Posted

This game was horrible to watch. We were completely out-classed, out-muscled, out-thought and OUT-RUN. And at this stage in this season from hell, for me, the loss wasn't that hard to accept, it was pretty much expected. However, there were 2 things that annoyed me no end:

1. The commentators - Grybarse, Jackovitch and Gerard Healy (don't care how their names are spelt). Just they were so one-sided and practically barracked for the eagles. I can understand Jackovitch obviously. But why does Gerard Healy hate us so much? Every single game I hear him commentate he almost openly barracks for the other team. He is a former Dees player FFS, but he hates us. They bagged us CONSTANTLY. Yes, we were bad, but even when we got to 25 points down in the 3rd quarter they still gave us nothing but criticism. What is the point of bagging a team like they did anyway. The majority of people watching the game would have been Melb and WCE supporters. The WCE supporters wouldn't care about Melbourne so all they are doing is alienating half their audience. And their calls about umpiring decisions were unbelievably biased. Bunch of [censored].

2. WHY DID WE WEAR THE RED JUMPER? There is NO clash whatsoever with WCE, and there was even less of a clash last week against the bulldogs. Is this a club decision? If it is, they need to be sent the message that it is NOT our 'away' jumper because WE DON'T HAVE ONE. Unless there is a clash, we should ALWAYS wear the traditional jumper. And if it is an AFL order, well, if I didn't think they were they stupidest, most incompetent bunch of people to be running a sporting organisation ever, I do now.

Posted

1. Slyvia had an ice-pack strapped to his hammy at the end of the game.. With the way we're going he'll have torn his hammy off the bone.

Posted
1. Slyvia had an ice-pack strapped to his hammy at the end of the game.. With the way we're going he'll have torn his hammy off the bone.

In the rooms after the game he looked ok.

He removed the ice pack and was stretching. He did however have an awkwardly placed ice-pack on his groin, but I'm sure that that's just a standard post-game recovery thing.

Posted

agree totaly on the jumper, serves us right for wearing that rubbish.

but yeah, the commentators could not have been worse. i was convinced when petterd kicked his goal they were just so confused they were about to start saying ....'umm..what...the west coast player in the red jumper kicked a goal... who's wce red 15? must be judd...oh judd..ooooh'

Posted

Can anyone answer the questions?

Why does Gerard Healy hate us? (I have some inkling that it might be something to do with his brother but???)

Why did we wear the red jumper?

Posted
Can anyone answer the questions?

Why does Gerard Healy hate us? (I have some inkling that it might be something to do with his brother but???)

Why did we wear the red jumper?

What happened to Gerard Healy? I wasn't old enough to know. He just left us yeah?

Posted

They are always biased over there, so are the umps. Look at the free kick counts in favour of West Coast. Still was a pathetic effort by Melbourne and they deserve whatever bagging they get.

Posted

I couldnt stand the biased commentating. At one stage Brown dived into a pack and wacked it about 20m BACKWARDS for us to the boundary. Dont know which commentator it was but they caled it as, "Brown dives in and whacks it FORWARDS to the boundary" He was clearly calling the game as a West Coast supporter. Only minor but still gave me the S@#$s

Posted
The commentators annoy the hell out of me as well arhh

they annoy me too, but they love the way the eagles play,until we win over there we dont command any respect. the radio station i listened too kept implying the eagles were on a training run.

Posted

Yes the commentary was biased, but I just ignored it. I was too busy being annoyed at the way the game was turning out to waste any emotion on that pack of clowns.

Posted

Should have listened to the SEN commentary (ppl above), they were even handed and as they broadcast into Melbourne only could actually have been accused of barracking for us.

Wish I had that luxury of listening to the radio when watching channel 7 but I don't think they have ever broadcast a game live?

Posted

I gave up on the Fox commentary and listened to the ABC radio one. Sure, Mitchell, Dorra and Judge are biased, but as West Aussies they are up front about it and you expect it. Not so Healy and Clunt. They are supposedly calling for all of us and we shouldn't have to cop their sly bias.

And Glen Jakovich isn't just biased, he's a wood-duck. Is the depth in our footy commentary really so low that we have to have the game presented by such a fathead. (Don't answer that.) He's barely adequate for the local Sunday league, let alone the AFL.

Posted

hated the comment most that 'most people said melbourne were the best 0-7 team ever, not so, they're just an 0-7 team.'

how's about dig a large hole and jump in. he was the one who brought that up in the first place! useless comment, like most of what he said. hack

Posted
hated the comment most that 'most people said melbourne were the best 0-7 team ever, not so, they're just an 0-7 team.'

how's about dig a large hole and jump in. he was the one who brought that up in the first place! useless comment, like most of what he said. hack

That comment was absolutely spot on!

The sooner the delusion stops and reality sets in, the better off we will all be!

The commentators were not biased at all........it just sounds a lot worse when your team is putting a an inspipid performance!

How would you like the commentators to put a positive spin on how we were playing today?

We were crap, and they called it how they saw it!

Posted

This thread is the biggest whinging pile of shite ive read all day.

Good luck with the all the insignificant nit picking.

How about more focus on the football club and its performance, and less on Gerard Healy and the colour of our goddamn jumper for fark sake.

Posted
This thread is the biggest whinging pile of shite ive read all day.

Good luck with the all the insignificant nit picking.

How about more focus on the football club and its performance, and less on Gerard Healy and the colour of our goddamn jumper for fark sake.

Ok, we'll focus on that. Because that will help us get better and all. This is a forum, we are not the football department. I'll talk about whatever I like. If you don't like it, don't read it. The football commentary was biased, and it made watching the game even sh@#er than what it already was. Got no idea where the harm is in saying that

Posted
What happened to Gerard Healy? I wasn't old enough to know. He just left us yeah?

Pretty much. I used to have a poster of him in my room. Guess what I started the fire with the day I found out he left us? If its any consolation, the MCC members gave him hell every time he touched the ball @ the G for years. Reckon thats why he hates us. But a mate of mine has met him B4, and reckons he is an arrogant [censored] anyway!

Posted
Pretty much. I used to have a poster of him in my room. Guess what I started the fire with the day I found out he left us? If its any consolation, the MCC members gave him hell every time he touched the ball @ the G for years. Reckon thats why he hates us. But a mate of mine has met him B4, and reckons he is an arrogant [censored] anyway!

He used to study at Rusden which later became deakin uni (since then it's closed down) and my dad used to work there as well. Had a reputation of being an arrogant [censored], during his time with us he picked up the nickname 'Urinator' (Wayne Johnston was called the dominator) for a rather sleazy off field incident.

In my opinion the man has no class, he really should have played for Collingwood with the other ferals.

Posted

Who bloody cares if we wear our red clash strip. I can't believe people are so sensitive on the matter. Jumpers don't kick you goals.

Infact I've advocated for the club to wear this jumper at every away game.

Posted

Gerard Healy was snapped up in the great Dr Edelston buyup of any name players to try and boost his struggling Swans side, he simply offered anyone of note enormous wads of cash to play up in Sin City. Who could blame any of them for refusing? Greg Williams, Bernard Toohey, Merv Neagle, Healy and a host of other players all headed up there in the one offseason, which of course simply can't happen nowadays. Oh for the times when your status was rated on how pink your helicopter and Lamborghini were, and how vacuous the bottle blonde on your arm was.

Posted
they annoy me too, but they love the way the eagles play,until we win over there we dont command any respect. the radio station i listened too kept implying the eagles were on a training run.

They were.