening live whenever Binman's voice goes in and out that is him moving the mic away from his mouth. If you listen to the podcast on one of the apps after the fact you won't hear that as the levels are fixed in post. The mic he used for a couple of weeks which sounded like he was broadcasting from a filing cabinet was an even older mic but I have a sneaking suspicion that that mic wasn't being used to capture the audio and the audio was being captured by his computer's built in mic. Having said all that even the most expensive mic will not fix all those worrisome ums. Appreciate the clarification and insight into the glamorous world of footy podcasting Quote